We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a huge room for 2 people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
The Hermitage Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“what a huge room for 2 people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed in a motel room which is well away from the main hotel but is opposite one of the areas gentler walks (Governor's Bush). A large very modern room with all the equipment you could need. Essentially it was a 2 bedroom flat. Breakfast was included but only the continental which actually was enough as the hot breakfast looked far too greasy. There were problems: the fridge left a puddle, there were no towels when we arrived and the lights fused at 10pm - but they fixed them so quickly it was unbelievable. A good place to stay, just a shame the weather left something to be desired

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    380
    235
    85
    26
See reviews for
194
624
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Lets face it the only reason to come here is the mountain and its surrounding peaks and glaciers. Well worth it as well. However, The Hermitage does dominate the area in every sense of the word. It’s big and can be seen for miles and they seem to own everything around and about with the exception of the little restaurant near the chalets which they tried to get rid off. Due to this there’s the feeling that they don’t need to try to hard. The hotels facilities are all very clean and professional. Breakfast is served in the main restaurant and is buffet style, it’s also chock full of coach parties. Dinner requires booking again mainly due to the coach parties being in the way. There are great views from the bar and restaurant.

We stayed in a chalet which was adequate for us. It was the closest one to the mountain so we had unimpeded views. The chalet was OK and we felt that is was probably nicer than staying in the main hotel. It did however have a funny smell with the cleaners possibly being a little to quick. In general it was basic, but we weren’t in it much as we went exploring.

It’s a great place to look around the local area with some fantastic walking options and lunch spots. It is a long way of the beaten track but there are some good views to be had on the way in and on the way out.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Hermitage – Mount Cook – We stayed in a chalet for 1 night. Glad it was only one night as we were not keen on the chalet and wished we had booked a room in the hotel. The room which was basic and bland had 3 beds, two single and a very small double. It was the most uncomfortable bed we slept in throughout the holiday. With the room being so full of beds the double was almost against the wall. The room was “A” shaped which meant; whoever slept nearest the wall would probably bump their head if they needed to visit the bathroom during the night. It was the worst and most expensive accommodation of our trip. Having said this, the included continental breakfast at the hotel was okay and we dined at the a la carte restaurant in the evening which was divine. I would recommend this to a friend only because of Mt Cook and its surrounding area which is stunning on a clear day which luckily we had.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunfish Lake, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

You go to The Hermitage for it's view of Mt. Cook. Warning: you may be disappointed, as the snow-capped mountain, which is truly nearby and quite beautiful, is often shrouded in fog. We were there for only one day. When we arrived it was visible in all its glory. The next day---not a chance. The heavy rain precluded doing anything also. Note also that the hotel is an hour off the main road. The rooms are what one might see in an ordinary American motel. Most rooms appear to have a good view of teh mountain. All in all, nothing bad, but nothing outstanding. Problems include the showerhead leaking, the sink draining slowly, and most channels not working on the tele. There is internet service, but it's only available in the main lobby and bar for a reasonable fee and it sees rather slow. (There are some coin internet machines available also, but they barely work other than collecting your money.) The restaurant food is OK and the buffet breakfast is plentiful. In short, go there in the hopes your luck holds and you can enjoy the view and for the hikes, but not for the hotel itself.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

We stayed at one of the chalets which had excellent views, however, the chalet that we got was difficult to access, especially at night with poor lights. Probably the only decent hotel around the area and recommended for those wanting to take a break in driving. Good to explore the area including Tasman Glacier. The museum and planetarium were reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

I have travelled the world and this is one of the most stunning locations I have ever stayed in. Our room was a bit dated but adequate and because of the wonderful view of the mountains it didn't matter in the least. We were lucky enough for the clouds to clear on our first evening so it was convenient enough to shoot off in the car and then take a small walk up a rocky outlook to the glacier. This was fantastic but the next day was even better, exciting helicopter ride (with landing in the snow) is highly recommended, glacier lake boat trip in the afternoon also highly recommended. The activities at the hotel are worth a look if you have time. I was a little disappointed by the buffet food although my husband and son were happy with it. I would not recommend the Mountaineers Cafe in the village as we had a really tasteless thrown-together so called organic-based meal there. My husband said it was the worst steak he had ever eaten! Overall fantastic place to spend a couple of nights though and soak up the scenery. I don't think there is much choice of other hotels in the village anyway.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed in the new wing of the hotel in a premium view room for two nights in early January. We were on a motorhome trip so it was time for real showers and it was a great base for exploring Aoraki/Mt Cook National Park (we did some great walks and a helicopter scenic tour while there). The room was your basic hotel room, I guess slightly larger with two queen beds and a small sofa/coffee table setup. Quite sufficient for our needs but the rooms are nothing to rave about - clean, standard, hotel rooms. I was surprised when I was told the hotel didn't have bathrobes as I'm used to this being pretty standard. Also they don't do room service, but after having a very good meal in the a la carte restaurant on the first night, they kindly cooked meals for us in this restaurant kitchen the second night and I picked them up to take them back to our room. A word on the restaurant - the food is really excellent (french style with top NZ ingredients) but the service is pretty average. Not awful, not rude - just not matching the very good food and elegant surroundings (with obligatory views of the mountain).
HOWEVER, having said that the rooms are pretty standard, when you have your curtains open and you're looking across to the magnificent Aoraki-Mt Cook, drinking in the postcard view through your big picture. The hotel has a good buzz about it with the Edmund Hillary Centre, people coming and going from walks, the mountain being ever-present, people taking photos of the mountain everywhere you go, etc. The hotel also has some great history with being one of, or the oldest, hotels in New Zealand. The drive in is also stunning along Lake Pukaki.

  • Liked — Views of Aoraki/Mt Cook and also being at the buzzing base for activities in this exciting area.
  • Disliked — Lacking some basics like room service and bathrobes.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.