We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Pocket Full of Spices

A Pocket Full of Spices
92 Victoria Street, Rangiora 7400, New Zealand
+(64)3 3137575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Rangiora
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Have known Mangal the owner since he opened his previous restaurant - Kwality, in central Christchurch CBD. The food and the level of service was spectacular. Then the Feb 22nd earthquake forced him to close his restaurant. Then he relocated to Hoon Hay, and Mangal was unfortunately involved with insurance issues and delay (like many unfortunate business owners encountered) that he could not renovate his premises because they just never paid out the money he was entitled to.

Finally, after much difficulty, he could sell that Hoon Hay shop and relocated to Rangiora. I am now glad that Mangal is finally enjoying the great feedback and high turnover which his outstanding food deserves after few years of unfortunate incidents.

The curries are absolutely delicious. I am addicted to Chef Mangal's special recipe curry, deicious for both chicken and fish. Rangiora residents are so lucky Mangal relocated there. Would definitely visit this place if I were to travel to Rangiora.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Delicious meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have now been here twice and can not fault the food or service. The food is delicious and very tasty - enjoyed the curries and Naan bread. Great value for money too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome and Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was one of the best Indian meals I have had, second only to Indian Pearl. Service was impeccable and the food was fabulous.

Seriously recommend this to anyone with a taste for a good Indian meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernside, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply devine food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went to try out the new restaurant in Rangiora as a birthday celebration after hearing about how good it was from others in the community, well we weren't disappointed!!!! The service was great, and the food was simply devine, especially the mango chicken and naan bread! We were a group of 7 with 3 children/teens amongst us and all our needs were catered for throughout the evening. Service was excellent and very prompt not a lot of waiting around. Would definately go back again and highly recommend to others to go try it out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food & excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ordered 2 curries, naan & 2 drinks and it was all served neatly and quickly. We had our food within 15 minutes and it was delicious. The staff were extremely polite and efficient. If you want great food for a fair price this is the place to go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Pocket Full of Spices also viewed

 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Been to A Pocket Full of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Pocket Full of Spices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.