We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sofitel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Broadbeach
melbourne australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sofitel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

had a wonderful stay in this beautiful hotel..
each member of the hotel staff was there to give advise and they could not be more helpful.
the staff were freindly and showed everyone kindness in all the requests that were made from them.
there were many functions and meetings in the hotel over our stay, but there was not a time that we were not treated as the most important guest in the hotel....
the food is exceptional and i advise the morning buffet .it was delicious.
we will celebrate many milestones in this hotel in the future..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Bonjour cherylr r,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay and we are thrilled to hear you will celebrate many more milestones in the future with us here at Sofitel Gold Coast!

I will share your comments with the team as I know how much they appreciate the time people take to recognize their hard work and dedication to guest service.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    830
    568
    163
    48
    32
See reviews for
321
835
92
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel this weekend and for the price it was disappointing.

The room was dated/small and after complaining to the staff i got no positive response - i was only offerred a lesser room on the 5th floor which was near/next to a night club.

Also a hidden extra is that parking is an additional cost.

I felt that we paid too much for what was a mediocre 4 star hotel and so i wrote a letter to complain, i got a call back but my complaint was a waste of time. The manager kept saying my problem was "in your opinion the rooms were out of date' or 'it was not to my taste' i also got some smart answers like "we can hardly refurbish the room in an hour"

Positives: breakfast was nice but the wait was too long - obviously understaffed/ location is pretty good.
Negatives: Rooms are barely 4 star/dated decor in general/Tv's are small/service is anything but 5 star/toilet had flushing problems/Gym is tiny/asked the room service for extra towels - ignored/complaints fell on deaf ears to both reception and the hotel manager.

I would be slow to book a Sofitel Hotel again in case i have the same experience.

Room Tip: Ocean views are better than the garden view, but shop around for a better Hotel with better reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Bonjour mickjcreedon,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have received your letter and understand that you and your partner are looking for a newly refurbished hotel. May I suggest our sister property, Sofitel Brisbane, who have just completed a full refurbishment of their rooms and public areas. I am certain you will enjoy the luxury feel they have created.

Please let me know if I may help with a booking as I would love to restore your faith in the Sofitel brand.

Warm regards,
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and myself booked two nights last weekend for our joint birthdays. We decided to splash out and go all the way with 5 star as it was my 30th the week before! When we arrived we were instantly informed that parking was on top of the large amount we were paying for the pleasure of being there. This is very unusual when it comes to 5 star accommodation but that wasnt a major issue so lets go to the room. When we got there we found the room (ocean facing) was quite small! The bathroom was very old fashioned with a dark green tile circa 1980's and to top it off the toilet didnt flush properly either...very 5 star! :(


We rang reception to say we were unhappy and that a nicer room should surely be available as this was a 5 star hotel, we were initally transferred and got hung up on. Then we rang again and were told they would ring us back. 15mins later no call, so we rang again and it was then that we were offered the alternative room. We were shown a room on the 5th floor. I have read in other reviews here that any room beneath the 13th is subjected to the sounds of the nightclubs outside which as another reviewer stated went on until 5am. So that definitely was not an option.

The breakfast buffet was lovely however we were waiting to be seated for 20 mins! The staff there are so lovely but its clear that they are under staffed and under pressure.

If you like going to the gym forget it. This one has 5 machines and could fit in our guest room its so small. I was so disappointed! With the amount of people that can stay in the hotel to have a gym that size was clearly just an after thought in order to get the 5 Star rating.

All in all, its a nice 4 star, and if we had paid 4 star prices then i would be happy.
We contacted the manager to give the hotel the opportunity to explain or come back to us and were bascially told that there was nothing to be done and that we could go ahead and write this review as long as its truthful. Not exactly the attitude you would expect from a "5" star hotel!

I know we will never go back, next time we are going to the Mirage Sheridan and I suggest you do the same!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise, all in all very small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Bonjour ker_schnum,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations and I apologize that a special occasion was distracted by the design and cost of the hotel.

My manager tells me that you were here just after the mini cyclone that hit the Gold Coast and we did lose a large section of our restaurant roof, so seating has been a little limited and thus the wait. My apologies as this unusual.

There are many different styles of hotels on the Gold Coast and we hope you find one that meets your expectations.

Warm regards,
Amery Burleighh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first stay at this particular Sofitel Hotel and we were not disappointed. We had a light, bright room on the 22nd floor with panoramic views towards the mountains. The bed was big and comfortable, the room spotlessly clean and the towels big and fluffy. Toileteries were of very good quality.
If you want to go to the Casino or convention centre it would be hard to beat this hotel for location and it is only a short stroll to the beach, but why would you when you have a lovely pool on site?
Would I stay there again? Like a shot.

