We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, great location, recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach to your Saves list
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Broadbeach
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, great location, recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed a few days and chose this hotel due to its location and facilities
The ability to use the downstairs supermarket, etc is fantastic very convenient and the walking around the coast areas and along the beaches was excellent; we walked in surfers it took half an hour

The car park under the hotel deserves a mention, clean, good lighting, spacious and the biggest car spots I have seen I think - $15.00 a night but that’s a good deal apparently

The rooms are modern, not luxurious or opulent like the Sofitel in Brisbane, they are well appointed with great balconies and lots of space and they have what you need big bathrooms etc – they are clean and fresh in a contemporary way

The staff at reception were excellent overall, there was a couple of people who might have found it hard to smile and be welcoming and flexibility at reception is always appreciated and hard to come by when you have a special request – just remember reception that it generally does not cost the hotel anymore than a negligible amount to make a guests stay exceptional just by showing a little heart and generousity

Housekeeping were ok they did replace towels but certainly did not clean the room daily

The restaurant staff were terrific, a great bunch of people busy but still observant and professional and friendly we enjoyed breakfast lunch and dinner in the restaurant and the quality of food and choices was excellent – at dinner some of the portions were very very small and did not reflect any value
This might be why the restaurant was very quiet – something to think about
the pancake machine at breakfast is unreal i want one at home

There is no turn down offered at this hotel- not 5 star then- we asked for it one night and it was performed

The pool area with the 2 pools is in view of the restaurant so this might make some people uncomfortable

Overall a great stay we would return on a future visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Bonjour boski,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us.
I am glad you enjoyed the buffet breakfast and found the pancake machine a delight, I agree it is a delicious treat for breakfast!
All of our rooms get serviced daily so I am sorry to hear that you felt yours was missed. Our 'do not disturb' signs look similar to our 'please service my room' signs so I hope that if you used either of these during your stay that they were not what may have caused some confusion.
Overall it sounds like you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are on the Gold Coast.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    618
    177
    57
    36
See reviews for
335
910
99
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The only thing five star about this hotel is the price. No, maybe that is not entirely fair as the Reception staff were efficient and friendly. The rooms are in serious need of an upgrade and the cleaning staff cannot be blamed as they clearly were trying their best. A far better bet is one of the excellent apartment blocks close by which are spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Bonjour BrucePN,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us from your recent stay.
I am happy to see you found our staff friendly and efficient during your stay though I am sorry to hear that the rest of the hotel did not meet your expectations.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here on a quick one night getaway with my husband. We had our wedding at this hotel 16 years ago so there was a notable difference. The room was fashionably furnished and quite roomy and the bed was really comfortable. There was a pillow menu, with different pillows to choose, if you could at all be bothered calling housekeeping. Mini bar was a little lacking, would have liked to see more choices. Breakfast was good and the automatic pancake machine a hit, although a lengthy wait. If you didn't wait, you run the risk of other people pinching yours. Great to be able to order coffee like latte and flat white, instead of the usual luke warm percolated coffee. Be early to avoid the rush and pancake queues. Great location and easy check in/check out. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Bonjour Debbie S,

Thank you for this feedback from your recent stay at the hotel.
I think it is great that you took the opportunity to come back to stay with us for a quick getaway after getting married in the hotel 16 years prior. It must have been interesting for you to see the changes that have occurred throughout the hotel since then. I am glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that the pancake machine was a hit.

It sounds like you had a great night overall and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

In an ideal location situated on the main shopping centres in Broadbeach, you have to pay a premium for the Sofitel (plus $15AUD extra for parking), but considering I really enjoyed my stay, I suppose it is well worth it.

The rooms are large, with all the standard 5 star perks (robes, slippers, toiletries etc), we stayed on the 15th floor in a King Ocean View room, which has a pretty decent view of the ocean, but a great view of the main drag of Broadbeach and the resort pool. The highlight was the bedding, which was fantastic and was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on, my fiance actually said "we should ask the Sofitel if we can buy their bedding configuration" such was the comfort.

