We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitestone Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Whitestone Cottages to your Saves list
Whitestone Cottages
3016 Methven Highway, Methven 8353, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Methven B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed two nights here during the last week of ski season in October 2012. The cottage was very spacious with 2 bed and 2 bath upstairs (sleeps 6) and kitchen and living downstairs. The fireplace in the living room was very welcome as the weather was still cold. Internal heating systems were available in all the other rooms. The laundry was handy, allowing us the catch up on washing/drying. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils, if not a little to well loved and dated. We ate out each day but I'm sure the kitchen was perfectly functional. The pantry was stocked with previous guests condiments, cereals etc. Wi-Fi was free which was excellent. A very important aspect especially with Instagram addicts. OJ popped in to check on us which was lovely and he was very friendly. Dealing with him beforehand online was a pleasure. He was very understanding and accommodating.
The town was a 1 min drive away. Being the end of season the town looked a little deserted but we didn't mind no crowds. We ate at the Japanese restaurant Aqua near the cinema. The dumplings were amazing. Saki was very good too. This place came recommended by a young man at the information office and we highly recommend it also.
The mountain ended up being closed the day we wanted to go snowboarding due to high winds but we found an excellent alternative. Drive up to Terrace Downs Resort and book yourself with Neil and Sandra to do some pigeon clay shooting and archery. It was the best day and we highly recommend it! Neil and Sandra were professional, friendly and down to earth.The views at the resort were breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Owner at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you it sounds like you had a great time all over the district.
good food, drink and activities.

cheers Irene and OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Whitestone Cottages provided an excellent retreat for a family reunion. Although we were only able to spend one night the accommodation had everything we could wish for and more!. It was like being in our own private retreat. We all were able to relax - spread ourselves, dine by candle light and enjoy the lovely atmosphere, perfect for a family catch up. We can't wait to return and next time for longer. Thanks OJ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi,
we are always please to here that our guests had a relaxed and great time.
The cottages are set in well maintained gardens and very parklike.
set off the road they are quiet and relaxing(double glazed).
thanks for the positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I chose Whitestone Cottages for our base for our two month holiday in South Island. We arrived at the beginning of February and the weather was just perfect. Just one hour drive from the airport and in a central location it had all we needed for a comfortable stay. Our daughter and new grandson flew in from Australia and OJ provided us with a cot and high chair and also helped us in all things NZ. We all loved the cottage and were sorry to have to leave. Methven is a serious contender for a summer holiday and not just for winter sports. Now back in the UK I think back to our wonderful holiday and would like to thank OJ and all the team for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi devon farmer.

Thank you for this awesome feedback.
Methven is a great base if you are into skiing,snowboarding,cycling,mtbing,hiking,fishing,hunting,Golf at the methven course
or terrace downs and lots of outdoor pursuits.

cheers again OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We came to Methvan as a base to ski Mount Hutt. I have always been careful about booking accomidation ahead, but I called OJ before we booked and his comments were accurate. Whitestone cottages in my opinion (and we travel often) is probably the best accomidation for a family to RELAX....yes, relax. The property was well equipped and had more than enough space. My fondest memeory is good nights sleep I got prior to a hectic day of Skiing beautiful Mount Hutt. We had a great time staying here and would recommed this property to families and couples who want to relax. The amin village is only a ten minute walk down the road. OJ, thank you for a memorable stay. See our photos I will post. Steve.

Room Tip: All properties are good as there are only four cottages on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi,
i a very please that the family loved the stay and as the whitestone cottages are
quite private and off the road you can relax here.

thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had 2 lovely days in Methvan - and absolutely loved our accommodation at White Stone Cottages. Had no trouble finding the cottages, and was lovely to arrive and have the heating going and the lights on. All the personal touches were great, and we felt right at home straight away. Thanks OJ for everything - will defenetly be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi,
we are always happy to receive feed back.
we try to put the heating on before people arrive.

cheers
OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stopped off at Methven on a road trip round the South Island. We had booked ahead & were really pleased when we arrived & saw the cottage. The service from the agent was excellent - and it was good value for money. The only down side was the temperature of the huge open-plan downstairs area. Because we booked so late,I think the heating hadn't been able to reach a decent height. The bedrooms & bathrooms were lovely & cosy. Beds were very comfy & everywhere was spotlessly clean. My daughter & son-in-law live on West Coast & hope to stay here again when they come to Mt Hutt to snowboard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Awesome thanks for staying with us at whitestonecottages.

OJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We came to Methven NZ to ski Mt Hutt for the second time in two years. This year we desided on the Whitestone Cottages in Methven fo our accommodation.
The house was one in a setting of four and it was an absolutely fantastic house and good value for money. The house has two medium sized bedrooms upstairs both with en-suite bathrooms. The bedrooms have a king plus one single bed.
The kitchen was very well appointed and large enough for a large kitchen table, the dishwasher is gold when you are on holidays.
The living-room has an open fireplace and the kids loved sitting in front of it enjoying kids telly on cable after a day on the slopes.
I could only really find one thing to improve with this place and that would be heating in the entrance room to dry wet ski ware after days skiing.
This place could easily accommodate two small families or one large family without having to trip over each other.
The resort manager OJ was also very welcoming and was very kind to organise a USB internet stick for the day my wife had to do a conference call for work, how good is that??
Will defiantly return to this place for our trip next year. Can really recommend this place for anyone coming to this area for a holiday.
Lars
Traveled with 3 adults and 2 children 4.5 years old

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skicanterbury, Manager at Whitestone Cottages, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thanks for the awesome review.

We have taken your advice.

we have now got small heaters in the reception drying area.

Oj Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitestone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitestone Cottages

Address: 3016 Methven Highway, Methven 8353, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality 2 large bedroom 2 ensuites, free wifi for gueststhese luxury self contained cottages which have a laundry,fully equiped kitchen/dinning room and cosy lounge with open gas fire place. and set in a parklike grounds for a relaxing stay.Beds are 2 doubles and 2 singles or combination on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitestone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitestone Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.