We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Caravan Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park to your Saves list
Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   39 Hislop Street, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Caravan Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights both southbound and northbound on our recent caravan trip around the South Island. This is a top quality park with spacious grassy sites, good shelter from large trees and amazingly close to town. Very good clean facilities! Highly recommended and we will definitely use it again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    48
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
106
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent a few weeks travelling NZ in a motorhome which was an excellent way of getting round but not the reason I am writing this report. The reason is the most welcoming service we received from just about any mobile home site in either the North or South Island. It wasn't the case of just paying money, here a site map and your spot circled, The lady came out walked us to our spot, made sure we were in safe and then with a smile left us to enjoy our stay. Other parks we visited could take a leaf out of this lady's good manner's book.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed in one of the self catering cabins. Good sized room. Room was spotless. Nice little kitchenette but microwave only. You did need to use communal cooking area if you wanted to cook anything else. Beds ok - not the most comfortable I've slept in but not the least either. Wifi was available but was charged. Overall I thought good value for what you got.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have stayed in this park on a previous trip south and been impressed. It is very clean and well organised, surrounded by beautiful mature trees. It is within easy walking distance of the town. The showers are large, free and immaculately clean. When we arrived wee weere shown to our campsite whcih I thought was very welcoming.

Room Tip: There are some hardpads for campervans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed in our motor-home twice in this lovely holiday park.On both occasions we received a warm, friendly welcome from the very helpful staff. The pitches were wide and had a fresh water tap as well as electricity. The shower/toilet block was clean and roomy and there was plenty of hot water. Although we didn't use the kitchen/laundry/internet room they all looked well equipped and clean. The park's location is excellent; although very near shops, museum, pubs etc it was nonetheless very quiet. As we arrived quite tired after a long day's driving the owners were quite happy to let us check out later which was really great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently camped here in our caravan for almost a week, we were most impressed with the standard and cleanliness of the camping ground. The facilities are top notch and very very clean. Small extras like dish cloths and washing up liquid, a herb garden to help yourself. Very handy to the museum and the township and also the swimming pool. Owners were very friendly and helpful, good kids playground too. Nice and central for exploring the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A very well run park with good clean facilities in a central location. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend it and would certainly use it again . We stayed one night with our camper van.

Room Tip: A very well run park with good clean facilities in a central location. The staff were friendly and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park

Address: 39 Hislop Street, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Geraldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel is the only holiday Park in the center of Geraldine. We offer a range of accommodation to suit all budgets in a tranquil park like setting among huge specimen trees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.