We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, good mix of co.residents” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Mt. Cook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Mt. Cook to your Saves list
YHA Mt. Cook
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Bowen Drive | cnr Bowen & Kitchener, Mt. Cook Village 8770, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Good facilities, good mix of co.residents”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hostel was easy to find nestled down between grassed banks it blends well with it's environment....I like how they work hard to be sympathetic with the environment.....good recycling systems in place...Great care seems to have been taken in all relations to it's location.. It is a relaxed friendly environment with good facilities for all ages to visit.. Our double room on the upper floor was lovely and warm, very comfortable bed and matress, our room had also a single bed in, but no other furniture , accept 6 coat hooks. The shower on the upper floor was not working, and when I mentioned it to the staff was informed it had been out of use for 1 week...Shame they didn't take my suggestion of putting a ''out of order'' notice on the door, there must have been a lot of water wasted as at least 8 people had tried to take a shower there. I think also they were remiss on our arrival of not informing us this showers was out of use..Staff were generally helpful when approached about other issues , all communal area where clean and comfortable to a high standard..The kitchen and dining room are closed for cleaning from 2.30pm to 4pm...which is reasonable. I would highly recommend this YHA but be sure to book well in advance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
35
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Best hostel ever. Perfect for a cosy Winter getaway on the South Island. Well equipped kitchens and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Clean, cozy, central heating, good large kitchen. The walls are thin and the metal bunks creak any time somebody rolls around, but overall the place is quiet and comfy (it was winter though, so nearly everywhere in NZ was quiet...). Biggest nit is the lack of power outlets for charging cameras, laptops, etc. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

First let me say that our room had the most fantastic view in the world! We had a private double with a full view of the mountains, which really made the hostel a big treat for us. Our room was clean, the bed was firm and the location was upstairs with only 2 other rooms so it was pretty quiet (although one night it was noisy in the yard outside).
The communal facilities like the kitchen were just average and one night there was a big student group that totally took over the place so it was difficult to cook. Again, if we had not had that fantastic room, maybe I wouldn't rate it so highly. On the other hand, there's nowhere "affordable" to stay right in Mt. Cook so this is a good value for the money. We wish we could have stayed longer but they were totally booked.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed for four nights in a 4-bed shared room. Definitely not for light-sleepers as the squeaky beds and paper-thin walls will not help with a decent night's sleep. Staff was helpful and willing to check/book transport to next destination. Good location as it's not too far away from visitor centre and trail heads.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Do
- valuable
- great location
Don't
- small toilet

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The rooms are OK, but ours was very dirty. The kitchen and bathrooms were excellent, with the kitchen in particular being very well stocked, including the biggest fridge Ive ever seen! The location is excellent, being a few minutes to the visitor centre and close to the start of the Hooker Valley walk. Considering the standard of the rooms and the paper-thin walls, the hostel was quite expensive, albeit infinitely cheaper than the bizarre Hermitage Hotel up the road.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Mt. Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Mt. Cook

Address: 1 Bowen Drive | cnr Bowen & Kitchener, Mt. Cook Village 8770, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Mt. Cook 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Mt Cook! Our beautiful alpine lodge in the Heart of Aoraki / Mt Cook National Park is the perfect base to explore and experience New Zealand's Southern Alps. Enjoy the natural beauty of the area by taking walks suitable for all ages and abilities. Kayaking, Skiing, Boating, Flying and Stargazing are all activities that can be enjoyed here in Aoraki / Mt Cook, as well as comfortable dining in the village's cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Mt. Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Mt. Cook Hotel Mt. Cook Village
YHA Mt. Cook New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Mt. Cook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.