We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Save Saved
You added Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Excellent place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is one of the very few places available at Mt. Cook, it offers very clean rooms, overlooking the breathtaking Mt. cook. We were a group of 9 people. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the lounge offers common kitchen and seating, with amazing views. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to visit again. This place is great value for money!

Room Tip: Opt for rooms overlooking mt.cook on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    21
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
92
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We arrived at mt cook in the night and it was incredible waking up to the view in the morning. The lodge is in a perfect spot in the village close to the visitor centre. Staff were very friendly, amenties were clean and the rooms were spacious and modern. The view from the deck is amazing and it has a large social area to meet other fellow hikers or travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

It's very basic, low-key typical Kiwi-style lodge that I love. We stayed for one night, I wouldn't have minded to stay longer, the lodge is so cozy. It has everything that you need, toiletries are provided. We cooked in the kitchen and had a lovely meal. Dining and Living areas had amazing views of the mountains, it's unbelievable really. I would definitely come back and highly recommend this place.

If you're after luxury, this place isn't for you, the room's pretty basic, bed's comfortable enough. It's a place to sleep and very good value compared to the pricey hotel in the area.

Room Tip: There was four of us in one room, a bit cramped, on hindsight, I would have booked two rooms rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The accommodation was clean and the staff extremely helpful and responsive. The shared lounge area and kitchen were reminiscent of youth hostels in the uk 'on steroids'. Ask for the rooms overlooking mount cook on the fist floor, well worth it. Thanks to the staff it was a lovely stay and We would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking mount cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

we had a top floor room with wonderful views of the mountain.
The rooms are sparse to say the least but the view allows you to forget.
The main dinning hall is noisy with high ceilings
The restaurant has helpful staff and good food.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at this lodge last April, the rooms were great with a nice view of Mt Cook, the kitchen and lounge room were very nice, with amazing views of the park and mountains

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here and it has to be one of the most beautiful places to stay in the world. The view of Aoraki from the common area upstairs was breathtaking. There was also a fully appointed kitchen area for cooking meals. The folks that run the lodge are great to work with and very friendly. If and when I ever get back to this part of the world I will make sure to stay here again. Eat at the restaurant across the road; the atmosphere alone is worth the price of the meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-830pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free high speed wireless broadband is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.