We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
The Hermitage Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice surrounding areas. Did walk around the hotel compound. The morning breeze was so refreshing with excellent view. Just a night stay so insufficient time to try on the outdoor activities. However, did explore Tasman Valley nearby. It's a must go recommendation!! You could see icebergs from the hilltop.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    380
    232
    85
    26
See reviews for
193
622
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is not a choice it is a lack of options...They know it!

Our most expensive accommodation on an 18 day trip around the south island and the least satisfactory. We arrived for 2 night stay at 4.30pm and our room was not ready when we were advised check-in from 2pm. Told to return an hour later with no apology or offer of help with our luggage. We returned an 1h 15min later and guess what! Room is still not ready, not ready at 5.45pm when a 2pm check-in has been paid for.

We don't like to kick up a fuss but were pretty p*$$ed at the customer service (lack of) experienced and asked how they were going to make it up to us. It was like pulling teeth! They reluctantly offered us an upgrade from Continental Breakfast Buffet to Cooked Breakfast Buffet. WTF! We asked for Wireless internet access during our stay and an extra 1 hour later check out time and were given these. However still left dissatisfied as it was given reluctantly, and in relation to internet it should be included in the price (even if it is capped to say 100MB a day or something).

We still had to lug our baggage back from the car up to the room, not a problem for me physically, but if they say the service is provided then it should at the least be offered.

The hallways are tired looking but the rooms themselves are ok, clean, etc. but no AC, no ceiling fan. Which together makes for uncomfortable sleeping during the 35C days that we experienced. Also the hotel is very noisy owing to thin walls and loud closing doors without brushes fitting to dampen noise from the corridor. Again not a problem to me but for the price tag another simple omission.

We refused to give the Hermitage another chance to blot the holiday experience and ate at the Old Mountaineers cafe. Don't bother asking the Hermitage staff where it is as they will pretend they don't know about it and offer you meal vouchers for their restaurants. (Its a 2 min walk from lobby).

So if anyone at the Hermitage is interested enough in Customer service to read this then here is my suggestion to you:

1) It's 2013, smartphones are everywhere, the tourists hate data roaming charges. The vast majority of your competitors including (B&B and motels) provide internet access free of charge to rooms.

2) It you fall short of reasonable customer expectation (eg getting access to a room thats been paid for) then respond generously and quickly to make it up to them e.g. "I am very sorry sir by the room is not ready for you, can I offer you an alternative room or if you prefer could I get you a complimentary drink in the bar while you wait. It should be no more than 1 hour. We can store your luggage here and have it delivered to your room just as soon as it is ready." Then if you agree 1 hour then make darn sure that you stick to the promise.

Its not rocket science.

To my fellow travellers - you will probably still stay here as options are limited in Mt Cook Village. Go in with open eyes, and understand you are paying a huge premium to stay in the Mt Cook Village. If you are planning to walk all the various day hikes and 2-3 hour return tracks then the location i undeniably good. If you only want to see Mt Cook and do one or two short walks then I would favour a stay outside the Park area and commute in. On principle, we would not spend anymore money at the hotel and ate lunch and evening meals at the Old Mountaineers Cafe. Hotels like the Hermitage are run by accountants where decisions are made by how we all choose to spend our cash.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Tschampel, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear FellowTraveller1980,

Thank you for the time you have taken to send us your feedback about your recent stay at the Hermitage Hotel in Aoraki Mount Cook.
I appreciate been made aware of any service discrepancies and having the opportunity to rectify them. I am surprised to hear that your room was not ready for check in until so late in the afternoon as the housekeeping report from the day states that all rooms were cleaned prior to 4.20pm. After that time the team has focused on restocking trolleys and do the preparation for the next day. I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience with us but hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel at some stage.

Best regards,

Alexander Tschampel
Operations Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived at The Hermitage after a 4 1/2 hr shuttle bus trip as the flight was cancelled due to bad weather - we were impressed with the awe inspiring view & position of the hotel we checked in & were given the list of "rules" our room was very clean & the bed lovely & comfortable - but disappointed that the shower is over the bath & we had to request a bathmat from reception.We went onto the deck off our room to admire the mountain view to be confronted with cracked concrete full of weeds & a few spindely trees - no mountain view at all!! We opted for dinner at the Chamois bar & Grill for dinner with a free shuttle bus from the hotel which was a friendly atmosphere & we felt good value. Our breakfast experience in the Alpine Resturant was disappointing the staff we very busy setting up for a large tour group & seemed totally disinterested in anyone else the tea & coffee were cold. All the staff at the Activities centre proved to be helpful, knowledgeable & friendly & we booked trip on the All terraine vehicle to Tasman Glacier with Graham which was a great, also felt the movies pass for 48 hours was a good buy & were very informative & interesting. Our biggest problem was checking out as we were booked to fly Mt Cook/Christchurch but the weather had closed in we knew this could be a problem & asked for assistance however the Japanese receptioist would have to have been the rudist & most unhelpful person that we came across & certainly made us feel like 2nd class citizens in our own country she refused to help & sent us to the activity centre who, while not their job, were extremely helpful & took care of us & dealt with Air NZ in arranging alternative transport back to Christchurch to meet our flight - All in all If you are part of a tour groups then Im sure you will find a staff memebr who can speak your language & assit you on reception but if you are a kiwi such help is a little harder to find