Room Tip: I don't know what the view is like on the eastern side, but certainly the view to the west is sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Bonjour Schlepper 1939,

Thank you for your lovely review of your first stay with us at Sofitel Gold Coast. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and it's convenient location to the convention center and Casino. You had a room with a hinterland view and that view can be just as spectacular as the ocean view rooms as you get the beautiful sunsets in the evening. I am glad you enjoyed it!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stay at the Sofitel Broadbeach every year for a 7 nights. We love this hotel, we always request high floor with ocean view with northerly aspect, and we always get it, looking towards surfers paradise and over the central esplanade where you can see all the shops and cafes along the strip is just great, you can sit on your balcony and watch all the activity below for quite some time as well as having that ocean view which is always beautiful and relaxing. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable bed. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool area is great located on the third floor roof area, good size. The buffet breakfast is good where you can request omelets to order and coffee to order, also a good variety of food. We had one buffet dinner in the Bistro on 3 well this was very ordinary for the price and probably will give it a miss in the future. The hotel should look at improving this as there are so many restaurants to choose from in the surrounding area at very good prices. I recommend the italian restaurant called marios on the main strip, very good indeed. We also found the German restaurant below peppers to be good too if you like german food and beer. The hotel is above the Oasis Shopping centre which is accessible from the hotel, also accessible from the hotel is the monorail which you can catch to go over to Jupiters Casino. We have been coming to Broadbeach for many years now and always preferred it over surfers paradise but must say that slowly it is becoming more and more busy and noisy on friday and sat nights with a couple of niteclubs located on the strip next the hotel. This is the only negative to staying in this central location, but in saying that we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: ocean view room with northerly aspect is excellent, could be a little noisy though on fri and sat ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Bonjour Janz099,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your annual 7 day visit to Sofitel Gold Coast and Broadbeach.

It is nice to read a review from a valued guest that understands how to get the most from their stay. Thank you for helping others to see how a little request here or there can usually be met and can personalize the experience to make it quite enjoyable. Everyone has different reasons for a little get away, and the more we know about your preferences, the better able we are to cater to your every whim.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Warm regards,
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Sofitel every January for two nights for the past three years. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bed like sleeping on a cloud but we found the shower had plumbing problems with the water not dispursing quick enough down the drain so you were showering in three inches of water. The Sofitel is in a great location, near the beach and variety of shops. We are Accor members and always dine in the Bistro on3 for the Seafood Buffet. I must say it was absolutely terrible. The selection of food very very poor. We thought it may have been a vegetarian night as all the hot meals were made with rice, lentils and chickpeas. There was no meat dishes - I mean - not one! There was one chicken dish that looked like a dry mess. The seafood was not stocked, the salads or should I say the only two on offer were not fresh. Bread rolls had run out, no cheese on the platter and dried up pizza. The desserts were ok. I could go on and on. Each time we went back to see what we could eat people were complaining. One family turned around and walked out. Wish we did the same because the next morning we walked across the road to have breakfast (we were not going to dine in Bistro on3 for breakfast) to the new Peppers Complex. Wow - fantastic restaurants, real buzz, modern and variety of cuisines. So wish we ventured across the night before where we could have had fresh, filling meal at half the price. We dont usually complain but we completed two satisfaction surveys - one on checking out and one in the actual restaurant. We suggested that they look into the matter as there were obviously many unsatisfied customers - especially for a five star hotel. We have not heard a word. Oh well, we probably will choose to stay at Peppers next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Bonjour fee068,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dismal dining experience in Bistro On3. I apologize that no one has responded to you yet as we are certainly aware there was an issue. Unfortunately, I have to say that we did have a particularly bad night in the restaurant, and you are right, the replenishing and variety was limited. Consistency is key to any great restaurant, and we did fail on this occasion. We have met as a group of food and beverage professionals to discuss how to rectify the issues of the evening and we are dedicated to improving the consistency. We have a great team in the kitchen of passionate and talented chefs, and they all feel bad about that evening.

I am sorry you chose not to have breakfast with us this occasion as we have a very well presented buffet with consistently fresh and abundant choices on offer. With your Advantage Plus card there is added value with the discount and we hope you give us the opportunity to show you that we really do care about our food and beverage offering.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Amery Burleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Address: 81 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Broadbeach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Gold Coast Hotel is in Broadbeach, the most cosmopolitan location on the entire Gold Coast. Only fifty meters away from the beach, the hotel is no more than a short stroll to the Gold Coast Convention Centre. As an added attraction, this Sofitel is linked to Jupiter's Casino by monorail. There are 295 spacious guest rooms, each with its own balcony and a panoramic view, two pools, tennis courts and a spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Accor Gold Coast Broadbeach
Sofitel Broadbeach
Broadbeach Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.