We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away form home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin B&B + S/C

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helena Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin B&B + S/C
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   22 Ecklonia Street | Britannia Bay, Stompneus Bay, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Home away form home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Long before we even arrived at Dolphin B&B, we were very happy with the amazing service we received. Lucille sent us many mails on all our queries, about directions, things to do, where to eat, weather and so much more.
She booked a table for us for dinner and left directions for us, just in case.
We enjoyed a lovely sherry on the terrace, taking in the beauty of Britannia Bay on our arrival and our stay was consistent all the way.
Lucille pays attention to little details that makes all the difference.
I will recommend staying at Dolphin B&B +S/C to everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Lucille (my namesake) and Ané ... it was such a pleasure hosting your stay. I live in a special corner of pradise and to share it with lekker people like yourselves is such a privilege so I must say thank you to you two for enjoying the tranquility of the area. You're welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Dolphin B&B + S/C cannot be described in a few words or sentences, you will have to experience this awsome little Bay, Stay and Host Lucille Byrnes yourselve! What I can say is that what you are promised you will get at the Dolphin B&B + S/C! The Unit we stayed in was excellent, very private and so luxurious, and of course, Lucille, well, Lucille is totally a fantastic person, who shares her knowledge of the West Cost, Fauna and Flora, with all who ared interested and there is nothing Lucille does not know! Lucille is a warm, friendly and diverse person and an excellent Host.
The view from the deck is so beautiful and relaxing, seeing the blue Ocean, the Birds and the flora from the Deck. Experiencing the mist rolling in from the Ocean's side any given time of day is absolutely awsome! I can only thank Lucille again for giving us the opportunity to share her little Heaven with us, you cannot imagine the Beauty! Go see for yourselves, really, you will not want to leave, just like us! The other great thing about the venue is that it is near Paternoster, Langebaan, Veldrif and of course St Helena Bay, as well as a Big Mall, West Coast Mall in Vredenburg nearby. This is truly the vacation venue of a lifetime. Thanks Lucille see you soon!

Room Tip: No tip needed here both rooms have the most stunning view from bed! Both rooms enter separately to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
When guests like Lana and Heidi come to stay and fall in love with the West Coast I can but espond to their enthusiasm by "selling" our area wholeheartedly.

You were special people who, through your appreciation of my area, reminded me of what a special place I live in.

Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

we were lucky as some years ago after an uncomfortable stay at Paternoster to drive a few miles away and to knock at our sweet Lucille DOLPHIN B and 's
Were so delighted by
the breathtaking view
the cleanliness
the generosity of lucille
her incredible warm welcome furthermore she knows so much about birds, plants
waouhhhhhh a real magical stay
I am sorry we didn't stay our 2 months stay with her
and what to stay about exquisite breakfast
DO ADORE OUR yearly STAY and hope to come back next overseas wintertime as the previous years

Room Tip: the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Pierre and Mireille are very special guests who grace me with their visit annually (2013 being their third time) and each time I learn a little bit more as I am able to tap into their travel experiences (I'll get to Mynmar yet!). So, I ask you, whose the lucky one?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lucille has welcomed us warmly and explained everything to us ... The two rooms are comfortable and the sun terrace offers a breathtaking view of the beautiful bay. If you're lucky, you can watch the dolphins at breakfast.
Lucille has a great knowledge of the flora and fauna and also explains liked something about it.
All in all, a nice place where you can relax.
Always happy :-)

Room Tip: The main suite is larger than the second room and better equipped. The other room is also perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Perhaps not so much snow in Germany now, Katja, and you and Carolin and Jens are starting to warm up a little. Here in South Africa it is hot, but coming to the end of our summer with the cold nights ahead. It's time for me to visit Europe and experience all it has to offer.

Many thanks for your review and I too hope our paths will cross again one day, but remember: I am always just an email away if you want to ask questions.

Best wishes,
Lucille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was comfortable and everything was thought of (we were late arrivals) -
Stunning location - the weather was wonderful - cool at night, beautiful blue seas and skies by day
Hospitable and knowledgeable host - Lucille really pulls out all the stops - we did not expect to be so well looked after. What a lovely surprise.
Attention to detail and great effort was made to keep the guests happy - you need to know? Lucille either knows or will find out. This was a lovely Christmas, so relaxing and peaceful

Room Tip: Treat your host as well as you (as guest) would like to be treated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It's so good to know that a family enjoyed their stay at Dolphin B&B+S/C.

You're no doubt saving for your next festive season holiday which I hope will be spent back on the West Coast again. Remember: I'd love ot help you plan for your journey so just ask!

Thanks for supporting me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We contacted Lucille on short notice when we arrived in Britannia Bay. She made a room available to us and continued to treat us like royalty. The room is excellently equipped and clean. Access to the beach is easy and makes the stay all the more enjoyable.

Lucille's breakfast is something to behold!

The only shortcoming is that there is no DSTV to keep up with sporting events for those so inclined.

We will most definitely use this B&B again when we are in the area and we can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Glad I was able to help at short notice and thanks for the support.

Point taken about not having DSVT which fact is advertised on both my website and booking agent. By not subscribing to this expensive facility I am able to pass the saving back to the guest by keeping the rate down.

I hope the comprehensive DVD collection makes up for it in some small way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the warm welcome on our arrival to the good wishes on our departure we thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days self catering at Dolphin. Lucille was never intrusive but always available and eager to meet any need we may have had, and was always willing to share her vast knowledge of the area and its flora and fauna. her local knowledge enabled us first-timers to the West Coast to have a very enriching (and educational) holiday experience. One of the few places we have stayed at where the photos and description on the website were very close to reality (in fact reality was better).The view of the bay from the rooms and the deck was spectacular and the comfort and peacefulness of the accommodation just what we were looking for. We thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of being able to walk directly from the house onto a path that lined the bay and gave direct access to two beaches where one could walk for miles. Brittania Bay is not a holiday resort with all the noise, crowds and congestion that goes with a resort, but is quiet, homely and relaxing. Lucille's overwhelming desire to ensure that our stay was comfortable and relaxing, and her little treats left in the kitchen while we were out were amazing and unexpected. Her hospitality together with the comfortable accommodation and wonderful location made our stay an extremely memorable one. We were sorry to leave and we hope to be able to come back again in the future. We cannot recommend Dolphin B&B and self catering highly enough.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms have views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucillebyrnes, Owner at Dolphin B&B + S/C, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
What lovely way to begin the New Year reading your review and so very many thanks.

All the very best for 2013.

Lucille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin B&B + S/C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin B&B + S/C

Address: 22 Ecklonia Street | Britannia Bay, Stompneus Bay, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > St. Helena Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin B&B + S/C 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, affordable three-star accommodation on the water’s edge. Well-situated for day visits to local attractions, the area is a birdwatcher’s paradise and a botanist’s dream, with free spring flower displays every year. Stroll the white sands; watch dolphins and whales in the bay and at the end of a perfect day, raise your glass to a spectacular sunset and the promise of yet another breathtaking sunrise. Dolphin B&B+ S/C where you lie in bed and see the sea! But beware ... a visit can become habit-forming! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin B&B + S/C, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dolphin B&B + S/C to your Saves list