We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worthless- ripoff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Explorers

Glacier Explorers
Terrace Road | The Hermitage Hotel, Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
+64 3 435 1809
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“worthless- ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

all we got to see up close was a piece of ice berg and to be clear a very small piece!!! but the actual glacier though, we had to keep a distance of about a km perhaps more for whatever reason!!! So now you be the judge! shouldn't it be called just a lake cruise?? why the fancy name??? unbelievably expensive and all you get is an hour cruise on the tasman lake with some mediocre commentary!! basically they just read out what is already in the brochure! We did the tour because we were misled by the photos on the brochure! you wont see any of that!!!! our guide was a lady she looked so nervous while driving the boat. It felt like she didnt know what she was doing! do not waste your hard earned money even if you have a lot to waste i'd rather donate it!! we only had 6 days in the middle earth and there were so many other things that I'd rather do only if i knew what a ripoff this tour was!! If your doing the free hooker valley walk to the end I assure you that you'll get a much better view of the glacier than this tour!! Or just do the tasman glacier walk!! you wouldn't see anything more if you did this tour!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A truly remarkable activity that was surprisingly '3 in 1' - a short hike across incredible mountain vistas, a 'jet boat' style ride with the wind in your hair, and the highlight- up close and personal with the icebergs, framed by the majestic mountain peaks. Great value for the family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zillah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Pricey but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We elected to take the guided tour of the Tazman glacier sponsored by Glacier Explorers. They are the only outfit that is allowed to take people out on boats on the terminal lake. The tour is a bit pricey but the sites will create a lifetime of memories. The guides are very knowledgable about the in's and out's of glaciers. You definitely get a hands on feel for the glacier micro climate and a sense of geologic time. Well worth it!

Word to the wise: There is about a 1mile trek to and from the boat station so bring good walking shoes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Educational, Exciting & Enjoyable - Glacier Explorer on the Tasman Glacier Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Told that this is "one of a kind, unique" lake experience, we booked the tour for 4 persons. From the pick-up at the hotel to the car park in the Tasman Valley, there was a good commentary on the Tasman glacier, the murky river water and the lake. The guides have a good knowledge of the glacier. We had to walk for 25 to 30 minutes to the jetty where we boarded the boat for the glacier exploring experience. The way we were told about the danger of falling into the water was fun - we were told to put our right hand into the water for 10 seconds. That was enough warning - the water was really cold! As the boat moved around the lake, we managed to learn, view and touch an iceberg. We also got close to the glacier and saw its side surface. It would have been better if we could get closer but there was danger about "exploding" icebergs coming up. The boat learning trip took about an hour. The walk back to the bus was a little tiring but we had beautiful view of Mt Cook and the nature around the lake. It was worth the price and the experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing trip - and safe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Amazing trip - very professional tour guides and well equipped to ensure the safety of passengers. Definitely worth the trip to Mount Cook for it. Remember to bring more clothes as it is pretty cold out there. They lend waterproof jackets for free which was very helpful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Explorers also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
Mt. Cook Village, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Glacier Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Explorers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.