We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aruba Sands Resort to your Saves list
Aruba Sands Resort
11 - 17 Philip Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Broadbeach
bangkok
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Aruba sands resort for 7 nights, the location of the units were perfect, close to the beach( 500mts), super market, shopping center, clubs and pubs and restaurants.
We did not have a car but there were bus stops near by so we had no trouble in getting around, the rooms were very large( 1 bedroom was about 60 sq mts), and were FULLY self contained, every thing you would need to make your stay a pleasant one, flat screen tv, cable tv,( FOXTEL) microwave, electric stove and oven, washing machine, clothes dryer, cooking utensils, iron and ironing board.
The swimming pool and spa and bbq area were very clean and convenient to the units. there was a fitness room, but we did not use it.But the best thing about our stay were the managers Barbara and Bruce, they treated us like a member of their family, so kind and friendly and helpful, they gave us free drink vouchers for drinks and discount food at the near by surf club, also told us where the bus stops were and a timetable for them, it was very hard to leave when the time came to check out, they even allowed us a 4hour late check out which was very much appreciated. one small downfall( and not the fault of Barbara and Bruce) was the internet connection, it was quite expensive at $40 per week for a limited 2 gb download, it also was sometimes hard to connect, and you could only use one device at a time, but apart from that i would highly recommend to anyone looking for an affordable and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: There is no lift so ask for a first floor room if you have a health problem. There are three storie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, Owner at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you both. We pride ourselves on trying to make everyone feel at home and are only too pleased to assist where necessary. The location is just wonderful and we must say that we used to holiday here at Aruba Sands Resort before we purchased the Management Rights and picked it purely for that reason, together with as you say the apartments are all fully self contained and have everything you need. We do hope to see you again some time in the future.
Barbara & Bruce Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Great size rooms and very clean. Superb location within seconds of all the nightlife, restaurants and gelato shops. Lovely management- thank you!
Highly recommend this for all ages as we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Aruba Sands and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We agree the location is just excellent everything right at your door step - sometimes to handy to the wonderful restaurants, bars and coffee shops. We find that a lot of our guests comment on how spacious the apartments are and are pleased that you found this as well. We hope to see you sometime in the future if you are back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from 5 'wonderful' nights at the Arubra. We both live in Brisbane but try and get away from the rat race every chance we get and this has involved many trips to the Gold Coast.

I will start by saying that ANY business from the largest to the smallest is only as good as the management.

Having said that, Bruce and Barbara we couldn't fault. The criticism aimed at them by a 'miniscule' minority in our view, is not warranted... end of story. Great people... only too happy to try and make our stay as comfortable as possible. We had a bit of a hiccup with a problem with my partner whereby she had to cut her stay short but the management did what they could to help.

The rooms are spotless, the grounds are well-maintained and for us the location is ideal.

We will definitely be returning and would not hesitate to recommend this resort. Great value and what more can we say. I am a little taken aback at what I see as totally a reversal of what we felt but I guess it takes all kinds, but thankfully in the long run the majority do tend to rule on Tripadvisor .

Thanks again Barbara and Bruce.

Vic and Dianne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are very grateful for your comments on our Management and the Aruba Sands Resort. We are very fortunate to have such good repeat guests who like yourselves enjoy the location and facilities. We hope to see you some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Kauwhata, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here to go to the rugby sevens. There were 3 couples and 2 singles. It was a great experience all round. All of our rooms were off the same top landing which made us feel like we had an area all to ourselves which was great. Great helpful service, even giving us beach towels and a chilli bag and chilli packs for the day. Lovely clean spacious rooms, great pool and spa, and in a very handy location. Everyone loved it, Thanks heaps - we will see you again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review are are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay here with us at Aruba Sands. It is such a great location everything at your doorstep and we do try to make everyone feel at home. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Barbara & Bruce Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Strictly speaking these apts are not in Surfers but in the much more up-market Broadbeach. Location is great - they are in a quiet street but within a few minutes of two big malls with food shops etc., five minutes from the beach and a host of restaurants. Bad news is that the restaurants are VERY pricey - even with a 40 percent off voucher the restaurants were out of our price range.
The apartments are individually owned and only managed by Bruce and Barbie. This couple are very friendly and welcoming but cannot do a lot about any deficiencies in the apartment equipment. We had a non-functioning oven and the washing machine was on its last legs.
Having said all this the place was roomy, comfortable and clean - and the parking was undercover and secure.
No real complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are interested in hearing from you further regarding an oven not working as we have received no notification regarding this and also about the washing machine. Yes all the apartments are individually owned however we own the Management Rights and it is in our best interests to make sure that they are kept up to date and everything in good working order. Would it be possible for you to please email us direct so that we can look into this matter further.

We agreed totally Broadbeach is much better and quieter than Surfers and if you know where to eat around here there are some excellent deals. We normally direct all our guests to these places when they check in.
We await your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just a block away from where I was working I had to check out other places as the MERITON decided to jack up their prices for some unknon reason. I rang Barbara at ARUB Sands and they were able to squeze me in. The price was very good and the room very comfortable. Bruce and Barbara made the experiance easy and enjoyable. The room was clean with more AUSTAR channels than I have seen in any hotel! The kitchen was clean and had a full oven and fridge. Will stay here again due to its locality, comfort and friendlyness.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one so far, on the third floor. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, Manager at Aruba Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you Jakar74 so much for leaving a review it is always great to get feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had one weeks stay at this perfect spot. Ideally priced for the rooms. We were 5 minutes walk from the beach and Oasis shopping mall. The outdoor pool was heated with a spa which the kids loved. The management team couldn't be more accommodating. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aruba Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Sands Resort

Address: 11 - 17 Philip Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Broadbeach
#13 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aruba Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Sands Resort Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.