We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, excellent Spa!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BON Hotel Shelley Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BON Hotel Shelley Point to your Saves list
BON Hotel Shelley Point
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Golden Mile Boulevard | Shelley Point, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa (Formerly Shelley Point Hotel, Spa & Country Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel, excellent Spa!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a weekend getaway made fantastic by the excellent Spa facility at this average hotel. The rooms are big and spacious (two levels) but the heating only warms the ground floor so it gets cold in the bedroom! Add to that a drip from the thatch roof and carpets that were not vacuumed properly :( The breakfast was very average and I was not trusting of their halal friendly as the proximity of the bacon to the other hot buffet items was too close for my liking! The Spa was superb....heated beds, amazing therapists, and the hydro experience was 5*!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean G, General Manager at BON Hotel Shelley Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Fatse

Thank you for joining us here at Shelley Point Hotel and for your review, we truly do value all our Guest's feedback - both positive and negative.

Please accept my apologies for the drip from the thatch and the poorly vacuumed carpets, that is definitely not the standard we aim to offer all our Guests. We have noted your comment regarding our Halaal friendly options at Breakfast and have since then moved them away from all other pork products.

Thank you for your positive comments about the Spa, really glad to hear you enjoyed the heated beds and amazing therapists.

We hope you will join us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Dean Gilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
50
30
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was modern, spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and ironed my husband's shirt when we were running out of time for a function!

There was a beautiful view from the breakfast room which we really enjoyed. If we are in the area again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean G, General Manager at BON Hotel Shelley Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Megan S

Thank you for staying with us here at Shelley Point Hotel and for your positive feedback. We are really glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us.

Comments like yours really motivate my Team and I to be more friendly and helpful to each and every Guest that stays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Shelley Point Hotel.

Thank you and regards,
Dean Gilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have just returned from a visit here. Saw special offers and went on the recommendation of friends but was disappointed. The rooms are good - they really have tried - the decor is modern and upmarket, the linen is crisp and white. But the view was straight into the back of a residential home. The spa was fully booked so could not even try that. The pool and deck are covered by a low tarpaulin so if you sit on the pooldeck you look straight into this tarp! The service was slow. Ordered a plain pizza via room service - took 50 minutes to come and was cold. The restaurant service was equally as slow and the food horrible. Not worthy of 4 stars for sure. They gave us a wi-fi voucher on arrival which never worked because apparently they were having "server" problems - well then why give the voucher. If I'm at the coast I want to stay on the sea and not just have a view of it over the rooftops.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean G, General Manager at BON Hotel Shelley Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lynn Huskisson
Thank you for staying with us here at Shelley Point Hotel and for your valuable feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused you during your stay with us. The poor service and quality of food you received is clearly unacceptable and most definitely not the standard nor qaulity we aim to offer all our Guests here at Shelley Point Hotel.

My Team and I have noted all your comments and we will do our utmost best to improve all services and facilities on offer to our Guests.

Once again, my apologies and thank you - we do hope to welcome you back to Shelley Point Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dean Gilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

So impressed with this outstanding country hotel. Future guests do not be put off with business rescue process
Management doing a great job and hotel needs all support it can get.outstanding value. See for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean G, General Manager at BON Hotel Shelley Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Noldes

Thank you for your very positive feedback regarding your stay with us here at Shelley Point Hotel.

We are currently in Business Rescue, but you are indeed correct, future Guests should not be put off about this as my Team and I will continue to strive to provide outstanding Guest service and excellent facilities at a very affordable price.

Once again, thank you. We do hope you will join us once again in the near future.

Regards,
Dean Gilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I visited here again as a stop over on the way home. The rooms are still very nice (stayed in a different type this time).

There is a big notice in the reception area that the Board of Directors have place this hotel under business rescue, it is a sort of pre-cursor to bankruptcy procedures, should they not be able to resolve their financial issues, so take care for bookings far in ahead.

The on site restaurant has closed or moved. The services in the room is not up to scratch, the rooms are clean, but maintenance seems lacking and housekeeping are lax in keeping amenities stocked.

They had some serious issues with accounts for payments, which is quite annoying.

Its a real shame, the rooms are huge and very nice, it would be a real shame if they go under.

Room Tip: For the bigger families, there are rooms which is split over 2 levels, kids can sleep in the "l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean G, General Manager at BON Hotel Shelley Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Joeblack_Paul

Thank you for staying with us once again and for your valuable comments. We truly do value feedback from all our Guests, both positive and negative.

The hotel is currently under business rescue which does unfortunately provide us with a few challenges, but it is most definitely business as usual. The Cattle Baron Restaurant has closed temporarily, but we still offer a delicious selection of mediterranean cuisine in our Sao Antonio Restaurant.

My apologies for any inconvenience caused with regards to payments and accounts - we have since then implemented more efficient accounting measures. My Team and I will continue to strive to provide excellent Guest service and facilities at an affordable rate.

We do hope to welcome you back to Selley Point Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dean Gilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

When I first booked the accommodation,I started reading the reviews of the hotel and became a bit sceptical and doubted my decision; this however was the best choice I could have made, the spa suited my wife perfectly and the golf course was challenging enough for me even though it's only 9 holes. Our friends were able to keep their kids entertained for the entire weekend and have some time for themselves when they used the babysitting service offered.

