We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, romantic, close to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Frida B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barra de Potosi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Frida B&B
Barra de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rustic, romantic, close to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Casa Frida is a small B & B with only four units on the property. The construction is "jungle Mexican"....stick walls and Palapa roof. Nicely appointed. Annabella, the owner is a gregarious and story filled person; a world traveler. Annabella prepared a delicious dinner for six of us guests one evening: Delicious Margaritas, Pescado Vera Cruz, Carrot soup, garden salad, fresh veggies, a nice bottle of wine and an after dinner mezcal. $450 pesos per couple...under $40.00 U.S. The lagoon at Barra de Potosi is too cool. Lots of birds, fish, crabs, fisherman. Really good food in nearby enramadas. Two to four days in Barra de Potosi at Casa Frida is time well spent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed for 10 days at Casa Frida. The B&B is in a comfortable, colorful, garden setting a few steps from the beach. Barra de Potosi is a small fishing village - quiet and relaxing. We did nothing but swimming, walking on the very long, empty beach, and ate lot's of seafood.
Anabella was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us a ride to Zihua twice when she went there for shopping. She will cook a very tasty meal for a minimum of 4 people - we had dinner twice with two other couples.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We had a great short stay at Casa Frida. The owners and/or the manager were always present. Wonderful decorations and styling in the units; very colorful and very clean. Only 3 units in the entire place, so very peaceful and tranquil. Nice small pool and wonderfully covered breakfast area. Beds all had mosquito netting around them. The owners went out of their way to be so helpful. They arranged a taxi to the airport when we left and recommended numerous things to see and do in the area. El Refugio de Potosi highly recommended, and only 10 pesos to get there by the chicken truck. Just be sure to bring your mosquito repellent as they are pretty vicious once it gets dark. All in all, we can't wait to go back to Casa Frida the next time we're in Barra de Potosi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We have traveled many places in Mexico and been both on the Pacific and Caribbean sides of the country but none can compare to this magical, breathtaking paradise!
Not only was the scenery pristine the wonderful little community of Barra de Potosi was friendly and welcoming...a true joy to experience. Staying at Casa Frida with Anabella, Francios, Jorge and Maria was a double blessing rich with the finest Mexican hospitality.
This little Casa just steps from the ocean is delightfully decorated, full of color and overflows with magical ambiance. Anabella's demeanor is magnetic...she is full of love and passion as she so graciously shares the rich history of the Mexican culture in this lovely warm environment and through her outstanding cooking.
As guests we had the option to participate in extra special dinners, prepared and served by both Anabella and Jorge. We had no idea of the treat this would be! This was an absolutely charming evening full of awesome stories, great company and exquisite Mexican cuisine.
Our entire stay at Casa Frida was truly incredible; the rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious...again tremendous ambiance. We enjoyed swimming both in the ocean and in Casa Frida's refreshing pool surrounded by a tropical garden.
For me this was the most relaxing, romantic tropical paradise I have ever experienced and it was only enhanced by finding such a wonderful place to stay and meeting such warm friendly people. This is the first holiday we have taken and decided without a doubt to RETURN!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Take the upstairs room with the balcony if you can, and relax. Good people, good location, good food. Nice and quiet, great hostess, and chill environment. My understanding is that they are building a spot right on the beach so the existing spot might not be there anymore. Note: they expect you to give significant tips to the b&b staffers, something I did not realize. Note as well: prices are not much different than the US as far as food goes - i.e. $8-10 per entree, although the lobster diablo at the second place in was worth the $25. Nice relaxing time and I'd love to go see them their new spot.

Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

3 stars for Casa Frida, 5 stars for Barra de Potosi. This place has bohemian charm, but it's not as wonderful as the impression from its reviews. The pros: 1) you can quickly walk out of the property and onto a 6 mile beach that is mostly empty. 2) the beach property owned by CF is great to relax in- hammocks in the shade, and ocean just feet away. 3) the very last enramada restaurant, just across CF, serves amazing simple authentic Mexican food. Fresh caught fish every day, best fries I've had in years, try tiritas (raw fish "cooked" in lime juice), tasty tortillas cooked on a fire. And try the fried plaintains as dessert, served by a lovely lady who sells them on the beach.

The cons: 1) No privacy. CF rooms are rustic cottages with gaps in the walls, so you and your neighbors can carry on conversations through the walls. Great if you get along with the other guests. Also be prepared for a lot of night noises- I loved hearing the surf, but the roosters woke us up every morning. 2) Safety. Though the property has a wall and is locked at night, your room's "lock" is a stick through two hoops. 3) Not very clean. The sheets and towels were clean and changed every other day, but the bathroom was dark and not so clean. Also, the trash wasn't emptied at least once, not good as you can't flush toilet paper. I walked into the room one day when Maria was "cleaning" and that means sweeping dust and sand into the air (no dustpan) and letting it resettle everywhere. 4) Dinner and food on the property is an outrageous rip off. Anabella charged $50 per person for dinner with 2 drinks. Naively, I expected an authentic MX meal, but we got vichysoisse, crappy farmed tilapia from the supermarket with cheap olives, and cheese and a sweet paste for dessert. For $50, 2 people can get an authentic huge meal at the enramada restaurant across CF, with fresh fish and multiple beers per person. 5) Breakfast is the same every day- great orange marmalade, great fresh OJ and fruit, but just toast and a frozen croissant. The glasses were not so clean sometimes, with dried orange bits inside.

Barra de Potosi is a great quiet place to get away. I'd recommend staying at a B&B up the beach. B&B Our House looked nice, and we saw the rooms at Solecito- beautiful, and we plan to stay at Solecito next time.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

WE stayed for 10 days at CASA FRIDA. We were nurtured daily by great staff with sincere attitudes to make our experience comfortable and cozy.The tiny restaurant on the beach in front of Casa Frida's , La Contessa, was a find. Fantastic food and right on the beach. This little slice of paradise was a find and we will definitely return. Annabella and Francoise should be cloned. Their hospitality and kindness was worth the whole trip!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Frida B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Frida B&B

Address: Barra de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Barra de Potosi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barra de Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an endless sunny golden beach in the small fishing hamlet of Barra de Potosi you'll find warm hospitality in a bohemian ambiance at Casa Frida, an intimate Bed & Breakfast Inn fronting the tropical Pacific Ocean. Your new host, David, is from Austin, Texas where he was in the music industry for many years and as of late did specialty printing specializing of t-shirts and vinyl stickers. He will be delighted to receive you personally and assure that your stay is a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Frida B&B Barra De Potosi, Mexico - Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Frida B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Frida B&B to your Saves list