We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Naked Chip

The Naked Chip
45 Shearman St, Waimate, New Zealand
+64 3-689 8976
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 restaurants in Waimate
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Description: We have just won the REGIONAL BEST CHIP Award from Sth Canterbury to the Bluff and are one of the top 5 in New Zealand as judged by The CHIP GROUP... We cook fresh to order!! Our products are cooked in oil. Chips are fresh. Try a seafood basket or a freshly baked Artisan pizza in our cozy bar by the fire. We provide take away and or eat in Home delivery also available..
Waimate, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Live locally and have had many a takeaway from Rene and Beverley over the past months. We have never had a bad one yet and usually have Blue Cod and half a scoop of chups... Have also tried the Meat Lovers and Hawaii Pizzas. If you are in no rush I suggest you have a Beer in the adjoining Bar while your meal is freshly cooked .... now that is what I call civilised!! Helpful and really friendly Staff and don't deserve any 'negatives' ... if you have a problem then talk to them and they will fix it!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k1w1Spirit, Owner at The Naked Chip, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Johnthewine for taking the time to give a review . It is much appreciated when regular local customers and visitors take the time to give us their thoughts. It keeps the TEAM at THE NAKED CHIP on their toes, working hard every day to consistently produce quality products and customer service. As you stated we DO want to hear complaints directly so we can do all we can to fix the problem should there be one..

Once again many thanks from the TEAM at THE NAKED CHIP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    4
    1
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The 3 fish were beautiful and the hot dog was the tops. we ate all of the chips.
Best fish shop meal for many years. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k1w1Spirit, Owner at The Naked Chip, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you are able to visit us again soon. We work hard every day to give high quality food and customer service.

Many thank for taking the time to give us your review.
From the Team at THE NAKED CHIP/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have considered the Naked Chip our one and only takeaway shop since moving to Waimate -until today that is.

Having stood in the shop for a good 5 minutes and being totally ignored we left and went to another local takeaway outlet.

It would have been a better experience had we at least been acknowledged and as I've worked in the retail industry for 16 years, I was utterly disgusted that phone calls were more important than people already waiting in-store!! It takes nothing to acknowledge someone and if this had happened we would've waited.

We may not ever go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k1w1Spirit, Owner at The Naked Chip, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.. if you feel disappointed we apologise. . We are aware you came in on a VERY busy Friday evening which is one of our busiest nights of the week, and yes it can be hectic..We would be more than happy to talk with you regarding your review and appreciate your suggestions on bettering our service on those nights.. We endeavour to give consistent quality customer service every day . Thanking you from ALL at THE NAKED CHIP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Disappointing service. I asked if there was a whole piece of fish in the blue cod burger and the lady told me, yes there was. When I discovered they had split HALF a fillet in half to fit the burger I felt ripped off, especially when I had asked the question and been lied to. Chips were bland, despite our request for chicken salt and the batter on the fish was soggy. Have had much better (for cheaper) in Christchurch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k1w1Spirit, Owner at The Naked Chip, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I am disappointed with review due to there is never a Whole piece of blue Cod in any Cod Burger they are always filleted according to the industry standards. I showed customer size of fillet with is within an acceptable industry range. We do not cut in half a half piece of Cod Fillet for a burger.

After cooking the "piece of Cod" we cut the piece in half again to fit into Burger. Both pieces are added into the Burger.

We apologise if the customer felt lied to .. as we are known to have one of the best and well priced Cod Burgers and have many repeat customers. We feel the price of $8.90 for a Blue Cod burger is not expensive. When served and given the burger the batter was not soggy . It would depend on how much time after buying it that it was eaten as this can cause batter to be less crunchy.

The Chips had Chicken salt added as requested. We work within industry & Health Standards regarding the addition of salt and do not put to much salt on our products unless asked for.

We would be happy to speak with the customer direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very nice Christmas Eve dinner. And ready 15 minutes after making the phone call. Nice base, plenty of topping.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Naked Chip also viewed

Waimate, Canterbury Region
Waimate, Canterbury Region
 
Waimate, Canterbury Region
Waimate, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Naked Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Naked Chip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.