Sadly (not the hotels fault) I have to point out that on a Saturday night the Broadbeach clubbing scene kind of kicks off and people can be quite loud from 11pm - 4am, the room keeps most of the noise out but not all (maybe the other side of the building is quieter).

Well that aside the overnight stay was nearly perfect (probably more like 4.5 out of 5), the pool deck/pool is also really nice.

Thanks Sofitel for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms may be quieter on the southside (away from the mall) - night club (platinum) is right opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Bonjour Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us from your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased you loved the feather and down bedding on our signature MyBed and that you enjoyed the lovely Ocean views from your room.
I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by some noise in the Broadbeach mall area. We do have Ocean view rooms on the south side of the building also which is further away from the mall, these rooms can be requested when making your booking.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in the Gold Coast

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went to Sofitel to celebrate my girlfriend's 21st birthday at the Gold Coast and it was simply amazing! Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. We stayed on the 21st floor of the ocean view room and the view from the balcony was a sight to behold.

We didn't use many of the facilities of the hotel which is a shame because the pool looked pristine with it's sparkling waters in the morning, but the buffet breakfast was definitely amazing.

The staff were very helpful with their service when requested and the hotel is beautifully maintained. It even smelled nice! The cleaning staff were very thoughtful and placed our toiletries on a flannel for us when we left adventuring during the day.

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, I can imagine myself floating when I close my eyes on the bed. The location is definitely one of the major selling points, within walking distance to many attractions like Pacific Fair, Draculas and the beach, as well as direct left access to the Oasis Shopping Centre, not to mention only a few minutes away from a major road for ample bus/taxi opportunities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Bonjour Hao-wei T,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us from your recent stay at Sofitel Gold Coast.
What a fun way to celebrate your girlfriend's 21st birthday! I am pleased you had a great experience and that you enjoyed the lovely Ocean views from your room as well as our delicious buffet breakfast. I agree with you regarding our location, we are right in the heart of Broadbeach enabling easy close access to all of the surrounding attractions in the area.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Gold Coast

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of days at the Sofitel for our honeymoon. From the moment we walked in to when we checked out, we were treated with first class service. We were given a room on the 22nd floor, with a magnificent view to the ocean. The room was spacious, the king size bed was perfect. We mamanged to forget our keys were left behind in the safe when we checked out, so Alex was fantastic in making arrangments to get the keys back to us. No complaints from us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Bonjour Geebs54,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us.
Congratulations on your wedding and I am happy to hear you chose our hotel to celebrate your honeymoon, what a special time. It sounds like everything was perfect and I am glad you enjoyed the wonderful Ocean views from the 22nd floor.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Morgan, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved it! We had an ocean view room and views were great just wish we had longer to enjoy them. As always Sofitel doesn't disappoint. Restaurant was booked for a function so we ate out in the mall as it is located on top of the shopping centre. Another big plus, just duck downstairs to grab those forgotten items and a quick shop. Spoilt for choice in the mall with restaurants. Would definitely go back. Loved the hairdryers! great quality top of range salon dryers! not those buzzy little ones!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Bonjour Kerrilyn P,

Thank you for your lovely feedback from your recent stay at Sofitel Gold Coast.
I am glad you had a wonderful time during your stay and found our location amongst the bustle of Broadbeach convenient to all of the surrounding attractions and shops.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Gold Coast

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Address: 81 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Broadbeach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Gold Coast Hotel is in Broadbeach, the most cosmopolitan location on the Gold Coast. Only fifty meters away from the beach, the hotel is no more than a short stroll to the Gold Coast Convention Centre. As an added attraction, Sofitel is linked to Jupiter's Casino by monorail and has a light rail station located adjacent to the hotel. There are 296 spacious guest rooms, each with its own balcony and a panoramic view, two pools, tennis courts and a spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Accor Gold Coast Broadbeach
Sofitel Broadbeach
Broadbeach Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.