We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Amazing'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Awatea Homestay

Awatea Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Awatea Homestay
217 Mill Road, RD 8, Waimate 7978, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“'Amazing'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our weekend at Awatea was grounding and enriching, full of enjoyable moments. A weekend away from the weekday stimulus of technology and a time to connect sharing thoughts and ideas.
Our room was perfect in every way. The outdoor bath was a memorable highlight, amazing relaxation....will have to return to do this again!
Linda pointed us to Artrio, where our coffee needs were sated, this coffee house is great. We perused the antique and craft shops where I had a wee find.
Breakfast with our hosts was delicious with just fabulous conversation full of connections and sharing of ideas. Amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently enjoyed a wonderful afternoon of music in the garden at Awatea. Erin sang to an attentive and appreciative audience. We have stayed with Rob and Linda and have been treated to the luxury of a wonderful reflexology session, a thoroughly enjoyable home-cooked gourmet meal and a relaxing outdoor bath. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: No preference on rooms - all are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My Husband and I were in Waimate and we booked this weekend away so that we could spend time together and relax. Well we were not disappointed. This was the most amazing weekend we have had in a long time. We were able to relax and enjoy the scenery, food and hospitality. The outdoor bath was a highlight.
I was able to have a reflexology experience..... This I absolutely loved and would highly recommend.
Linda and Rob are just the most delicious hosts...... Nothing is a problem, we felt completely at home. If you need a weekend away then this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Awatea Homestay recently and loved it! The peace and tranquility there is fantastic after a long drive. The outdoor baths are so unique and the house itself feels so homely. Food was fantastic as well.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was down in Waimate overnight for a business meeting and had chosen this homestay for its location and atmosphere. I wasn’t disappointed! Linda personally greeted me and showed me about. I had the outside room which was very comfortable and suited me in being able to come and go from the place without disturbing anybody else. Dinner was fresh fish caught that day by Rob and a delightful light desert. The evening was closed out relaxing and chatting with Rob. A lovely home cooked breakfast was shared with Linda and Rob and a couple who were staying for a friend’s wedding.
Linda and Rob were terrific and very easy to talk with. They made me feel just like a member of the family. If or when I get to travel south, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. A delightful experience. Thank you Linda and Rob.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our group of family and friends stayed the weekend for a birthday in Sep 2012. Although a large group, because of the layout of the house and grounds, there was plenty of room for all. The views, space and tranquil setting meant we could all relax and just have fun. The food was sensational and we felt completely looked after by Linda and Rob. Loved, loved, loved the reflexology sessions - highly recommended. We didn't use the outdoor baths this time but definitely will when we stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed with Rob and Linda in January/February 2012 and what a wonderful experience. It was more than just a holiday, it was something I will never forget. The sense of peace and calmness stayed with me long after the holiday was over and I cannot recommend Awatea highly enough.
It is a perfect place to de-stress and unwind and you could not find a more wonderful location for people on their honeymoon or wanting to spend time together in a blissful location.
The accommodation, food, reception and atmosphere was all wonderful and I didn’t want to come home. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.
Jacqueline Harrison Morpeth, Hunter Valley, NSW Australia.

Room Tip: Speak to Rob and Linda, they will go out of their way to meet your needs and make your stay comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Awatea Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Homestay

Address: 217 Mill Road, RD 8, Waimate 7978, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waimate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Waimate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Rob Schofield established their Bed and Breakfast/Retreat 'Awatea" in 2008.Guests experience delicious country style breakfasts and dinner (by arrangement) where the food is home grown and locally sourced. Guests can experience aromatherapy baths under the stars, an infra red sauna, reflexology or the pamper package. For the more adventurous guests guided fishing and surfing experiences are available. Pampering both body and soul is their motto, it’s all about treating yourself.Subtly sophisticated, the three guest suites are complimented with luxuries. The ensuite and private bathrooms have underfloor heating, ecologically friendly and personalised toiletries and the finest towels and bathrobes. Guests are pampered in an environment of tranquillity and privacy and rooms with breathtaking views.If you are seeking relaxation in luxurious surroundings, then look no further. Just minutes from Waimate township, you will find Awatea. This spacious and homely two storied boutique B&B offers spectacular views of the hills and sea, leaving you reluctant to leave and eager to return, whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awatea Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Awatea Homestay to your Saves list