We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach -” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach to your Saves list
South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   157 Old Burleigh Road | Corner Victoria Ave & Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
mackay
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the South Pacific Plaza, we had originally booked our stay for 3 nights but decided after staying one night there that was enough. They had pictures of the superior rooms, they looked amazing online (modern) and we were very disappointed when we got there as our apartment looked nothing like what the pictures showed us online. We felt we were very mislead. When advising the property we were not happy we were told "they are all owned by different people so aparment interiors will differ" we totally understand that decor may be slghtly different than pics online but quality should not. We are not ones that complain often but felt the need to let others know about this property. One positive thing I can say about this property great location but other than that would only rate it 3 star (based on interior)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
59
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were return business having stayed here regularly over the years. This visit we stayed in 702 great view.

However, the room was tired and grubby with multiple stains on lounge carpet, dirty washing machine took 30 min to clean caked on soap before it could be used. The bed was on it's last legs and the sheets are not long enough for the bed. The blankest were mismatched and tired.

The bathroom was grubby and there was no plug for the vanity sink. No dishwasher in the kitchen, range hood over stove dirty..

Unfortunately we will not be staying here again until the reviews improve dramatically.

Room Tip: I would advise against staying here until there is an improvement in reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We recently stayed at the South Pacific Plaza for a few days. The view was wonderful, the location excfellent but the "superior unit" was anything but. It was not that clean and the furnishings were very old and tired. The washing machine was at least 10 years old as was the fridge and dishwasher. The furnishings looked dated, old and unwanted probably from the owners home or a second hand shop.
We booked as it was advertised as 4 star but this unit was not 4 star. Surely there has to be a standard with the washing machine at least usable without destroying the clothes you need to wash. My advice is you can do better with other resorts in Broadbeach for value and a better standard of accomodation and furnishings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

For a 'superior' appartment ours was looking very tired and dirty. It had had a quick looking paint job done and the tins of paint were still in the cupboards. One bed had a mattress that needs replacing as the springs were close to protruding. Kitchen was good but the dishwasher was so noisy that we left the appartment when it was going. Lounge sofas were of the quality you would find in a student flat. Good car parking after you had checked in but nowhere to wait before this. Pool was nice but spa was not working. Louvres were used on the windows instead of blinds or curtains and many of these were broken. The ensuite bathroom door also had louvres and offered little privacy. They were also very dusty. No lint filter in the clothes dryer. Tiny balcony but some others were bigger.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_southpac, Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thankyou & we appreciate your comments. With regards to the cleaning of the Unit and louvres I understand there has been an issue, being new Managers I don't have the time to check all Apartments. We are currently trying to get this under control with new cleaners and a Supervisor on board.
The paint being left in Units, these Units are all individually owned and if the Owner chooses to paint & leave unused paint in the Apartment is their choose. Some lounges beds & furnishings have been replaced since our arrival. With regards to waiting in the carpark after arrival. Arrival time is 2pm and in a lot cases most Apartments are available prior to this. If the Apartments are not ready we offer people to leave their lugguage in the foyer and go have coffee in one of the many coffee shops in the vacinity only 50m away. The balconies of the Units are slightly smaller in the 2 bedrooms, this being a structural feature. Lastly the pool spa not working, I don't recall this happening since our arrival in the middle of March, but if it does happen we do haveTradespeople on call and would be rectified within 24hrs.
Regards Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We recently returned from the Gold Coast, having spent 4 nights at the South Pacific Plaza. On arrival we thought the apartment was fine, after having a shower we noticed the bathrooms were dirty, under the vanities looked as though they had never been cleaned, under the beds and under the mat in the living area was disgusting. I wouldn't let my toddler sit on it. The bed covers had stains on them, the cupboard where the vacuum was kept was full of dirt - as though the dirt was swept into it. We had to wear our thongs inside all the time or our feet were dirty. The apartments are indefinite need of a refurbishment - if not a good old clean and a drop in the prices they charge. Great views and location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_southpac, Manager at South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Amanda
Thankyou for your review and it is ashame to see long term customers leave. The cleanliness of the Apartment, we apologise for this and as previously mentioned in my comments to the last review, we are new Managers and do have new cleaners and a Supervisor on board to rectify this problem. With regards to the couch, it was explained that a new one had been ordered and has since been replaced. Carpets have been professionally cleaned along with many others since our arrival. The plumbing issue was not brought to our attention until the day of departure. If we had been notified earlier, this could have been rectified by a Plumber. This was checked as soon as we were notified and couldn't find a problem. The towels having holes in them, our linen is supplied by a linen company, it is unfortunate that this has happened and once again time permitting we try to manage this daily. Services are for stays eight (8) days or more i.e. if you stay 10 days, service would be done on the 5th day and on a 14 night stay in which you stayed, service was on the 7th day. This includes changing all linen cleaning vanities & toilets. Wiping kitchen benches & taking out rubbish. I apologise if you found our staff rude and staff meetings are held to prevent this happening again. I also apologise for any inconvenience caused whilst lift cleaning & rubbish removal. Once again these procedures have changed to our standards with as little as possible inconvenience to clients & guests. Lastly I do see with your archived booking your dates were changed on three (3) occasions, I think our staff have been very reasonable with doing this. Regards Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at the South Pacific on Broadbeach for the last 7 years, however, and unfortunately, our recent holiday will be our last. We stayed for 15 nights through March and requested our normal room on the top floor. We received that which was fine. However the room is getting very tired and old and it was extremely dirty when we arrived.

