We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice coffee and meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 131

Cafe 131
131 Main Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
+64 3-302 9131
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Methven
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: All day freshly prepared Meals. Morning and Afternoon tea. Gluten free options. A wide variety of choice! Black-board Specials.
Les Diablerets, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice coffee and meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I liked the food and the coffee. It is a little slow when busy and not real cheap. But I would recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Value, Big Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ate lunch at Cafe 131 and was pleasantly surprised by the large portions provided. We ordered nachos and sausages and mash and neither of us could finish our meals which were very reasonably priced ($16 for the sausages and mash).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Great stop on the way up the mountain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A great place to stop for coffee and brekki (takeaway too) before heading up the mountain for a day of snow!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Methven breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a fantastic self contained room at Brinkley but we used to love going here for breakfast...the best coffee in town !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived out of the freezing cold into the lovely, warm cafe. We ordered coffees and hot chocolates and a mixture of scones and cooked breakfasts. The service was friendly and the food was lovely.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 131 also viewed

Methven, Canterbury Region
Methven, Canterbury Region
 
Methven, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 131, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.