We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BON Hotel Shelley Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BON Hotel Shelley Point to your Saves list
BON Hotel Shelley Point
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Golden Mile Boulevard | Shelley Point, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa (Formerly Shelley Point Hotel, Spa & Country Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Unfriendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We're regular holiday-makers so weekends away are not a rare treat for us. This time we chose Shelley Point, we stayed in one of the houses on the golf course and not at the hotel as we were a fairly large group (6 adults, 4 kids).

From the moment we arrived we didn't feel welcomed. The security didn't even as much as say WELCOME TO SHELLEY POINT or even smile. It's more like a WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE, WHERE ARE YOU STAYING, PLEASE SIGN HERE NOW BUGGER OFF!

After settling we wanted to find out what's available on the country club and resort. With no obvious walkways or signage we used the golf-cart path via the golfcourse to get to the country club to see the pools.

Again, we didn't really feel welcomed by ANYONE. We were told we can only use the one pool at Cattle Baron as that is the pool available to members and we stayed in a member's house we were allowed to use it.

So day two, we head off to the pools. We were then told we can't use the pool as the area is being renovated. THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF RENOVATION ANYWHERE! Maybe they just didn't want us at the pools as non-hotel guests? Anyway, we stayed on because there were other guests at the pool as well.

So heading back to our holiday home, not very far from the hotel we were then told by people on the golf course that we're not allowed to use the path! THERE WERE NO SIGNS SAYING WE CANT WALK THERE!

My number one issue with Shelley Point is lack of proper communication and lack of signage. How in the world are we as visitors to your establishment supposed to know what to do if you don't indicate to us in a proper, decent and well understood manner?

There's no sign to you cant use the golf course path to walk on nor is there any other sign of a walkway to the club house.

There's also no signs leading you to the beach, it took some exploring to find a nice sandy beach.

And if you don't want people using the pools for whatever reason, please clearly indicate so!

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to some relaxation at the Spa as the cold unfriendly pool area at Cattle Baron wasn't working for us. The Hydro Spa was not really worth R200 for two people. The pool is cold, the shower was cold, the jet shower didn't work so well, the steam room wasn't working. The only thing we enjoyed was the Jacuzzi.

Also, it baffles me that they don't have even one hot pool!

Needless to say Shelley Point won't be seeing us again. There are more than enough friendly and great resorts not too far from them that it's not really worth the drive out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
49
30
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very attractive and the rooms are superb. We stayed in a one bedroom duplex in the A block. Everything about the room was good - size, facilities, view and it was very clean.
This hotel employs local people to work in the hotel and supporting areas. This is a super idea and good for the local area, however this also means that service is not always up to 4star standards. The staff are on the whole are competent and friendly, but in both the restaurants, mistakes were made with our orders.
The room rates include breakfast, which was good, except it was exactly the same over the 3days we were there.
The hotel is situated in an area, with very little to do, unless you are prepared to drive.
There are interesting towns within 30 to 50km.
The hotel has a Spa and we found this to be good and excellent value for money.
Recommend this hotel but only for a maximum of 3 nights, unless you just want to relax around the cold water pool area, or play golf on the 9 hole course, which can be quite challenging, depending on the weather.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Shelley Point is a lovely hotel, with really attentive staff and beautifully decorated, comfortable rooms. I went there on two occasions - in December 2012 and March 2013. The second occasion, the staff welcomed me by name ! While there's not an abundance of things to do, the beach is close by and Patenoster and Langebaan just a short drive away.

Room Tip: The sea facing views have average views. The executive suites are beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent location, varied options of restaurants and walks on the beach.
Good spa but a bit difficult to get reservations as they are very busy
Beautiful inside pool but unusual setting and a bit cold

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, choose A section, near the pool, more space to run around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am sure that anyone who stays at this hotel will have an enjoyable stay. The rooms and grounds are well maintained and generally the staff are very friendly.