The couch has holes and rips and tears all over it. In between the cushions was literally inches of dirt and food, the carpet was sticky and dirty (we had to wear thongs just to walk around) the kitchen had little to no appliances or cutlery (we had to purchase basic items just to cook). The plumbing was shocking – the cold water was boiling hot and the hot water was boiling hot! To have a shower we needed to let the cold water run for a long while until it became warm....then it would blast cold and stay cold.

We stayed for 15 nights and was told we would receive 2 cleans. We received 1 clean only and after we complained. However I would be hesitant to call this a clean all they did was change our towels and make the bed. They wiped nothing down, didn’t vacume or clean the tiles NOTHING it was horrendous. Oh and I should mention that the towels they changed them for had holes in them.

The staff were very rude to us on two occasions which we found very surprising. There was no need at all for the attitude we received. And on our last day when we were leaving with a mass of suitcases one of the cleaners was in the lift and told us to wait as he needed to lock it off to do his cleaning...my husband is on a crutch and disabled we were in complete shock that he put himself first before his disabled customers! We stood there and just stared while he took his time to clean the lifts and replace the bins. This was the last straw for us.

South Pacific Plaza – yes you have an amazing spot on Broadbeach and we were very loyal customers for years but unfortunately you have let us down one too many times and we will not be returning. We even found our new holiday accommodation while we were with you – at the prices you are charging and what value we can get just across the road – we are sorry South Pacific but you have lost us forever.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We were staying at the South Pacific Plaza for 14 nights. When booking from another country we requested an apartment with two queen beds (we had another couple joining us after 5days) and an upper level for a view. The staff emailed back and said this was all fine. On arrival we got our key to an apartment on the first floor when we asked to be high up. Once we got into the room and turned the lights on there was a lizard that ran out of the lounge, into the bedroom and up the bed. We didnt end up finding it. No one answered our calls so in the morning we went down. We said we had a lizard and asked why we were on the first floor when they said we would be on an upper level in the email. The replied that they would clean the room to find the lizard but the lower floor was the only room they could do with two queen beds. They said we could move but we would then get charged for an extra clean and services. I said no thanks because we wanted two queens and that they should have told us that in the email that the only room was on the first floor so we could book somewhere else with a view. We literally could only see the road. The manager then was very very rude and said we were just being difficult. We left it at that. After the five days the other couple turned up and went into look at their bedroom. It had clumps of hair on the floor and a few childrens crayola pens aswell as old clothes tags. They lay on the bed which was as hard as concrete and had a hard line down the middle. Upon investigation we found that our second 'queen' bed was infact two single beds pushed together with a queen sheet over top. They said that the sides of the matress was so hard you couldnt lie on it. It was overall a terrible stay, terrible nights sleeps and felt like you were in filth. Really dissapointing to spend thousands on accomodation thinking you were going to have a great view (a great view really makes the stay) because the staff said that and to get there and be on the first floor. Only good thing is location but you can stay at much nicer places right beside it like Air on Broadbeach which is where we will go next time.

Room Tip: Just dont stay at South Pacific Plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach

Address: 157 Old Burleigh Road | Corner Victoria Ave & Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.