I think that the hotel along with its facilities is good value for money and suitable for couples looking for a romantic getaway or a family looking for a nice retreat; the best part is that it is less than 2 hours away from Cape Town.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you're looking for a getaway from the big city.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at Shelley Point - we chose this hotel for a number of reasons but the main one being that the weather was going to be bad & with the facilities on offer in terms of kids club, spa, kitchen facilities in the rooms (great with kids) & a restaurant on site we wouldn't have to leave the hotel.

The room was lovely & spacious but many small details were overlooked & quite frankly for a "4 star hotel" this is just not acceptable.

The first thing we noticed was that there was no microwave which we were told there would be - however a quick word with reception sorted that issue out. They provide a microwave, fridge as well as tea & coffee making facilities which is great especially when travelling with kids who are always wanting a snack but there wasn't a knife, fork or plate to be seen - only a few coffee cups, 2 teaspoons, 2 glasses & a bottle opener.

There were only 2 bath towels provided when there were 4 of us staying in the room. The duvet barely fitted the bed - it looked like a queen size duvet on a king size bed as it didn't even hang over the sides of the bed. The weather was freezing cold & there was only a small blanket (more for decoration than anything) on the bed & we had to ask twice before someone brought us extra blankets. On the second night no-one did a turn down & as a result we arrived back from the restaurant with sleeping children in our arms only to have to lay them down on the floor while we made up the sleeper couch for them.

The restaurant was unfortunately disappointing, although our waitress was lovely & the live music on the second evening was very enjoyable. On the first night I ate prawns & barely 30 minutes after returning to our room I was violently ill & spent the next 2 hours in the bathroom barely able to move. The lady on reception was extremely helpful & brought me some medication for nausea & a hot water bottle & was on hand to find out how I was feeling the next morning. She reported the incident to the restaurant but no-one else - not the restaurant / hotel manager had anything to say or to offer an apology of any kind. On the second night our restaurant experience was better in that the live music made for a good atmosphere & after having sent our food back due to it being ice cold on arrival we did actually enjoy the meal (once it was warm).

The breakfast buffet was average, nothing to write home about but ok, except for the fact that on the first morning my husband had to fry his own eggs as the person on duty disappeared.

The kids club was a lovely feature & our kids enjoyed themselves there. They did experience a few staff issues with babysitters not turning up to work & as a result seemed a bit dis-organised with regard to the movie & meal option that they offer for the children in the evening but other than that it was good to have the kids club as a distraction for the children.

I went to the spa & that was a lovely experience - great massage, professional staff & a good atmosphere.

I think this hotel has so much potential - it's a great getaway option for families in particular as it's good value with the kids stay free option but they really need to pull up their socks in order to come anywhere close to the 4 star establishment that they're supposed to be. Small things matter & they need to pay closer attention to those small details. I have travelled a lot & I know a 4 star hotel when I see one & this is currently nowhere near 4 star standard but it wouldn't take much to get it there.

Room Tip: When travelling with kids request the loft rooms as the main bedroom is then upstairs & the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BON Hotel Shelley Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Shelley Point

Address: 1 Golden Mile Boulevard | Shelley Point, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa (Formerly Shelley Point Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > St. Helena Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Shelley Point 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BON Hotel Shelley Point, one of the finest resorts on the West Coast, is just a 90 minute drive from Cape Town. The hotel is set on a private peninsula, surrounded by beautiful sandy beaches and clear, azure waters. Whether you are staying for work or pleasure, quite simply BON Hotel Shelley Point is wonderful getaway and a place for memorable events. There is plenty to do at the resort - a 6 rink bowling green, 2 tennis courts, running trails, beach walks, sunset picnics and a fully equipped gym will keep you occupied. Our hotel boasts 84 spacious and comfortable rooms, each with the emphasis on privacy and comfort. You are spoilt for choice with Standard Rooms, Luxury Rooms and Garden Suites. Our 3 meeting rooms accommodate up to 90 delegates and provide functional, innovative spaces for one-on-one meetings, launches, large and small groups to breakaways. Full day, overnight and half-day conference packages are available. Enjoy spectacular views across the azure waters and golf course over breakfast at Sao Gabrielle, or grab a table for lunch or dinner at Sao Antonio alongside the pool deck that serves mediterranean inspired dishes and the best pizza in town! Our cocktail bar overlooking the 1st tee is witness to some spectacular sunsets. It is the perfect place to end the day and start the evening, with your favourite cocktail. Pamper yourself at our spa, while the kids are entertained at the Crazy Crew Kidz Club. Play tennis, take a splash in the pool, or try your hand at bowling. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy the challenging 9-hole links golf course which winds its way through the lush peninsula. So, whether you are planning your wedding, arranging a conference, organizing a golf tour or just simply want to get away, BON Hotel Shelley Point is the place to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your BON Hotel Shelley Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Point Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel St. Helena Bay
Shelley Point Hotel, Spa And Country Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BON Hotel Shelley Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.