We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel with amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village to your Saves list
Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent motel with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you are looking to stay in Mount Cook then you cannot go passed the Aoraki Court Motel for a truly excellent place with some of the most amazing views in the area. There was nothing better than waking up, pulling back the curtain and seeing that incredible view. The room was superb and very clean and had everything you could need. The manager Paul was easily one of the nicest and most helpful people that we've encountered at any motel, anywhere. The size of the room was outstanding and it helped to have a car park available for every unit. The free wifi was an added bonus. We would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 25 had an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Nick H, thank you for taking your time to place a great review.
It was nice meeting you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We work hard in keeping the rooms clean and make people feel welcome. Great views from all directions and a lot of great walks when the weather plays its part.
Cheers and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    101
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
385
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights on our way back up to Christchurch. Room 26 was perfect. Look out the window/door and you are just surrounded by the mountains!

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with everything that you need in there, again, what you see and read of this place is what you get. Wifi is available with codes provided upon check in and each code had 200mb allocated. If you run out of codes, reception will provide more codes.

We arrived into Mt Cook early afternoon but was only able to do the short walks to the Blue Lake and Tasman Glacier views as the weather was changing. The following day was worst and was not able to do the Hunter Valley 3 hour return walk. Unfortunately we were not able to see much of Mt Cook!

It is a tiny village with the few restaurants to choose from. We tried the backpackers pub but was only average. Our second night we tried the Old Mountaineers cafe and it was lovely. Much preferred over the backpackers.

There is no supermarket in Mt Cook - so if you are choosing to stay few nights here, buy all that is required (depending on which way you are coming from) from either Twizel or Lake Tekapo. We did make the drive out to Lake Tekapo for the morning/afternoon on our 2nd day in Mt Cook due to bad weather and was only an hour and easy to drive, and stunning views!

Overall, fantastic 2 nights at the Aoraki Court Motel and will be our accommodation again when we return to hopefully see and do more at Mt Cook!

Room Tip: Room 26 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi AVKT. Thank you for your great review.
This not only helps us but other people deciding where to stay and what to do.
We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the great views. The weather does play a large part as this often changes at a drop of a hat.
We hope that you will come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at Aoraki Court Motel in March 2014 while traveling through New Zealand for our 25-year anniversary. Prior to arrival, the staff was very communicative and helpful, answered questions and even made it a point to reserve an end unit with the best view for our anniversary! We arrived and were not disappointed! Fantastic views of the mountains through large, sliding glass doors. Very roomy, clean, comfortable accommodations, full kitchen, contemporary bathroom with a great shower. Good laundry facility. Perfect location for exploring Aoraki/Mt. Cook National Park. Price for value is outstanding. Very pleased and would return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you JKTC for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and all what Mount Cook had to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The accomodation was wonderful with fantastic views. Exceptionally clean and well appointed. The bed was so comfortable and warm with great linens. The bathroom was luxurious and kitchen well appointed. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello HamiltonOlive
Thank you for taking your time to place a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very clean rooms. Beds were fresh and comfortable. Nice shower, and bath. The kitchen had everything, including toaster, fridge, microwave, coffees, teas. Fresh milk for coffee. Excellent location. Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: View of side of Mt Cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you Jamie L for your review.
We have many international guests stay with us and enjoy what we offer at Aoraki Court Motel.
Hope the rest of your New Zealand holiday goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne - AUS
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed here for 4N in July and loved the place. The rooms are large and comfortable with views of Mt Cook. After a 4hr flight and a 4hr drive, it was nice to arrive in a warm comfortable hotel room. The managers were great and assisted with local attractions/recommendations.
Breakfast isn;t included int he price (unless you specifically ask) but can be arranged the night before if you have to get out early. We had breakfast delivered on 3 occasions consisting of cereal and bread with condiments. You can buy your own food and cook in the fully featured kitchenette or eat out.
You get 200MB of free wifi a day which is enough to check emails and do banking if you have to.
If you are in Mount Cook and want to explore and get out in nature, rather than be stuck in a dull resort, consider this place. There is a reason it is rated 5*. If we were to return to Mt Cook, we would stay here again, without question.
Unless you NEED a spa, you are better off just getting a shower room. We paid the extra and used the spa only once.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello btandrmb, thank you for your review.

Thank you for your review. We have many great customers like you who want to see the best New Zealand has to offer. Your words of EXPLORE and GET OUT IN NATURE are very important as many people come here looking for shopping centres and casinos.
We are pleased you enjoyed your 4 nights with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Lovely clean, warm rooms, gorgeous surroundings. Very welcoming reception. Just a piece of paradise. Stayed just one night but would have loved to stay a lot longer. Perfect for families and couples. Best all round accommodation in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you Susan E for your great review.

Many people wish they could longer. We do work hard in keeping the complex clean and warm when its chilly outside.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Motel At Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoraki Court Motel at Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.