We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific position and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach to your Saves list
South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   157 Old Burleigh Road | Corner Victoria Ave & Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific position and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Been staying here for years - great position near surfing beach and also shops and generally good facilities. Staff are helpful - feel like family and if there are any problems with the apartment ( which isn't often) these are fixed as soon as possible. Great place for a holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear AsiaPacificgal
Thankyou for your positive comments and we look forward to your return visits.
Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
36
59
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gnnedah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We were wonderfully surprised at the amazing location and quality of the accommodation as we got such a great deal on our room. Could not fault the South Pacific Plaza, beautiful room, excellent location, very reasonably priced, lovely staff and the room is stocked with any amenities you could possibly need. Wonderful experience! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, General Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear T_Newton21
We at South Pacific Plaza would like to thankyou for taking the time to write your 'review', appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Absolutely fabulous. Best customer service I have had at a hotel. Always friendly and helpful.
Location is superb. On the mall, across the road from the beach and surf life saving club. You can't get better. We have rebooked again for New Years.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, General Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Misch2015
Thankyou for using Trip Advisor to review us at South Pacific Plaza.
Yes we are situated an ideal position/location close to Oasis Shopping Centre and Restaurants. We appreciate your kind words re customer service in which we try to pride ourselves in this area.
We look forward to seeing you 2014/2015 New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stay here whenever I go to Broadbeach - many times now and have not been disappointed. The corner 2 bedroom apartments are lovely with views from every room. The 1 bedroom apartments on a higher floor I found also to be great, especially with an ocean view.
For location this resort is ideal, close to supermarket, shops & shopping mall. The staff are really nice and go out of their way to help with requests at time of booking.
Will be back in a few weeks and can,t wait.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a higher floor with a sea view. Well worth a but more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, General Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Rozzany

Thankyou for your kind words and we look forward to you returning very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My parents were happy with their first stay here last summer so we returned for our family holiday over the Christmas/New Year period. While this stay was peak time and prices were understandably more expensive, we were very disappointed with the much lower quality of apartment we were given, definitely not up to scratch for the amount paid particularly since I asked for a refurbished room and it was supposed to be a 'superior room'. Nothing superior about it.

The apartment had no air-conditioning, one of the fans made a loud squeeking noise and the window wouldn't open so it was very uncomfortable to sleep in that room. The single beds were so soft that you sunk straight in when you sat on them, the decor and furniture was outdated even to the point were there was a rotary style phone in the room! The kitchen had mismatched glasses and lacked some basic utensils that we even had to go out and find buy them from the local grocery store!

When we checked in and saw the room we wanted a different apartment, but as it was peak time and according to the signs the building was at 'full occupancy' we just tried to make the most of it.

However, the last straw was an incident with the parking. Like many of these style of buildings, you are allocated a parking spot number when you check in and you are meant to part there. When we drove in our spot was taken so we naturally parked right next to it as it had no private sign and there were other spaces around there too so we figured that if that was somebody else's spot, they had else where to park. We went down the next day and the other car was parked in our spot so we left our car next to it as we had no plans/needs to drive anywhere.

One day (on New Year's Eve no less), there was a sign in the lifts saying could the person in the bay we were parked in please move our car as we were parked in an a unit owner's parking. My parents were out of the apartment for the day and had the keys so I couldn't just move the car for them, which I explained to the reception, and would move it as soon as they got back. An hour or so later there was ANOTHER sign on the car and in the parking spot, saying the car will be towed at our expense and various other unnecessary threats and a big private parking sign (handwritten on paper).

I approached reception about this to speak to management as we had done nothing wrong, yet there were various threats and unfriendly communications with us that were just not necessary and certainly ruined our joyous New Years mood. While reception was apologetic, they just used the excuse that the owner was known to be grumpy and it was the owner's fault not theirs. Is it not the management's job to 'manage' these things? After us not complaining about the sub-standard room at a premium price then having to deal with the ridiculous parking situation, it was not fair at all and we were not offered anything at all to make up for that.

There are nice things about these apartments, namely the location which is very convenient and the pool area was quite nice, (we didn't get a chance to check out the tennis court, but it is handy that they have one). As mentioned, other rooms my parents have stayed in on previous stays were of a better quality (I think on the 9th floor), and if given the same or similar room they might return on future holidays. I however, am reluctant to book this for them for the reasons mentioned above.

Room Tip: ENSURE you get a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ana, thankyou for your comments, in which we are extremely disappointed. The Unit on the 5th floor, in mention, prior to Xmas & working with the Owner, painting was carried out, a new oven, hotplates, cupboard doors, shower doors etc. all were replaced. I did think the furnishings were ok & understand this is a personal preference. Beds will be checked. Air Conditioning is in the Lounge room of this Unit & the Unit your parents previously stayed was a 1brm on the 9th floor & most recently, & completely renovated.
I understand the car park was a major issue over the peak period and I was not spoken to personally. This will be brought to attention at our next Body Corporate Meeting including the notes in the lifts. Lastly I am extremely sorry this has spoilt your holiday and if you would to call us personally to discuss I would be very grateful. Kind regards Sharon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed here on two other occasions and always strike it as value for money. It isn't the flashest of places but have always found our apartments we stay in have everything we need. Apartment 704 loved that there were three television sets in our superior two bedroomed apartment and the main tv had all the channels. Great location handy to great eating places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Linda
Thankyou for your review and we appreciate your comments.
Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I and our children have stayed numerous times at the South Pacific Plaza and always been happy with our rooms. But this time room 201 was an absolute disgrace! We paid for a Superior room (re-furbished), but did not receive that. The unit was old and dated. The lounge room furniture was filthy dirty with a large tear in it. So dirty that I didn't want to sit on it. The kitchen hot plates where all rusted and couldn't pull the kitchen blind down - broken, all curtains had mould on them, bathrooms terrible. Leaking taps and shower heads, cracked tiles and missing grout and a broken shower screen that my husband fixed. No DVD player, no free to air TV channels ( only Austar), broken vacuum cleaner with broken glass inside. I did approach the manager and she was helpful obtaining us a new DVD player and vacuum cleaner. She said she was unable to move us to another room as they where taken?? We would have appreciated a discount but no was offered. Will never return to the South Pacific Plaza.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPP157, Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Ben J & family
Thankyou for your comments, any feedback is most appreciative. This has now been passed onto the Owners of the Unit.
With regards to no free to air TV channels, this could be found on DTV and TV was set on ATV for the Foxtel channels. This has now been changed though with all Units having their own Foxtel Boxes with free to air included.
No refund was offered due to the low rate @ $115 per nght (an agent special rate at the time). Low season 2brm Standard normally $200 per night and a Superior @ $229.
For the future if you would like to give us another chance please telephone and can advise what is available at the time.
Kind regards, Sharon (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach

Address: 157 Old Burleigh Road | Corner Victoria Ave & Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.