We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the regular train” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernina Pass

Bernina Pass
St. Moritz, Poschiavo, Switzerland
39 0342 902424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Poschiavo
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Take the regular train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Bernina Express trains have bigger windows and the name but the regular red trains have fewer people and travel the same line. The sites are magnificent but don't lean out the window too far - it's straight down in places.

The train travels relatively slowly allowing lots of time for pictures and in the regular train you can probably go from side to side to take picture - unlike the packed cars where all the seats are full.

The is a great trip and the only way to see it "hands free" is by train!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Suggestive place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Bernina Pass and his surroundings; after you cross this mountain pass (2330 masl), you will find a railway station with a very big parking of the Ratische bahn (Ferrovia Retica), a narrow gauge railway; it is incredible how a train without rack can arrive hitherto! Besides from here starts also the panoramic cableway who brings you from about 2100 masl until 3000 masl.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What A Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We started from the east shore of lake Como and headed towardd Switzerland for the Bernina pass as we had heard it was a great road to drive. It was! the views are spectacular and their are some great look-out spots along the way so don't be tempted to drive too fast as you'll miss so much. Around each bend there is another amazing view, be it mountains, glaciers or lakes. I would recommend that you follow the road around to St. Moriz and then head down the Maloja pass. We counted 23 consecutive hair pins. Well worth a drive

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
“My fastest road bike ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We drove to the summit of Bernina Pass and I got my road bike out of the rental car and proceeded down this awesome Bernina Pass road - on the steepest and longest descent I'd ever ridden! The scenery (when you are going slow enough to take it in!) is magnificent! I got stuck behind a Tour Bus and after a few km's of taking in his fumes I took the opportunity on a swooping bend to overtake him. My husband was following me in the rental car and clocked me doing 75 km/hr doing this manouevre and he got it all on video! I never did see that bus again! So my passing him certainly didn't slow the rest of his trip down the Pass!!! What a stunningly gorgeous area with the huge mountains and the deep remote valley that meanders through the base of this Pass. This is a must-do for any road cyclist!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Snow, lots of snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

You can take the Bernina Pass Express, in Italy-Switzerland boarder, by yourself or by a travel agency. From Milan is easy got the train without any help. You take the train in Central Milan station, Lecco Tirano train. See timetable in Trenitalia. You can arrive just in time to take the Bernina Express to cross the pass in Alps.
It's an amazing travel. In winter, it seems you travel inside snow.
You can go and come back in the same day, taking lunch in St. Moritz.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernina Pass also viewed

Poschiavo, Canton of Graubunden
Pontresina, Engadin St. Moritz
 
Poschiavo, Canton of Graubunden
Tirano, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Bernina Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernina Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.