We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Lupo

Il Lupo
Eaton Hill, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SB, England
+44 1246 583164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Grill, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our first time at this restaurant ,we have driven pased many times over the years,so it is well established. On entering there is a small bar area to the right were drinks orders are taken,only one type of Gin ( Gordon's) no thank's, ordered a beer and a small wine. Taken to the table,neatly laid out ,clean glass wear and cutlery ,good start. There are two open fires in the Restaurant ,which is quite unusual,. Food orders quickly taken , Minestrone soup,prawn salad all very fresh ,the soup was very filling,and hot,mains Lasagne and penne pasta both cooked well we had a side order of Italian potatoes which we thought were under done. Although the service was good ,we did think the place lacked in atmosphere

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    64
    17
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DONT BELIEVE THE HATERS!!! - ITS FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited this restaurant on the same night as the terrible review given for the same night...
Did these people visit the same restaurant as us? our food was fantastic. The Food is quite obviously completely fresh!..The vegetables are fresh and cooked perfectly and not just boring steammed like most places. Each one had its own unique cooking and flavour.obviously a lot of effort has been put in to preparing them. you can even see they are all hand chopped!!
The quality of my steak was fantastic and the starters were presented beautifully.again obviuous hand prepared fresh food. dont believe the haters people. this restaurant is wonderful. the decor is homely with roaring open fires and tasteful tiffany lighting. i could have sat in it all night.
Being curious as to what all the other 'terrible reviews' said i noticed that firstly the majority of them are 1 review wonders and secondly very vague..almost as if the people behind them are intentionally trying to damage the reputation of this lovely restaurant. reading the other reviews for other restaurants in the area i noticed also that even tho people who have had experiences seem to hold back on given 1 out of 5's but for this restaurant seem to be trigger hapopy!..could it be that this restauarnt is puitting a few noses out of joint!!!...i agree with all the other reviewers that the bad reviews are very suspicious and it pleases me that people jump to defend this lovely quaint place!..keep it up il lupo..i for one will always return..and even if i did have a bad meal..i wouldnt want to damage your reputationj on the internet..id have a quiet word in you ear!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not waste your money!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely place, pleasant staff! TERRIBLE FOOD!!!!! Tasteless frozen tasting meals!!!! Well over priced!!!! We love Italian meals but there is no way we would return here, very disappointed!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luigi d, Owner at Il Lupo, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you did not like your meal. I make sure that diners are asked at least twice to ensure everything is to their satisfaction, if it isn't, then action is taken. What i cannot understand is that if your food was so bad as you describe, why not say something at the time rather than pay what you say is an expensive meal and leave?? why waste your money?? I also ask diners when they come to pay their bill if everything was to their satisfaction, so on 3 occasions, you decided to say nothing and waste your money! Incredible!! I can assure you that NONE of our meals are frozen!!They are freshly cooked on the premises by my son and wife, and this is self evident and our "true" customers are aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We popped in here on a Thursday lunch time and they found us a table no problem at all, all they did advise us that it would be better to book during the Summer.
Although they got the starter order slightly wrong, we can't really mark them down as my wife really enjoyed the "wrong" starter. The portions were generous, we had the set lunch, which gives a good choice, apart from the dessert. The food was well presented and delicious, the veg was cooked to perfection. I had the lasagne, it was to die for!
Nice cosy atmosphere,friendly staff, will be visiting again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, wine, very welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here on many occasions now, always had the grilled lamb, as I didnt want to try anything else, but tried the steak on Valentine's night.. It was cooked to perfection. Didnt have the sauce, as I like my steak seasoned instead. It was very moist and full of flavour.. Opted also for expensive wine called amerone, very expensive. But worth trying, we love it every now and then. Overall the three course meal was fantastic. And the service makes it very welcoming, job well done. Thankyou.... For these people who have visited and have put negative reports on. All I can say is that they must be used to take away meals.. They dont know what there talking about.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Lupo also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Il Lupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Lupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.