We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and will be back in December.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Deserteur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Deserteur Hotel to your Saves list
Le Deserteur Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de la Telecabine, Nendaz 1997, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nendaz
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and will be back in December.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Deserteur at Xmas 2010, which is in the middle of Nendaz, with a ski hire shop opposite the hotel and as a guest we got a 10% discount and the hotel organised our lift passes. The hotel itself has everything you want, restaurant with great food, a relaxed bar, sitting room and terrace area to chill outside.
The bedrooms are very clean, has flat screen TV, with really comfortable beds and a powerful shower.
The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Will definitely be back this winter, loved the fondue. We are thinking of going back in the summer as well, as there was a mountain bike hire shop opposite.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeDeserteur, Directeur général at Le Deserteur Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Richard

Thank you, it is always a pleasure to read good feedback from our guests.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you back at the hotel and celebrate Christmas the Swiss way together.

Regards

Jean-Philippe Lomont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We booked this hotel for a short break - 3 night - ski weekend. It is wonderfully situated, a short walk to the ski hire shop and the ski lifts ( 2minutes!!). The rooms are warm, spacious and well equipped (lots of hot water). Our room had a balcony with a view up the mountains. The staff are really helpful, warm and friendly. They remember what you prefer to drink and the food is excellent. It is a small family run hotel - so if you have food preferences as I do, I just passed a message to the cook who was very accomodating. If you are around in the day (minor ski injury!) then I recommend the 'Plat de Jour' which is always delicious. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeDeserteur, Directeur général at Le Deserteur Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Nicki

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review.
I trust you fully recovered from your minor ski injury and I look forward to see you on the slops again this winter. (The chef will especially cook your favourite "Plat du jour")

Regards

Jean-Philippe Lomont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We are a family of 5 and came back from Le Deserteur 2 months ago.
I normally never write any comments on our holiday but looking on Trip Advisor to organise our next trip, I came across the only review a guest has ever completed for the Hotel on trip advisor and wanted to share my opinion:
We can only but praise everybody at Le Deserteur Hotel for their professionalism and service offered.
Yes, this is not a 5 star luxurious hotel but they offer a perfectly adequate ski resort Hotel destination.
Unlike the other guest, I think the breakfast was more than adequate with a very generous buffet selection ( meat , cheese, bread, jam, fresh fruit salad, juices, yogurt, muesli, cooked eggs to order, tea and coffee on tap) which was more than adequate for my teenage family.
The bedrooms were very nice and comfortable (we were told they all have been refurbished) and the cleaning was spotless.
I cannot comment on the inclusive menu because we were on a different package but the a la carte menu was great with a wide enough choice.
I don't not understand why you would leave such negative comments for this superb “ value for money” hotel.
We will definitely return, take it from a family of 5 brave souls!!

Room Tip: We had room 25 (Family room, just great!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeDeserteur, Directeur général at Le Deserteur Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcomming you again! Kind regards Fiona Cave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Judging by the website, we expected this hotel to be like an old Swiss watch: slightly old fashioned, but running perfectly smoothly.

And there were parts of our holiday which went well. The journey from Geneva airport to the hotel, for example, is marvelously simple. You take a train from the airport to Sion (no changes). At Sion you take a connecting bus from the station directly to the hotel: it couldn’t be easier.

For a ski holiday, the hotel’s well placed: you can hire equipment literally across the road (at Neige Aventures), and local free buses stop outside the hotel to take you to the Nendaz cable car.

The rooms are perfectly adequate. And some of the staff are marvelous. (Gordana looked after dinner service with particular warmth and care).

But we had a surprise. After our reservation the hotel was sold by the Swiss family which had run it for decades to a new owner. The new owner and his team have started a program of refurbishment: of course, not every thing can be changed overnight. And, as they said, they had to prioritize. But their priorities seemed to us a little odd....

There’s a new television in every room, and a clock radio too. And free WiFi (which worked particularly well in the early morning). But there’s no warm place to store ski boots (so if they’re wet by the end of the day, they’ll be cold and wet by the morning).

Above all, catering often brushed disastrous. Breakfast was frugal: there was no choice of breakfast cereals for example & nothing warm- not even a toaster. But at least, it was predictable. (We were driven to buying our own bread and musli). The evening meals were wildly unpredictable. Fondue and Raclette were fine: difficult to make them inedible. A quiche was good too. But for our first three nights the only choice of desert remained the same: artificially flavoured ice cream. When we gently remonstrated, there followed an excellent TiraMiSu and then a light fruit sponge. For two nights in three we were offered the same lamb: when we hesitated, we were offered chicken stew instead. When all agreed that was inedible, we ended up with raclette (again!). Perhaps that sums up our impression of the dining room: the staff were accommodating and keen to please, but the cooking just wasn’t up to the mark.

Would we go back? Not on half-board or even B&B until many brave souls report that the kitchen’s improved. If we wanted a convenient inexpensive room for a short stay, it might be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeDeserteur, Directeur général at Le Deserteur Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Madam and Sir

Thank you for the review left in trip advisor about your recent stay at the hotel Le Déserteur.
I would like to take the opportunity to come back to you regarding few points you mentioned although I agree some adjustments had to be made from the product the new owners and management team have inherited since February 2010.
We have taken all you comments on board and review our entire breakfast specification consisting in a wider selection of local and international offering.
We have redesigned all menus and we are proud to offer a unique concept in Haute Nendaz where you can now compose your meal with all dishes, ingredients and sauces individually priced. We also have changed our food suppliers to the best available in the Valais.
It goes without saying, the first to benefit from these changes are the guests staying in half-board basis and I encourage you to read the comments kindly left from the costumers that have visited us since our reorganisation.
I really hope you will you will give us another chance and visit us again soon, not only for the food, but for the fantastic turn around we have achieved and value for money we are offering.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about “Le Déserteur” and I look forward to your visit us again soon.

Regards

Jean-Philippe Lomont
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Deserteur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Deserteur Hotel

Address: Route de la Telecabine, Nendaz 1997, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Nendaz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nendaz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Deserteur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Deserteur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Deserteur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.