We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restfully five days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cavendish Hotel to your Saves list
Cavendish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baslow
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely restfully five days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had an Inn Room 9 with lovely views over the Chatsworth park, and we could watch the riders exercise the horses during the horse trials. The room had a four poster bed and two large settees with a good bathroom and fresh milk in the fridge for tea. There was an excellent buffet breakfast, with plenty of fresh fruit, pastries, cheese and interesting cooked meats. Marvellous choice of cooked breakfasts if desired when having the country breakfast. Enjoyed eating in both resturants which are different in style and menu. Very pleasant service from all the staff and prompt service in the resturant for breakfast. Good choice of daily papers to read in the lounge.

Room Tip: Choose an Inn room if longer than one night, well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    96
    45
    31
    23
See reviews for
35
238
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Going to the Cavendish for morning coffee/tea is a real treat. We go about once a month usually sit in the conservatory area, but on cold days we go in the lounge area and enjoy the open fire. Scones are superb, the coffee and tea come in pots meaning there is plenty!
Views from the conservatory are over the Chatsworth estate, can't be many better places to watch the world go by!
So much nicer than the coffee chains of Costa or Starbucks. Staff are delightful as well. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our two-night stay at this lovely property. As others have noted, it's on the Chatsworth property--in fact, only a mile stroll across the grounds will bring you to the house. All rooms face the grounds (which not only provides a wonderful view, but shields them from the road noise at the front). Reception was gracious and efficient. We loved our room, #5; it was very pretty and nicely furnished with two large windows, two large chairs, a good-sized table, desk, small bookshelf, small but well-organized closet area with teamaking equipment, and very nice bathroom. The one problem with the room was the bed: The mattress is well past its prime and needs immediate replacement. We could feel some of the springs. We still slept very well, though, probably owing to the long walks and excellent drinks in the bar.

Public rooms are nicely decorated. We had dinner in each restaurant and enjoyed them both. One caveat: If you want dessert in the Garden Room (and you really should), skip either the starter or the main course to save room.

We opted for the Cavendish (uncooked) breakfast and enjoyed a wide variety of cereals, breads, fruit, yogurt, cheese, etc. Coffee was very good. We very much hope to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty, but only a few offer two windows. Ask for one of those if you like lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Twelve of us stayed with you last weekend, it was my turn to choose the venue this year and everyone was happy with my choice. Our rooms were charming and the staff were
extremely helpful and most welcoming, my only slight disappointment was the lack of choice
on the menu for the evening meal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Chatsworth Estate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Booked this trip as it was advertised for £269.00 per couple, per room including Cavendish cream tea, glass house champagne, dinner and breakfast. Thought that is a good offer so booked two rooms. Hotel in lovely setting, good parking a homely welcome on arrival. Rooms were not ready at 1.30pm so sat in bar and had two rounds of drinks, two half glasses of lager, one large red wine and one pint of beer. No money taken just put on room tab. Cream tea was just a scone, glass of champers and pot of coffee, no sandwiches. We had second pot of coffee. Evening meal was a bit arty farty, starters would not fill a tooth. I had the fish which was lovely, two guests had beef and one had lamb. Asked for it to be cooked through, came as the chef would have wanted you to have it, cooked on the outside bit pink inside. I would have sent it back to the kitchen if it was my meal but our friends did not want to make a fuss. Desert o.k. One £19 bottle wine with meal and two half glasses coke. Dining room really lovely and nice atmosphere. Breakfast the next morning was superb. Only gripe was when I came to settle the bill obviously expecting to pay for the drinks, the bill came to £671.95 ouch which include a £31.70 service charge for the two rooms for serving us at the bar, a bottle of wine at dinner and a pot of coffee. The hotel has a lovely comfortable feel, the rooms are superb as they had just been refurbished but this turned out to be an expensive trip. Staff are really nice. Think this would be the sort of offer you would try once but not have again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am an Englishman and Derbyshire is my home County so I might be slightly biased when talking about the far ranging delights you can see when visiting the area. Chatsworth, the house and surrounding countryside, is superb, it is harder to find any where else more attractive.
Within this setting is the Cavendish, a place I try to return to every time I am back in England as it is a really delightful country hotel in the grand style.
I have not submitted a review before but this visit was worthy of acknowledgement of the warm welcome from the staff, overall hospitality and very high standard of food and service.
I have noted the gripes of other reviews but can only perceive these as nit picking as several stays to date have not given rise to any complaint and having stayed in many hotels of similar ilk in the UK and to a lesser degree overseas, the Cavendish comes out as one of my best.
Room was very comfortable with plenty of amenities and with outstanding views from the window; dinner was excellent and the breakfast truly splendid...took both in the formal dining room which is a really nice setting. Alternative is the conservatory where I have dined before and again is a really pleasant setting.
Ambience complimented by some real open fires (others are passable imitations) art, antiques and bric a brac.
Baslow village is a short walk and other really fine Derbyshire villages and historical buildings (Chatsworth etc), geographical attractions, Mam Tor, Kinder Scout etc are all nearby and the Cavendish is a great place to go exploring from.
Thanks again for a great stay, hopefully will see you again next trip back to the UK....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visited the Cavendish (my first visit) for a celebratory afternoon tea, for my friend's birthday.
There were 12 in our party, yet we were accommodated for without any fuss.

Before being seated in the conservatory (the view over the Peak District is beautiful), we sat in the bar and enjoyed a glass or two of Prosecco.

Afternoon tea consisted of delicate finger sandwiches, with a selection of fillings, tea, coffee, champagne and cakes and scones - the latter of which were the most light and tasty I have ever eaten.

Service was excellent and really helped to make the occasion special.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Review based on Food and Service only - did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.