We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitestone Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Whitestone Cottages to your Saves list
Whitestone Cottages
3016 Methven Highway, Methven 8353, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Methven B&B and Inns
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Memorable Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautifully appointed cottages in a unique setting, extremely private from one another. We found our cottage to have a well stocked pantry, although chose to dine out. Very spacious interior with restful decor and all the mod cons. Walking distance in to the main township (approx 10 mins brisk walk). The two bedrooms upstairs both have king size and single beds and both are ensuited. Although we stayed just the one night this visit, the environment was so relaxing we felt like we had been there for a long weekend:) Have already recommended it to others. The township itself was fairly quiet at this time of the year but there was still plenty to see and do, and many dining options available to suit any budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
excellent feed back thank you so much.
OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at the Whitestone Cottages. Our cottage was ready for us on arrival and was very welcoming. Beautiful decor and a stunning and peaceful setting. We came with friends and found the cottage incredibly spacious - we had seperate sleeping upstairs each with ensuite and ample living space downstairs. It was immaculately clean and tidy and had everything we needed in terms of linen, crookery, cutlery etc. We all had such a lovely time - a truly beautiful place to relax and unwind. Will definitely be back - next time for skiing with the kids as a fantastic space for family trips also. Easy walking distance to Methven village - cafes, supermarket etc and ample parking. Thank you for such a lovely time away!

Room Tip: Each cottage has so much privacy and lovely and quiet. Let them know what you need and I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi,

thank you soon much, awesome. we are always please when guests have a great time
cheers
Irene and OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow, we came to Methven for a boys golf trip. We played the amazing Methven course and the accommodation at Whitestone cottages was a perfect place to relax and unwind. The cottage was in immaculate condition when we arrived. Beautifully maintained yard helped take the stress away from the days golfing. Only 1.5km from the course was also a huge benefit. We all loved it so much and we will definitely be back again. This accommodation was perfect for 6 males as the king beds were split up to make 3 king singles in each room. Thanks so much OJ.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
thanks guys,

the golf courses at Methven and Terrace downs are excellent courses to play
Stunning scenery and relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed two nights here during the last week of ski season in October 2012. The cottage was very spacious with 2 bed and 2 bath upstairs (sleeps 6) and kitchen and living downstairs. The fireplace in the living room was very welcome as the weather was still cold. Internal heating systems were available in all the other rooms. The laundry was handy, allowing us the catch up on washing/drying. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils, if not a little to well loved and dated. We ate out each day but I'm sure the kitchen was perfectly functional. The pantry was stocked with previous guests condiments, cereals etc. Wi-Fi was free which was excellent. A very important aspect especially with Instagram addicts. OJ popped in to check on us which was lovely and he was very friendly. Dealing with him beforehand online was a pleasure. He was very understanding and accommodating.
The town was a 1 min drive away. Being the end of season the town looked a little deserted but we didn't mind no crowds. We ate at the Japanese restaurant Aqua near the cinema. The dumplings were amazing. Saki was very good too. This place came recommended by a young man at the information office and we highly recommend it also.
The mountain ended up being closed the day we wanted to go snowboarding due to high winds but we found an excellent alternative. Drive up to Terrace Downs Resort and book yourself with Neil and Sandra to do some pigeon clay shooting and archery. It was the best day and we highly recommend it! Neil and Sandra were professional, friendly and down to earth.The views at the resort were breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Owner at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you it sounds like you had a great time all over the district.
good food, drink and activities.

cheers Irene and OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Whitestone Cottages provided an excellent retreat for a family reunion. Although we were only able to spend one night the accommodation had everything we could wish for and more!. It was like being in our own private retreat. We all were able to relax - spread ourselves, dine by candle light and enjoy the lovely atmosphere, perfect for a family catch up. We can't wait to return and next time for longer. Thanks OJ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi,
we are always please to here that our guests had a relaxed and great time.
The cottages are set in well maintained gardens and very parklike.
set off the road they are quiet and relaxing(double glazed).
thanks for the positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I chose Whitestone Cottages for our base for our two month holiday in South Island. We arrived at the beginning of February and the weather was just perfect. Just one hour drive from the airport and in a central location it had all we needed for a comfortable stay. Our daughter and new grandson flew in from Australia and OJ provided us with a cot and high chair and also helped us in all things NZ. We all loved the cottage and were sorry to have to leave. Methven is a serious contender for a summer holiday and not just for winter sports. Now back in the UK I think back to our wonderful holiday and would like to thank OJ and all the team for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi devon farmer.

Thank you for this awesome feedback.
Methven is a great base if you are into skiing,snowboarding,cycling,mtbing,hiking,fishing,hunting,Golf at the methven course
or terrace downs and lots of outdoor pursuits.

cheers again OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We came to Methvan as a base to ski Mount Hutt. I have always been careful about booking accomidation ahead, but I called OJ before we booked and his comments were accurate. Whitestone cottages in my opinion (and we travel often) is probably the best accomidation for a family to RELAX....yes, relax. The property was well equipped and had more than enough space. My fondest memeory is good nights sleep I got prior to a hectic day of Skiing beautiful Mount Hutt. We had a great time staying here and would recommed this property to families and couples who want to relax. The amin village is only a ten minute walk down the road. OJ, thank you for a memorable stay. See our photos I will post. Steve.

Room Tip: All properties are good as there are only four cottages on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi,
i a very please that the family loved the stay and as the whitestone cottages are
quite private and off the road you can relax here.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitestone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitestone Cottages

Address: 3016 Methven Highway, Methven 8353, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality 2 large bedroom 2 ensuites, free wifi for gueststhese luxury self contained cottages which have a laundry,fully equiped kitchen/dinning room and cosy lounge with open gas fire place. and set in a parklike grounds for a relaxing stay.Beds are 2 doubles and 2 singles or combination on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitestone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitestone Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.