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived in heavy rain, which progressed to gale-force winds that lasted almost all night, so we didn't get to appreciate our surroundings at first. We (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed in a chalet, which we found to be rather small and crowded as we had to stay inside because of the weather. We were shocked at the prices of the restaurant and buffet - for the buffet $60 a head would have meant $240 for one meal on one day for our family. We ended up buying expensive pasta at the shop and eating in our room. On our second night we ate at the Old Mountaineers cafe which was good and more reasonably priced. Because of the weather, we were glad there was a shop and movies so we had something to do. On the morning we checked out, the weather cleared and we were astonished to see what was around us - a spectacular view indeed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 for 4 nights in a Motel Family room and the view of the Mountains from our lounge room was magnificent. We did 3 activitites during our stay:

Big Sky Stargazing evening which was just beautiful it was a little overcast and rather windy but what we did manage to view through the large telescopes with the patience and experience of our guide for the evening was unreal. Great for all ages - although it is a very late night it is well worth the experience.

Glacier Explorers I will admit I was at first a little disappointed by the small size of the Ice Bergs but ...... in saying that it even though they were much smaller than I had expected they were still very impressive and amazing to see. The whole trip was most enjoyable including the walk and our guide Lenus (I apologise if spelt incorrectly) was just lovely and had a lovely sense of humour. A wonderful and an amazing experience was had by all.

Mt Cook Ski Plane & Helicopters :- Heleicopter Science Flight Grand Circle. WoW!!! this was just an absolutely amazing trip and our pilot was brillant. The scenery was just breathtaking, the views were endless and the experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of my 2-week honeymoon in NZ. Being the only hotel in Mt Cook Village (the other forms of accommodation were chalets and backpackers), it has managed to monopolise the market here. When we went, it was peak season so there were busloads of tourists checking in and out during the day, which made the hotel rather congested and noisy in the middle of the day.

Out of all the accommodation I stayed at in my entire NZ trip, this hotel had the slowest, least efficient checking in process for me. I tried to check in early at 1.30pm but they told me to come back at 2pm which was the designated check-in time as the room wasn't ready. At 2pm, I tried to check in again, and they told me my room still wasn't ready. I had to wait another 15 minutes to finally get my keys.

The room itself was only average, with just the basic amenities you'd expect at a hotel. There was really nothing special, despite the enormous price tag we had to pay for the room. When we entered the room, I was surprised to see two double beds instead of one so I called reception to ask why - they told us that we'd been upgraded from a Standard Mt Cook View room to a Premium room because they had out-booked the Standard rooms. I was pleased with this, but thought they should have informed me at the counter earlier to avoid misunderstandings.

The room had an absolutely amazing view of Mt. Cook and the surrounding mountain range, of course, which, as many have mentioned, was the highlight of the stay there. On our first day, the cloud cover meant we couldn't really see Mt. Cook, but on the morning of the second day, the clouds had moved and there it was, in all its majesty. It was an utterly fantastic experience to wake up to a view like this, while still lying on your bed. We needed more than a few moments to just take it all in.

We did not have any meals at the hotel. We opted instead to drive to the (cheaper) Old Mountaineers cafe and the Chamois for lunch and dinner respectively. These had great food at a more reasonable price.

The hotel is directly connected to the Sir Edmund Hilary Alpine Centre which had loads of things to do. We decided not to go for any activities here, but it really is a great place to hang out and do things without having to leave the hotel premises. This would be an extremely convenient way to pass the time if the weather did not permit any outdoor activities, and I think is a really strong selling point of the hotel. We went on the Kea Point Walk which was just outside the hotel. It was a really nice late afternoon stroll, weather permitting.

We had drinks at the Snowline Lounge which opened till late. It had a nice ambience at night, which was very different from what it was during the day with all the noisy tourists. Staff throughout our stay here were polite, nothing outstanding. The hotel itself lacks the charm you would expect from a hotel so rich in history, but unless you are the backpacker-type, there's really not much choice for you in terms of accommodation in Mt. Cook Village besides this.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, since you're paying so much anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasik, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

a superb hotel built among the mountains with an excellent view of mount cook. the drive to the hotel was fantastic. rooms were average but the view was breath taking. The staff at the reception were not at ll friendly and i found them to be very curt especially since in all of new zealand the people were extremely friendly. all in all a very good place to stay and i hope the reception staff is more warm towards the guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.