We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my top two hostels EVER in Aus and NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinedale Lodge & Apartment

Save Saved
You added Pinedale Lodge & Apartment to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinedale Lodge & Apartment
11 Alford Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Methven B&B and Inns
Christchurch
1 review
“One of my top two hostels EVER in Aus and NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Pinedale with a friend and we both feel in love with the place and didn't want to leave. It is a small hostel with only a few bedrooms but has a huge communal space with two open fires, a long dining table, book exchange, pool table and the infamous love pit! While we were staying at Pinedale everyone hung out together in their free time and there was a really friendly, sociable atmosphere, without being too loud or people partying all night long. The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly and make you feel right at home. The hostel was very clean, showers absolutely spotless (I didn't even need to wear my flip flops!!) and the kitchen has everything you need. It is a few dollars more expensive than the average hostel but is worth every cent -you really do get what you pay for with hostels and the clean rooms and great facilities are really worth spending a tiny bit more on. I loved the homely, relaxed and friendly feel of the hostel and it is definitely one of my favourite hostels EVER!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pinedale Lodge & Apartment, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of Pinedale. It's so great to know you didn't want to leave! We hope to see you back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great fire place, good kitchen. The internet is pricey but that seems to be the case all over NZ.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinedalerocks, Owner at Pinedale Lodge & Apartment, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. As for the internet, we will investigate again to see if there is a cheaper and better third party internet provider for our guests. At the moment our current provider is the best option especially as they are also willing to provide us with those first 15 minutes free WiFi vouchers that we give to guests on check-in. We are obviously getting good feedback on that.
Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very chilled hostel, open fires so cosy.
Lots of more 'mature' people, not kids boozing all night and getting excited about a 'flouro' party.
Great place to base a ski trip, or just to relax.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment and one of our party stayed in the lodge so we can comment on both parts of Pinedale. The service was great, Tim and Penny are very helpful and accommodating and helped us out with booking an extra night when we needed to. The lodge beds are very comfortable and warm and the communal areas are warm, cosy and well equipped. The apartment is even better, a home away from home it has everything from comfortable beds and heating to even books and board games. Very spacious too. Pinedale is easy walking distance to Methven. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Room was very small, compared to other places I stayed at in NZ for similar price, like no room to put your bags on the floor, TV reception wasn't very good at all. Decor was very old.
We got the private double, the only thing was that the room was accessed from outside the house, not inside, where all the toilets and amenities were, so you had to walk outside (in 0 degree temps) just to go to toilet and bathroom and loungeroom!
I would probably stay somewhere else if I go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez75, Manager at Pinedale Lodge & Apartment, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback on our Budget Private Double Room. We are renovating this room in April, so it's nice and smart before the next winter season and working on providing space-efficient storage. As for it's size and situation, we will double check all our internet listings to make sure they say the Budget Private Double Room is small and off the verandah.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed in the apartment for 2 nights. The apartment was cozy and spacious, with a well equipped kitchen. As the apartment is situated separately from the lodge, it offers plenty of privacy as well. It comes with 2 bedrooms and a small garden. Perfect for small families in my opinion. Tim and Penny (the hosts) were warm, friendly and very helpful. If you are heading up to Mt Hutt, you could get them to help you book tickets for the bus. The location is also rather centralized with a Foursquare supermarket just round the corner and also lots of ski rental places. Methven is a small town, but a great gateway to many world class ski resorts with really warm people all round. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Pinedale apartment has a really homely feel to it and provides all the little extras that make holidaying so much easier. The kitchen is decked out with all you need to cook for yourself and apartment is quite spacious. We had an awesome week there - and couldn't fault anything.

Penny and Tim are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. To top a great week, when we left, they discovered I had left my passport behind. They managed to get it to the Christchurch airport before I even knew I had left it behind. Now that's amazing service!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinedale Lodge & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinedale Lodge & Apartment

Address: 11 Alford Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinedale Lodge is Methven's largest holiday home and perfect for groups from 8 - 24 people, with 4 large family bedrooms and 1 twin bedroom and a tiered room rate for flexibility. Insulated and warm with 2 large living areas each with a fire place to relax around, pool table, long dining tables, high-definition freeview TV, video and DVD players. Large book and video libraries. If your group is 4 or less, then the Pinedale Apartment would suit you - a family friendly, fully self contained 2 bedroom space. Both holiday houses come with iPod docking stations, fully equipped kitchen with lots of storage space and a dishwasher. Plenty of off-street parking, a lockable shed for sports gear/bikes, WiFi access available for extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Pinedale Lodge & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinedale Lodge & Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.