We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre

Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre
Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
0800 686 800
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Designed to educate and entertain, the centre features a spectacular state-of-the-art 3D movie, New Zealand's first full dome digital Planetarium and Museum which documents the pioneering heart of the region and features the impressive Hillary Gallery. The cafe and bar area offers indoor and outdoor seating and floor to ceiling mountain views.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This centre contains lots of interesting information about the man himself and mountain climbing history in general. It was fascinating to learn about the history of mountaineering and the evolutions in equipment and technologies employed. It was more focused on what he did in the Mount Cook area and there wasn't so much about Mt Everest, but it was great nevertheless. Good views of Mt Cook from the lobby, and a nice statues of Sir Edmund. Store contained lots of professional but overpriced outdoor gear!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good side trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The complex is interesting and informative. We also drove around and explored the other parts of the park. Some of our best photos from this trip are from the afternoon we spent in this area.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was just so interesting to see some of the Hillary memorabilia, photos, the tractor used for the Antartic expedition and other artifacts

The shop was excellent as was the cinema. Watched a twenty minute film about Mt Cook, Edmund Hillary, experiencing a ride in a helicopter, a ski run and all 3D, which I guess was the Mose uncomfortable bit, as I hate the glasses!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The complex here is great, looks newly built, very modern with brilliant views of the mountains around. The movies are well worth the money, especially the Edmund Hillary one, we learnt so much about him and his career, which was really interesting. Unfortunately we didn't get a good view of mount cook, we arrived at 11am and the cloud had already set in. So one word of advice, get there early for a good view of mount cook!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awsome stargazing movie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I loved the Stargazing movie- unfortunately the ouzside tour didn't take place due to weather conditions. A little to short though as I still had so many questions to ask after one hour in the movie theater, but the next group was waiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre to your Saves list