We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Markham Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Markham Court to your Saves list
Markham Court
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   36 Australia Ave, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average but could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and it was lovely and quiet, the pool and spa area were excellent. But we were disappointed that it wasn't very clean and a bit tired. Little things that could have made it a 4-5 star stay such as the utensils in the kitchen were mostly old dirty and broken, the toilet door wouldn't shut, the lino floors in kitchen/bathroom/toilet hadn't been cleaned (when we moved the mat there was grunge under it), a couple of the outside plastic chairs were broken etc etc. Very spacious for the 5 of us - upstairs room had it's own balcony and bathroom. Great that it is located within walking distance to the beach, shopping areas, restaurants, Pacific Fair and bus stops. We found our own way around as the receptionist wasn't very knowledgeable about the bus routines or local info. Taking all this into account, it was good value for money and we will know, if we stay here again, what to expect.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs with all your gear then ask for a ground floor room, also a refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. Unsure why it took four months to post this. We have gone through all our records and have been unable to find anything about a complaint made by anyone during that period. If a room is not cleaned properly we are happy to send the cleaners back in but this needs to be reported to us during your stay.
We are pleased that you mentioned that we offer good value for money. We are sure that the items you mentioned, which you say could have turned our resort from a 3.5 star to a 5 star could have easily been resolved if it was brought to the attention of Management.
We are pleased to hear that you are planning to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
107
5
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at Markham Court. We absolutely loved it and hope to come back again soon! The resort was beautifully maintained. It was very close to everything shops, restaurants and beaches. Fantastic value would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are already planning to come back. We will always try to offer good value for money. We thank you for complimenting our staff on keeping the grounds immaculate.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

our first holiday at markham crt and we are already planning to coe back for longer nice clean aparments with friendly and helpful staff.beautifull pool and spa very quite .I stayed for 10 days and enjoyed the location and the fact that it was a self contained .

Room Tip: we had in front of the pool amazing views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at Markham Court. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are already contemplating a return visit.
Our Units aree very spacious. we offer good value for money and we are in the perfect location.
Looking forward seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Third year in a row we have stayed here and can honestly say the service and rooms are second to none...the recommendations for places to see and things to do are extremely fantastic as even after three years we saw and did things we hadn't done before..we stayed in a three bedroom apartment and it was brilliant having everything we need to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing..the groundskeeper needs to be commended because the bbqs and gardens are immaculate at any time of the day or night...will be recommending these apartments to anyone wanting to visit the Gold Coast..thank you again markham court. We will definitely be back

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Many thanks for this great review on your recent stay at Markham Court. We like to receive feedback from our guests. As this is your 3rd stay it is extremely pleasing for us to get such a good review. We will always offer good value for money, the three bedroom Units are very spacious and most suitable for large families. We are also in the perfect location close to the beach, shops, restaurants, Casino and Convention centre all in walking distance from us.
Many thanks for recommending us to other people. We look forward seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful family holiday in your 3BDRM apartment. My parents had a wonderful week of relaxing and swimming. The place was clean and we enjoyed the separate bedroom and bathroom on the top floor. In total six adults, all had a great time. Five stars.

Room Tip: Top floor and shared balcony overlooking the gold coast hinterland - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you and your parents enjoyed your recent stay in our Resort. We always offer good value for money. The three Bedroom Units are very spacious and perfect for a family Holiday. we are also very fortunate to be in a perfect location.
Hope too see again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deception Bay, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay for a family. Great price, close to everything and very homely. Such a nice place to come back to after a long day of activities. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed for a great stay. We have given service an average rating only because we didn't have to interact with staff besides check in and check out. The place is so well setup the work is done before you arrive. We will recommend and visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The office is open from 8.00am till 5.00pm weekdays and till lunchtime on the weekends. We also have an after hour service so we are available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. Because we are only a 3.4 star Resort and because we want to offer good value for money it is impossible for us to have someone at Reception after 5.00pm.
We thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a week on the Gold Coast staying at Markham Court. It was the second time we have stayed and have found it to be a fantastic place to stay. It is centrally located, close to the Casino, many great Restaurants and the local shops. The rooms are clean and spacious with a fabulous pool and BBQ area. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Many thanks for the great review on your recent stay in our Resort. We are in the perfect location, offer good value for money and we try to keep the grounds, pool, Spa and all BBQ's in immaculate condition. Hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham Court

Address: 36 Australia Ave, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Markham Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Markham Court offers fully self contained 2 Bedroom apartments and 3 Bedroom split level Penthouses with spa and wrap around balconies. Most apartments have air conditioning. The modern kitchens are equipped with microwave, dish washer, stove top, oven, fridge/freezer, crockery, cutlery and all cooking equipment. Beautiful outdoor pool and spa area with large barbeque and dining area. All apartments are equipped with washing machine and dryer. Linen, bath towels, soap, tea, coffee and milk starter kits are provided to the apartments. Markham Court apartments offer private balconies with outdoor furniture and views of the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Markham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markham Court Hotel Broadbeach
Markham Court Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markham Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.