We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at the Cavendish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cavendish Hotel to your Saves list
Cavendish Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baslow
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at the Cavendish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our third visit to the Cavendish and once again we had a wonderful time. We stayed one night in an inn room (excellent) and one night in the Redesdale suite (outstanding!) The service was great, as always, particularly from the restaurant manager Tim and a very welcoming porter who also did sterling work clearing snow. The food was delicious, and as a vegetarian I really appreciated the amount of choice I had. I really can't recommend this place highly enough - it's elegant enough to feel like a special treat, yet cosy and comfy enough to feel really relaxing at the same time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    96
    45
    31
    23
See reviews for
35
238
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here early in the New Year taking advantage of an off season deal and enjoyed every minute of the comfort, service, courtesy of staff and quality meals on offer.The hotel enjoys lovely views over the Chatsworth Estate towards Chatsworth House and is ideally positioned to visit all areas of the Peak District. For those not too familiar with the region, and who wish to tour the area by car, I strongly recommend use of the driving itinerary provided by reception which takes in many beautiful locations which would otherwise be missed if sticking to the main routes. Our room was comfortable, warm and spacious with large 4 poster bed and separate loung area with 2 settees and flat screen tv offering freeview channels but not Sky.The bathroom was sizeable and spotless, albeit a little dated, and the over bath shower could usefully be updated but that's only a minor point.
We dined in both the Garden Room and the more elegant Gallery Restaurant, both were first rate and the breakfasts were to die for!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in late December. Very inviting old inn with additions. Bedroom attractively furnished with new bathroom, both a little on the small size but comfortable. Ours had superb views on two sides over the Chatsworth Estate. Lounge and bar welcoming and cosy. Restaurant very elegant and excellent quality dinner on two nights. Breakfasts also very good. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful.

In the heart of the Peak District, with many attractions within a short drive.

Room Tip: There are "Inn" Rooms that are larger than the "Standard" rooms, in the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Cavendish twice and plan to stay again in 2013. Situated on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate, the Cavendish is well placed for visiting Chatsworth House and Gardens, and for touring Derbyshire in general. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable, and on both occasions the restaurant and bar service has been excellent. The staff have made it their priority to ensure we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Inn rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We decided we needed a short break prior to returning to work after the Xmas break. Via a certain last minute booking site we found the Cavendish. After visiting their website we decided to book. On arrival we weren't disappointed and were checked in and taken to our room by very friendly well presented staff.
For once the room was exactly as the photos and also as described on the site. The view from the window was stunning, with the top of Chatsworth House just visible through the trees.
The room itself was a good size with a seating area and a huge bed. The bathroom/WC was very small and not very well presented, although clean and functional.
We had a light lunch in the garden room which also has a great view across the estate.
The Restaraunt manager was very friendly and knowledgeable who clearly takes great pride in his work there.
The sitting room has comfy armchairs/sofas with open fires and is very cosy indeed.
In the evening we had a meal in the dining room. This was a very intimate room that is stylishly decorated. Again both the food and service was first class.
The next day after a brief chat with reception for directions saw us walking the estate and up to Chatsworth House itself. Although the house itself is closed this time of year the grounds are open and worth a visit.
Later on we visited Bakewell which is a very nice town with little courtyards housing independent shops, cafes etc.
Whilst in the Peaks we also drove through numerous beautiful villages and walked the Monsal trail which is an 8 mile stretch of a closed railway line that has stunning views and scenery from the viaduct & Monsal Head.
All in all a very nice stay in a good hotel with friendly staff in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting Chatsworth. The hotel is beautiful, the room we had was so comfortable with some nice touches. After reading some other reviews we booked room only and had breakfast at the restaurant at the Chatsworth village store - excellent value for money. We ate at the Italian across the road but loved coming back for a nightcap in the relaxing bar. Staff all attentive and very helpful. The views across the Chatsworth estate are stunning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went some months ago to have an afternoon tea and to have a look around the rooms to book for our honeymoon. The Receptionist at the time was extremely accommodating as was the gentleman who showed us around the room. We duly booked the room for our wedding night 12.12.12. Our afernoon tea was exceptional and to date is still the best afternoon tea around. We arrived on 12 December, as ever the Receptionist was very friendly and congratulated us. Richard took us to our room and then helped my husband with our extra luggage and then found me a vase as I had been given some flowers. That evening we ate in the Garden Room. Victoria the Receptionist asked us if we would like some complimentary champagne and Tim looked after us on the food side. It was a lovely touch that Eric Marsh the Manager introduced himself and congratulated us. Checking that we were being attended to we assured him his staff were catering for our every need. The following evening we ate in the Gallery Restaurant. It is so nice to be able to dress for dinner which just adds to the ambience of the lovely room. We would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who made our stay so special - in particular Tim, Richard and especially Victoria on reception. A special thank you to the chamber maid that put the huggie bear on our bed reading the paper - that made us laugh so much - my husband was convinced that I had set it up, which I had not! Exceptional food, exceptional service. We'll be back! David & Yzanne Fletcher

Room Tip: Inn Room - all rooms face the countryside which is just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.