We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food in a tiny town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AQUA Japanese Restaurant and Takeaways

AQUA Japanese Restaurant and Takeaways
112 Main Street, Methven, New Zealand
03-302 9010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Methven
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a tiny town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Staff were all lovely and helpful. Food was tasty and fresh. Small restaurant so make a booking! It's worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Methven, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Tried the Aqua Japanese for the first time and enjoyed the experience, food had great flavors. Sat in the stalls with the warming blanket for your feet, no shoes allowed. Highly recommend a visit probably best to reserve a table as its very small.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Have been here a few times now and we really love it! Friendly staff and fab food. Great place to get "sharing" platters and try their homemade ice cream.. yummy! Its not the the flashest place but it is cosy, clean and friendly. Great value for money too!! Well be back again and again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My new favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice food and super friendly staff. I wish I lived local to this place. RVery small restaurant, I think your would have to book in the peak season

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My partner & I love coming here, the staff are so friendly and the food is always good. There is a range of gluten free options & they have a great takeaway menu. My favourite is the salmon fried rice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AQUA Japanese Restaurant and Takeaways also viewed

Methven, Canterbury Region
Methven, Canterbury Region
 
Methven, Canterbury Region
Methven, Canterbury Region
 

Been to AQUA Japanese Restaurant and Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AQUA Japanese Restaurant and Takeaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.