We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Solecito

Save Saved
You added Bungalows Solecito to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalows Solecito
Playa Blanca 54 | Barra de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pristine Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel on our recent trip to Barra de Potosi, but we did get a complete tour of the property by the gracious owner Blanca. The property is impeccably maintained and the accommodations are in individual bungalows nestled under the shade of palms. The prices quoted us for the rooms make them a great value for the area. The rooms had more amenities than the private home we rented just down the beach.

We did eat twice in the beautiful restaurant beside the pool. They have a real chef who knows how to serve up wonderful Mexican meals from soups and salads to entrees to desserts. We live in Mexico and rarely have such good food outside Mexico City. The owner Blanca is a terrific hostess in the restaurant.

We plan to stay at this hotel on our next visit to Barra de Potosi.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are closest to the beach, although all bungalows have beach views and wave sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Blanca and Manuel couldn't be more accommodating. They just hired a new chef whom we found excellent!
This was our third visit and its better every year!
If you like to sleep with the sound of surf and awake to the chatter of birds and have miles of pristine beach to walk; sample the waves or laze in the pool, this is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent the last week of December at Solecito and had a wonderful vacation. The grounds are beautiful, our bungalow was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Contrary to what a few reviews have said, because of the site layout, it doesn't really matter what bungalow you have because all have good sight lines to the ocean. Blanca and Manuel were really gracious hosts - they struck a nice balance between being available and checking if all was well versus letting us enjoy the beauty and quiet of their beautiful place on Playa Blanca (which if you don't know, is a fantastic beach). They have recently brought on a new chef, Abel, and we enjoyed some of the best meals we have ever eaten anywhere thanks to his expertise. All in all, it was a wonderful, relaxing, rejuvenating week in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Solecito for 6 years, and we intend to keep going back. The beach is 14 miles of clean white sand ... and without high-rises! The bay is protected enough that you could go swimming in it (when its calm). The birdlife is wonderful to watch, and we almost always spot a whale in the bay.

The casitas, which are either right on the ocean (!) or with a clear view of it, are roomy and tastefully designed. It's wonderful to have an equipped kitchen, roomy bedroom and a wide terrace overlooking the ocean. It's astonishing how cheap it is, considering what you get.

The grounds are simply gorgeous. And did I mention the pool?

The staff is lovely, and the one negative review I see here is so out of character I can't help but wonder what it was about. Manuel and Blanca bend over backwards to make their guests comfortable.

And one other thing: it's safe.

Room Tip: If you want to be right on the beach, choose #1 or #5. #5 has a wide vista and is our favourite. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Many of our friends recommended this place for a weekend getaway and we were not disappointed, it's very clean, comfortable, not over-the-top but just right for us. The owner, Blanca, gave us great service, she kept phoning us to make sure we weren't lost and she stayed up until 11pm to receive us at the gate. We stayed in Bungalow #1 which is right on the beach, gorgeous sunsets at night and if you love listening to the waves, you must stay in this bungalow. I could not sleep as the waves were quite loud and appeared to sound as if they were coming into our bungalow! We were the only other people besides the No. 5 bungalow so it was nice to have the whole place to ourselves. My husband was a little cranky not to have tv, internet, etc. but I loved the quietness, the long walks on the beach, a very clean and uncluttered beach, no seaweed although my hubby did get stung by a jellyfish. Breakfast was supplied by Solecito, simple eggs however you like with fruit and fresh juice or coffee. We enjoyed walking down to the restaurants on the beach for dinners, excellent fresh grilled fish "a la talla", fresh coconuts, seafood soup, fried bananas with cream. We also really enjoyed massages on the beach by Juanita.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for bungalow no. 1 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We’ve been coming to Solecito since it was built 6 years ago and it is our favorite destination in Zihuatanejo. In fact we’ve kinda kept it a secret, for fear of losing our ability to get a reservation. But it’s time to share this gem. Solecito is perfect for a quiet, completely relaxed getaway. It doesn’t take long to lose track of what day it is as you swing in the hammock, cool breezes blowing in off the Pacific, rustling the palm trees overhead. Owners, Manuel and Blanca are really friendly and responsive and take great pride in the design, comfort and quality of their perfect little paradise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Barra de Potosi is a secluded, idyllic, pristine, gently curving beach, several miles long -- the kind you dream about but rarely ever find. And, Solecito, set directly on the beach, is the best place to stay in Barra. The gardens are beautiful and tranquil, immaculately maintained and there are a variety of accommodation from bungalows (kitchen, bath, bedroom, patio (with hammock, tables, chairs, loungers) to rooms with balconies. There is a lovely pool and restaurant at pool side that serves three meals a day. Manuel and Blanca, the owner/managers, are delightful, helpful and attentive. If you are looking for beauty, tranquility and first rate accommodations and do not require night clubs and souvenir shops, come to Solecito.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bungalows Solecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Solecito

Address: Playa Blanca 54 | Barra de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Barra de Potosi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barra de Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best beach cottages in the Pacific Ocean.Where you can still enjoy the swim at the ocean, and eat at the fishermans restaurants within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows Solecito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Solecito Barra De Potosi, Mexico - Zihuatanejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Solecito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.