We did encounter some problems however, upon arrival they could not find any details of our booking, I apprecdiate that I will never know where the fault for this lie so cannot blame the hotel, I called our booking agent who confirmed that the booking had been made and immediatley phoned the hotel to confirm. Luckily the hotel had a spare room but then there was a problem with the computers and they were unable to alloctate the room to us. We had to wait while this was sorted out. Eventually we went to our room, the first thing that we checked was the safe, which was locked. Called reception who said they would send someone with a key, sure enough a few minutes later someone arrives but he is unable to unlock it. Housekeeping magager arrives who suggests that they take a safe from another room. I suggest that they could move us to another room but no "it won't take long" anyway to cut a long story short the whole process from arrival to geting settled in lour room took about two and a half hours.

I had booked this hotel partly because of the modern rooms and the lovely pool area with sunbeds on a decking area (as shown above in the pictutes and on the website) , however our room was of a classic design possibly not yet renovated although it was in good order and the pool area had an awning completely covering it making it claustriophobic and dark.

.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel and country club at Shelley Point is a great place to stay, with beautiful surroundings and the most stunning beach. However noble and sustainable it may be, the use of under skilled locals for staffing makes for a very poor servicing experience. From having no toilet paper, a broken light bulb and having many orders incorrect the service turned a great stay into a forgettable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

On the Shelley Point garded property we rented a whole house with three bedrooms. It was excellent, and we relaxed there a fortnight in januari 2013, walking on the beaches, picking sea shells, swimming and sunbathing in the area. Also we took trips to nearby towns like Paternoster, Vredenburg and Langebaan.
We didn´t stay at the Hotel, but there were two excellent restaurants with very attentative personnel and sometimes we took lunch or dinner there. It seemed to be an alright place. It is also possible to play golf. Of course there was a good deal wind outdoors and not many people, but we had freedom and felt very much okay, no rain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BON Hotel Shelley Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Shelley Point

Address: 1 Golden Mile Boulevard | Shelley Point, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa (Formerly Shelley Point Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > St. Helena Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BON Hotel Shelley Point 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BON Hotel Shelley Point, one of the finest resorts on the West Coast, is just a 90 minute drive from Cape Town. The hotel is set on a private peninsula, surrounded by beautiful sandy beaches and clear, azure waters. Whether you are staying for work or pleasure, quite simply BON Hotel Shelley Point is wonderful getaway and a place for memorable events. There is plenty to do at the resort - a 6 rink bowling green, 2 tennis courts, running trails, beach walks, sunset picnics and a fully equipped gym will keep you occupied. Our hotel boasts 84 spacious and comfortable rooms, each with the emphasis on privacy and comfort. You are spoilt for choice with Standard Rooms, Luxury Rooms and Garden Suites. Our 3 meeting rooms accommodate up to 90 delegates and provide functional, innovative spaces for one-on-one meetings, launches, large and small groups to breakaways. Full day, overnight and half-day conference packages are available. Enjoy spectacular views across the azure waters and golf course over breakfast at Sao Gabrielle, or grab a table for lunch or dinner at Sao Antonio alongside the pool deck that serves mediterranean inspired dishes and the best pizza in town! Our cocktail bar overlooking the 1st tee is witness to some spectacular sunsets. It is the perfect place to end the day and start the evening, with your favourite cocktail. Pamper yourself at our spa, while the kids are entertained at the Crazy Crew Kidz Club. Play tennis, take a splash in the pool, or try your hand at bowling. Golf enthusiasts can enjoy the challenging 9-hole links golf course which winds its way through the lush peninsula. So, whether you are planning your wedding, arranging a conference, organizing a golf tour or just simply want to get away, BON Hotel Shelley Point is the place to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your BON Hotel Shelley Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelley Point Hotel, Spa & Country Club Hotel St. Helena Bay
Shelley Point Hotel, Spa And Country Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BON Hotel Shelley Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.