We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Royale

Save Saved
You added Ocean Royale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Royale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Britannia Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland 4223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Broadbeach
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay! Would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Ocean Royale in a 2 bedroom apartment as part of a trip to the Gold Coast for a sporting event. The apartment was spacious and clean with amazing views. Although not a 5 star it had all the facilities we needed - secure underground carparking, fresh clean towels, dishwasher, washing machine etc. One negative might be the smell and junk kept in the cupboard in the laundry however this didn't really affect our stay as we didn't need to store anything in the cupboard. Staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Only 2 minute walk to the beach and 10-15 minute walk to shops and restaurants. Would definitely consider staying here again. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at the 12th floor in June.
Stunning ocean & city views, Sunrise in the morning.
Very quiet at night, all we could hear was the sound of waves, that helped sleeping.
Perfect location, beachside but handy to shops & restaurants in Broadbeach.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: our 1 bedroom apt no48 very good, just the equipments in Kitchen and Bathrm a bit outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our five night stay at this hotel was a disappointment. The unit we were given (no. 30) had a dishwasher that leaked, large stains on the carpets, brown splatter on the curtains and the taps leaked. The week we were there the hotel was quiet so wondered why we would be given a grotty apartment rather than one that was newer and would reflect better on the hotel. The worst thing was that my teenage son reacted very badly to the dust/allergens in the room and spent the entire time with runny nose, sneezing, itchy eyes and bad sinuses. It got so bad that he slept outside on the balcony for a few hours during the night, wrapped up in a blanket, to get some relief. Midway during the stay (after taking various medications) I approached the front office to see if we could change rooms and was told no. The indoor pool and spa area leaks when it rains but was a welcome relief to being in the apartment. The location is good but would seriously recommend anyone checking in to ensure you dont get unit no. 30. It does not portray the hotel in a good light and can be dangerous for anyone suffering allergies. After our departure, it took my son took two days to lose his 'wheeze'.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 30. Tell receptionist at check in if you suffer from allergies that you want a tiled, rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
All reviews are received with pleasure be they good or not so good,as this helps us to meet our guests need.
To address the issues in this review, when approached re the allergy I stated that due to the fact we were fully booked in all two bedroom apartments a move to another apartment was not an option. We also stated that we have never had a problem with anyone with an allergy in any of our rooms.
We will always endeavour to help with a change of rooms if we can. Yes the dishwasher was leaking , this was remedied the day after the guest told me , with a new door seal.
The indoor pool roof is glass and has two panels that are opened slightly so that the roof doesn't fog up and drip down onto people's heads.
Whilst very care is taken to ensure all rooms are cleaned and sanitised, we are aware that some carpets have marks that do not come out with cleaning anymore. The building is 28 years old and taps etc are in need of constant maintenance , which is addressed as soon as we are made aware of problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We originally booked for 2 nights, soon as we arrived changed it to 3. Was booked on the 5th floor, but got put up to the 11th. Beautiful views, bad weather or not. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended and am planning to return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed there for 2 days at the 10th floor, in one bedroom apartment with absolutely stunning ocean view!! All facilities are great just the bathroom a bit outdated.. but all in all it's a great place to stay and perfect location!! Restaurants & shops within walking distance. We'll come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Well, this place was a great shocking suprise after a 5 star property made a mistake with my booking. My 13 yr old daughter chose this from the images as she wanted ocean views. Having worked in 4& 5 star hotels for over 20 years I was impressed by the genuine service that alot 'chain' hotels are missing. Housekeeping was fantastic as I know first hand it is hard to maintain a older property. This is the best property while I was doing filming for Supanova and I fully recomend this property for value for money for anyone attending Supanova. But my fav was waking up in the morning to watch the waves then go done to the lobby & watch the bird feeding. I would have loved to stay longer but maybe next year. Will like to stay in top floor to that bit extra.

Room Tip: High floor and away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtisyd, Manager at Ocean Royale, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NSW
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Ocean Royale is not brand new but well maintained and very comfortable. We had a 2 bed apartment and we loved the wrap around balcony so we could see the sun rises and the sun sets from the 8th floor. Very quiet; the only noise we heard was the sound of the surf which was virtually just across the road. Well appointed kitchen and huge living area as well as main bathroom ( with bath) and en suite. No air con. but the sea air was a real treat. Very obliging staff so we would not look elsewhere next visit to the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Royale

Address: 4 Britannia Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland 4223, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Royale 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ocean Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Royale Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.