We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to End our New Zeland Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Farm Stay B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pete's Farm Stay B&B to your Saves list
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 Mairaki Road, Rangiora 7471, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE sheep shearing demo
Ranked #1 of 4 Rangiora B&B and Inns
Louisa, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Way to End our New Zeland Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Pete and Gaye were so friendly in welcoming our group into their home. It felt like being at home with family yet they gave us our privacey. Great food and plenty of it, enjoyed a fabulous dinner and breakfast. We enjoyed seeing all of the animals on the farm. Very comfortable beds and everything was very neat and tidy. I would highly recommend Pete's Farm on your tour of New Zeland. It's great to get to know the locals and what better way than spending some time with them. New Zeland is a fabulous and beautiful country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find this elegant, beautiful country home for our last night on the road in New Zealand. Pete and Gaye were gracious and welcoming. The food tasty and plentiful. The beds ... yummy! Pete proudly showed us around the farm, introducing us to the sheep and alpaca. Highly recommend Pete's (and Gaye's) Farm for a quiet break from 'the usual'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi
Pete and I are happy you enjoyed yourself here. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we hope you get the time to come back to NZ soon and we can catch up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pete and Gaye are wonderful, gracious hosts and run an outstanding B&B. We stayed in the cottage because they had their grandchildren staying overnight with them. It was wonderful, clean, quiet and just what we needed to help recover from jetlag. Gaye's salmon dinner was excellent and we enjoyed eating with them and Gaye's mother while their darling grandchildren played nearby. Pete's tour of the farm was also excellent as we put on our "gum boots" to tramp around. We bottle fed two sheep and fed bread to others. We got to see the sheep dogs round up the sheep and Pete shear one of the sheep. We also enjoyed the alpacas and just learning about a farm in New Zealand. We would highly recommend this farm stay to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great farm stay, terrific amenities, immaculate room and bathroom. Pete and Gaye made us very welcome, the sheep shearing was the trip highlight for our 12 year old daughter. The delicious salmon meal that Gaye prepared was our trip highlight. Only 30 minutes out of Christchurch. Highly recommend this farm stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It was great to meet you. Glad you enjoyed the experience on the farm and you enjoyed the salmon. Hope to catch up with you soon. thanks Pete and Gaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent one night at Pete's Farm in January 2013 and had a lovely time. Pete and Gaye provided clean and comfortable rooms in their lovely house and made us all feel at home. Gaye and Pete cooked us a lovely dinner the evening we arrived and an equally tasty breakfast the next morning. The farm tour and meeting the sheep and alpaca's was great fun. None of us had ever had the opportunity to try shearing a sheep, and luckily for us, Pete let us all have a go at it. It's a bit harder than expert sheep shearer Pete made it look, but it was still a great experience. I would highly recommend giving Pete's Farm Stay a try!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Pete's Farm in Dec 12 (4 & 10 Dec 12) & we simply love the place especially the kids.

We had the cottage as there are 6 of us & the place was very well equipped & kept very clean. The kids had a great time playing on the trampoline & feeding the baby sheep. The sheep sheering by Pete was also an opener for us. The sheep & alpacas were very adorable. We also witness how the sheep were herded by the 2 sheep dogs.

Thanks Pete & Gaye for your warm hospitality!

Room Tip: For family with kids, it is better to get the cottage for more privacy & also that the kids will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Amazing stay! Pete settled us well in our room and showed us our personal bathroom that's along the hallway. He demonstrated the sheep shearing and explained the business to us. He also engaged us in the demonstration process too. Breakfast was provided, so we helped ourselves with some bread and cereals.

Clean, neat and cosy place! Very friendly hosts too!

Room Tip: There's a cottage for people who prefers more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pete's Farm Stay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pete's Farm Stay B&B

Address: 45 Mairaki Road, Rangiora 7471, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rangiora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rangiora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pete's Farm Stay B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petes Farm Stay is 25 minutes from Christchurch city and airport. Watch Pete shear a sheep up close and round up the sheep with his working sheep dog. Relax after a day sightseeing and enjoy the panoramic views from all the rooms in our new house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Pete's Farm Stay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pete`s Farm Stay Hotel Rangiora
Pete`s Farm Stay Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Farm Stay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.