We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and faultless service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RockSalt Modern Dining

RockSalt Modern Dining
Shop 12 Aria Building | 20 Albert Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
0755706076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 198 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food and faultless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our dinner at Rock Salt was the highlight of our recent stay at the Gold Coast. Following an ordinary dining experience at Main Beach I was a little nervous choosing a restaurant for our Anniversary Dinner. I needn't have worried. From the moment I made the phone booking to the last spoonful of our delicious desserts, Rock Salt was first class. I never eat dessert but I just had to have the panacotta with fresh berries as the entree and main courses had been sublime. Thanks to our waiter, Maxim, and the whole team.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    50
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Simply.....A GEM !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wanted a fine dining experience whilst at Broadbeach and, like another reviewer previously, perused the on-line menus of Broadbeach fine diners and chose Rocksalt.

On finding the place, a shop among a lot of other shop-style restaurants, and seeing the decor and quality of the furniture, our hearts SLUMPED.

A very non busy Wednesday evening and only 4 other people dining, well we really thought we'd chosen poorly.............. How wrong were we !

Staff were nice and friendly, chef went through the menu and specials with us, and then the food arrived and ........................ such bliss !!

flavours, cooking and presentation were absolutely top notch, rivaling any of the fine diners in Brisbane , where we live.

we would not hesitate to return or HIGHLY RECOMMEND Rocksalt.

If I had 1 criticism, ........... It's a little pricey, given the location and quality of decor/furnishings.
Great ingredients cost money, I appreciate, however slightly overpriced given the above.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have eaten here numerous times now on visits to the Gold Coast. Food has always been excellent but the maître d' we have had several times has been unbelievable. A table of 10 people - took all of our food and drink orders without writing anything down and everything arrived perfectly! Now that's talented.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Same price as top restaurants in Sydney with full harbour views cooked by a known chef.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sitting outdoors on a chair that was probably purchAsed from Fantastic Furniture. I say that because I could feel the wooden frame through the faux leather upholstery.No atmosphere but staff were trying although they were not consistent. Throughout our devastation they sometimes forgot to tell us what dish we had been served and to ask if we would like pepper. $10 for a mineral water is voodoo much for this restaurant also.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Having had some less than favourable dining experiences in Broadbeach I was concerned. Trip Advisor reviews for RockSalt all said how good it was. They are not wrong. Their tapas entree for 2 people is really good. Thanks for a nice afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockSalt Modern Dining also viewed

 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Been to RockSalt Modern Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RockSalt Modern Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.