We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fischer's at Baslow Hall

Fischer's at Baslow Hall
Calver Road, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RR, England
(01246) 583259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not only the most delicious meal we have ever had but also the most wonderful experience.
We were made to feel very special by the everyone and the unhurried pace made it a totally relaxed and enjoyable affair. We were seated in a beautiful room before moving to the dining area where we were given time to choose our drinks and menu whilst nibbling on wasabi nuts.
As well as receiving the 3 courses we ordered we were treated to an additional couple of surprises from the chef to try both delicious and new experiences for us.
I chose a sublime Crab & Bloody Mary Cannelloni to start and a wonderful fish dish as a main but the star of the day was the dessert or should I say desserts as we decided to share the selection of Fisher's desserts. Four different desserts all so beautifully presented (as was all the food) toasted marshmallow was probably my favourite off the plate.
We are in the Peaks again in September and I will already be looking to book for a Friday lunch on our last day as it truly finished off our holiday last year in style.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    70
    25
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous, as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Now let's get things into perspective, this is up there with the best of Michelin starred restaurants!

Yes, the service is traditional, but shouldn't that be expected??

I for one, having visited,the fat duck, le Louis IV, Gordon ramsey, and Marco Pierre white, many times, can tell you that's what I expect!

To denegrate a restaurant for its attention to detail and polite quiet service by saying it is to formal is a joke in itself,clearly, these people don't get out much!!

To be honest, you cannot fault this place, great inobtrusive service,fabulous food,don't miss it.

Really relaxing, proper formal occasion, a real shame there aren't more places like this one!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a special night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just come back from a nights stay. A wonderful experiance. We went on THE TASTE OF BRITIAN menu with wine where the food was excellent but felt that there was too many white wines (some with red meat) The staff were very friendly. I agree with other people that it lacked atmosphere and light music would help.( I hope the owner reads this as it seams a point mentioned by many). Accommodation was excellent even though we had the smallest room (our choice). The grounds of the hotel are excellent and a visit in the summer would be great.
If you are looking for a special night this is the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“magic in the kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is where we go for a reliably wonderful meal in a lovely old house, with the best service I've experienced anywhere. You feel looked after from the moment you arrive - the service is helpful and personal, without being intrusive. The food is superb - I'm not a great fan of painting a pretty picture with food, but at Fischer's they manage to do that, whilst still maintaining the fresh, individual taste of every component. They work some sort of magic in their kitchen, from the Chef's Surprise (last time it was a tiny dish of whiskey and smoked haddock chowder - sublime) to the slate of home-made sweets (don't miss the little mango mallow - a burst of luscious, zingy freshness) served after your meal with coffee by a roaring fire.
Saturday lunch is very reasonably priced. Evenings and Sundays are more expensive, with a wider choice - marvellous value for a special occasion.
We'll be there again this Saturday with friends, celebrating two of our birthdays. I want to celebrate the restaurant too. Fischer's at Baslow Hall - Long may you reign :o)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food but lacking atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate here last weekend to celebrate a birthday. The food itself was good - we opted for the veggie tasting menu but did have a couple of fish courses added to it. The food was well presented and tasted good, however some courses did start to feel a little similar.
However the main concern was that the whole place lacked atmosphere. There was no music or anything so people tended to have to whisper to each other, not wanting others to here their conversations. I feel that they could have had some really quiet music on in the background to add a little more ambience. When having coffee in the small lounge due to the lack of no background noise we could hear a couple have a huge domestic! No pleasant. The decor of the place is very classic and old but we must say the toilets were appalling! A Michelin starred restaurant that lets itself down on the things that add to the experience.
It is worthwhile going once but we will not be going again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fischer's at Baslow Hall also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Fischer's at Baslow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fischer's at Baslow Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.