We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar

Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar
3/1 Sunshine Blvd cnr T E Peters Drive, Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 5526 7364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 201 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Verve Restaurant Cafe & Bar is an Award Winning Restaurant at Broadbeach Waters on the Gold Coast serving Modern Australian cuisine. It is an intimate restaurant seating approximately 40 pax and is where the locals go - a hidden treasure! Verve has an exciting wine list and has received a glass rating from Gourmet Traveller the past two years and has also been awarded a Chefs Hat three years in a row. Bookings are recommended particularly on the weekends as it is a popular destination.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Cracker little restaurant hidden away- super fresh flavours (Love the scallops and my 12 year old daughter still pines for the beef cheek!) Great wines and coffee to die for. Friendly, unpretentious and sharp - well worth the visit. I have recomended it for our 30 year school reunion dinner!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    26
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marcus Beach
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took my daughter, mother and two grandchildren to Verve for lunch. Our waitress was very pleasant. While we were studying the menu we had chips and aoli. The chips were very nice but the aoli not so great. Verve is not a cheap restaurant, and the children's steak was $17 each. For that, at my local restaurant Pitchfork at Peregian Beach, we get a top quality very tender fillet steak with fabulous jus and the same truffle flavoured mash as the adults. They eat every mouthful. At Verve the children were given thinly cut rather dry steak which had been pounded with a mallet, no jus, and cold unappetising plain mashed potato. My mother had the scallops with a chicken sausage which she enjoyed, but the lunchtime noodle scallop salad my daughter and I had was small, expensive and tasteless. The waitress was happy to change my ordered glass of wine to one I liked better, which was appreciated. But we walked out feeling overall disappointed. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Owner at Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Aussietravellar47

Thank you for your feedback and am disappointed that you were not happy with your experience.

The children’s steak is listed as a Minute Steak which is a thin steak - it is actually the eye fillet used from our main dinner menu but cut thin and tenderized - the feedback from parents has been that they would prefer a thin cut and it also allows us to cook quicker and children seem to like to be fed promptly. It is offered with an option of chips, salad, mash and or vegetables. I believe the order for the children was steak with chips and steak with mash the waitress offered the option of vegetables or salad with the childrens meals and your table said you would like the vegetables which the adults ate. The mash is what is served at dinner less the truffle oil as we have found that children find the taste of the truffle oil too intense, it was served hot, we also do not offer the jus as it is a red wine jus and has alcohol in it. We serve the children’s meals with tomato sauce, which is what most children ask for.

As part of internal review process we discuss each review on Tripadvisor and other social media sites with the staff - the waitstaff who looked after you was very surprised by your comments because she said how lovely you all were and that you seemed happy with everything. She said she spent quite a bit of time with you and had asked how your meals were and she received a positive response and when she cleared the table the plates were empty. It is very hard for us to know if you are not happy with something or want more of something if when asked there are no requests. In relation to the Wok Scallop Noodles the dish comprises of 5 to 6 scallops, vermicelli rice noodles and Asian greens for $22 it is a very popular dish and the resounding comment is how tasty it is, so sorry if it was not your liking. Wish you had said something at the time so that we could have had the opportunity to rectify any of your concerns. The bill for the table of 5 including bottled water, wines, mains and sides was $150 - $30 a head.

We try very hard to provide good food and service, our heart and soul is in the business and take it very seriously if someone is not happy. We aren’t a ‘family restaurant’ as such but some of our customers bring their children so we like to try and provide a small menu that children might like. We have a couple of delightful young girls who have chosen to celebrate their 6, 7 and 8th birthdays at Verve as it is their favourite restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Viva Verve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I love this restraunt have been there dozens of times and never been disappointed it sets the bench mark for all other restraunts .Ambiance, food,hospitality,wine selection all top notch.I have even requested things not on menu or changes to existing meal - no problems.Yesterday it was lunch- modern special luch menu also full menu avaliable .We all choose the excellent blue eye trevalla beautifully cooked accompanied by perfect twice cooked fries and a superb rocket, fresh pea ,pimmento and herb salad-home made aoli.Innovative modern menu makes it hard to choose.Banana tartatin is to die for delicious crisp and tasty honeyconb icecream rasins in a rum caramel drizzle with edible flowers and herbs-My friend choose the passionfruit marshmallows coconut cream and mango yummmm.Indulge and treat yourself -try this restraunt now offering lunchtime Sunday live music-great background jazz vocalist who takes requests and if you are lucky Shelly the owner might even impress you with her dulcet tones.Ive already booked for next Sunday

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were recoomended to visit Verve and it was a great night had by all apart from one of our party who had an overcooked steak. My fish was perfectly cooked and Biancas chicken was delish so she says. Drinks were excellent and plentiful and the conversation was drop dead interesting. Our waiter was above average and the background music was very agreeable. I am not sure about the view out onto a suburban street but at least it was quiet. Our coffees were delectable and we strolled off to the casino which was close by. lost more money and i am off for a little lotto therapy.Verve- Its worth a go!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“LAST VISIT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Although this restaurant is rated highly, unfortunately I am unable to. As a local, I have visited this restaurant many times over the years, especially in the early days when Verve offered a more relaxed lunch time menu. We choose this restaurant for an a 50th Birthday Lunch, having previously dined here and on those times it was BYO/Licensed. To celebrated we wanted to share a bottle of French Champagne. BUT with a $20 corkage charge champagne was unfortunately unconsumed. The food had lovely flavours and presentation was excellent, but there were a few issues. Didn't comment on this at time, as after commenting on the excessive corkage charge, felt that the service was not to the level of previous visits. So overall experience was very disappointing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Owner at Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear BrownynAUS

Thank you for your feedback.

We are a fully licensed restaurant and have been for approximately 3 years. Most fully licensed restaurant do not allow byo at all but we recognise that some of our patrons have wonderful cellars and would like the opportunity to consume their wines with a good meal or have been saving a wine for a special occasion therefore we do allow them to bring their wine but there is a $20 corkage. It is set at this price because we are fully licensed and we are not a ‘byo restaurant’ - alot work and study goes into compiling a wine list as well as a considerable financial investment, establishing the liquor license and the on going fees. Since becoming fully licensed we have received a Chef’s Hat three years in a row and been recognised by Gourmet Traveller with a “Glass Rating” two years in a row.

There were three of you at the table so it would have been $7 each.

At lunch there is a reasonably priced casual menu starting from $18 and there is the full dinner menu to choose from so you can decide the level of dining you wish to participate in at lunch time - this also has been in place for around three years.

It was a busy Friday lunch service we were doing the dishes and working the floor, I am sorry and disappointed if you felt you didn’t receive enough attention. Your table seemed happy and at the end of the meal when presented with the total bill of $117 including food and wine for the table of three your table very generously tipped $18 which was gratefully appreciated.

We are a restaurant that has always catered to the locals – hey I’m one too born and bred - and have established some wonderful relationships with our patrons over the years. We work very hard to offer good food and friendly service. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 
Currumbin, Gold Coast
 

Been to Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Restaurant Cafe and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.