We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic Hospitality and Accommodation"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beluga Lodge to your Saves list
Beluga Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Allen Street | Mt Hutt, Methven, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Methven B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"Fantastic Hospitality and Accommodation"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We loved this town and our luxury stay at Beluga Lodge. The hosts Arlene and James were warm and friendly and made us feel so at home in this relaxed and tasteful lodge. Such great touches to make your stay relaxing, stress free and enjoyable.
Pluses: Fruit, tea, coffee and biscuits that are complementary and available in the kitchen 24 hours a day. As too the honesty bar which is the best stocked "bar fridge" I have ever seen. Welcoming fire that greats you after a day on the slopes or a night out at a local restaurant. A cosy lounge and garden to relax in with added bonus of outdoor spa. Drying room to put wet cold ski clothes and Jackets in. Breakfast made to order each morning by the lovely Arlene. Light banter from James who will keep you informed of whats happening on the mountain each morning. He is also a wealth of knowledge for local attractions when the legendary Mt Hutt becomes the notorious MT Shut.
We stayed 3 nights in July 2011 and as other reviewers have stated we wish we has stayed more. If we are lucky to go back to this beautiful part of the world again I would definitely like to stay in the separate accommodation within the grounds. They say pictures speak louder than words so here is a few shots to make your decision to stay here so much easier.

Room Tip: Couples if you want more privacy then lash out and stay in the Garden Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Good value. Nice clean and comfy room. Easy walking distance to centre. Hot tub a real bonus. Amazingly well kept gardens with sectioned areas to relax in. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Continental breakfast well exceeded expectations. I have yet to find better in Methven.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

You can't fault this place without being ridiculous! The hosts, James and Arlene are the most welcoming, friendly and caring people you can meet. The house is warm, the rooms are comfortable and breakfast is amazing. We spent a couple of days exploring the area and loved coming back to a relaxing spa and comfortable beds. We absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

stayed for 1 night wished it was more. like other reviews the hosts are friendly and helpful but you also have the run of the house and garden. we ate our own food in the lovely garden with use of the kitchen for everything. all rooms excellent and best continental breakfast ever

Room Tip: all good and we were given a choice very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I think you just need to read the rest of the reviews! James happened to be outside doing some tidying up when we arrived (co-incidentally???) but he knew who we were so had that personal welcome. The rooms were great, the place was warm (no fire but too hot in summer for that), the spa was relaxing, breakfast was impressive for a continental and the whole place had that air of "better than your average run of the mill accommodation". As others have said, presentation was always immaculate and James and Arlene were great to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were definitely spoiled at Beluga - the house is absolutely beautiful, our room was perfect, breakfast was delicious and warming up in front of the fireplace was the perfect end to a hard day of skiing. James and Arlene were very hospitable and we really enjoyed our stay at Beluga - a 10/10 experience. We will definitely stay at Beluga again when we return to Methven!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Upon arrival at the Beluga Lodge we were warmly greeted by the delightful Arlene, who made us feel exceptionally welcome (even though we had arrived about 5 hours earlier than we had said we would!)

The main house is beautiful, warm and so comfortable, with an open fire, huge lounge, and a selection of books and games. They offer an "honour system" bar with spirits, beers, and soft drinks. Thought that was a great touch.

Our room itself was a standalone cottage next to the main house, comfortable and nicely furnished. They have a lovely big English-style garden, with a communal spa - a nice way to while away the hours before dinner!

This is one of the nicest places we stayed on our NZ trip. James and Arlene are exceptionally welcoming and lovely (even though we slept in and missed breakfast, Arlene still offered to make us coffee and breakfast!) and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beluga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga Lodge

Address: 40 Allen Street | Mt Hutt, Methven, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beluga Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beluga Luxury Lodge is a beautifully restored kiwi villa set in an acre of tranquil private gardens. This 4+ Qualmark rated property is in a great location, just five minutes walk from the shops, cafes and restaurants in the heart of Methven and 40 minutes drive to Mt Hutt skifield. Beluga offers you the choice of stylish Lodge Rooms, the secluded luxury of the Garden Suite, or independence in the delightfully restored Minke Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Beluga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.