We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful experience of the Alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernina Pass

Bernina Pass
St. Moritz, Poschiavo, Switzerland
39 0342 902424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Poschiavo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Most beautiful experience of the Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We started our train journey from Chur, the oldest town in Switzerland .It was a beautiful day. The train journey was just amazing, the scenery is stunning , from the high towering mighty glaciers , and lakes below , the countless castles perched in the mountains, the quaint villages, breathtaking landscapes, gorges , viaducts , towering rock walls, and evergreen manicured landscapes. We passed through so many incredible tunnels, and bridges that I lost count of it. And the most unforgettable one was when the train went into the world -famous Landwasser Viaduct. I took a video of it that I have watched it over and over again. It is a masterpiece of engineering , that made it possible for everyone to experience the natural beauty of the Alps in the comfort of your seats. We had a 15 minute coffee break in one of the most scenic spot in Alp Grum with the view of the beautiful town of Poschiavo . We had a coffee in the station cafe's outside veranda that juts out of the building high above the valley below with the view of the melting glacier , one of the tallest waterfalls I have ever seen where the melting glacier ice has created which looks like a natural green coloured swimming pool down bellow.What a view! We continued our journey where the train does a circular route it was mind bugling because we were looking on this side of the mountain one minute and the next thing we're on lthe otherside of the mountain , it's hard to explain , the line is famously called the circular viaduct of Brusio. We decided to get off at the small town of Poschiavo a typically Italian architecture buildings all around to have lunch . We lingered for a nice homemade Italian food and caught the train back where we had a 2 hour stop over at St. Moritz. Traveling into and right through the UNESCO World Heritage site is an experience that will stay with us for a very long time . Switzerland we Love you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL JOURNEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well worth doing the journey by train as not only is the scenery stunning, when traveled in June '13 also few passengers. Went from Chur to St. Mortiz, had lunch at the station cafe, as it was the only one open and reasonably priced. This is also a civil engineering masterpiece, as are many routes in Switzerland and well worth doing on a lovely summers day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Brilliant Train Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Joined the Bernina Express in St Moritz, stopped off at Diavolezza to take the cable car up the mountain, made the return journey from Poschiavo lovely wee Swiss town. Outstanding scenery with many spectacular viaducts as the highest train ride moves effortlessly through the Alps.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Third time on this one, up on the Bernina Express walked in the snow, she took lots of photos (I thought it was my camera!!) and then the best bit.... down on the coach, front seat all the way. They've spoilt it a bit 'cos they've put safety barriers in place but still brilliant. Excellent driver who stopped in all the right places for photo opportunities. The only complaint was that too much time is spent in St. Moritz which is generally closed for lunch when the coach arrives. A number of the party agreed and this was passed to our Crystal Rep, I think less time at the top and more at the small town at the bottom (I've forgotten the name) which was a traditional Italian town not too spoilt by tourism. Nevertheless we'll probably do the whole thing again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

August 26th 2012: We took off from Zurich mid morning and headed towards St Moritz which we reached by lunchtime. A quick bite then we headed up to the Bernina pass through the glorious Swiss countryside. Every twist a turn reveals a picture-postcard view to die for. We arrived in Italy at Tirano mid-afternoon and then headed for our stop that night at Lago di Como.
The drive was surprisingly easy and the roads immaculate - a few short stops around road repair gangs but we were in no hurry. The weather was of course glorious and we kept the top down all day.
A 'must do' drive for anyone who enjoys driving and fabulous scenery.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernina Pass also viewed

Poschiavo, Canton of Graubunden
Poschiavo, Canton of Graubunden
 
Pontresina, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Bernina Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernina Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.