We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical spot in South Canterbury.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of StoneBridge Function Venue Limited

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geraldine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StoneBridge Function Venue Limited
Save
You added StoneBridge Function Venue Limited to your Saves list
842 Winchester-Geraldine Road, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Geraldine B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A magical spot in South Canterbury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I loved staying at Stonebridge. I stayed 3 nights and my friends were married in the venue on Sunday. Carmel and Ferg are delightful hosts and made sure we had everything we needed - ie bacon and eggs the morning after the big day. Tess and Bruno (the dogs) were also great company.

The house is warm and cozy, the venue stunning, and the grounds simply gorgeous. I have no hesitation in recommending Stonebridge and I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
You were a pleasure to have here and so pleased you enjoyed you stay. Look forward to your return and thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I feel guilty about writing a negative review as the owners were so helpful and friendly but the fact remains that the accommodation is very poor. The situation is beautiful with lovely sunny gardens but the room was very tired to say the least. The only good thing in it was the bed, the rest of the furniture was old, boring and grubby. The suite was from the 80s and the rest from a second hand shop. The kitchen was not really equipped to any extent, a couple of miss-matched plates and one or two pieces of cutlery and that was it. We asked for fresh fruit and cereal for breakfast and got an orange, a banana and an unopened box of cheap muesli and a loaf of cheap sliced bread. It was awful.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAMUL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I were unable to find any vacancys after driving many hours from Queenstown on our way to Christchurch. We passed this newer building that had a tour bus parked out front and a sign with B&B under Event center as we were leaving Geraldine, NZ. We turned around thinking we could at least find out if they by chance had a room for the night. The owner explained that the only room left was just rented 10 minutes ago but if I wasn't able to find a room anywhere else that she would at least pull out a couple of cots and put us in a storage room for the night. We were very thankful and then she invited us to the Town's Christmas party that was going on in the event center. The food, wine, entertainment and people were awesome. We partied till midnight and the owner was kind enough to put us up in her private home. The next morning we woke to a storybook park setting on ten acres and a wonderful breakfast outdoors. The highlight of our month long vacation hands down.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a lovely place: green loans, lake with ducks, big trees, lots of flowers and birds singing. It is easy to find and very quiet.
The cottage is clean and the king size bed very comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and the kitchen is well equipped.
The hosts made us feel at home.
We wished we could stay longer.
Boryana and Eugeni

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvelines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were looking for a stop over on the way from akaroa to Dunedin, and found this online. We found we had booked a little bit of paradise. Super welcome, excellent accommodation, the most comfortable bed in new Zealand. The gardens are just beautiful. And the ever present hot tub was a big added bonus which we used a lot. We stayed two nights. Geraldine is a fascinating town and close to some really beautiful parts of the south island. What started off as a stop over, became a great part of our holiday. This is a great place, run by genuine people who are a pleasure to stay with.

Room Tip: Whilst no fitness centre, apart from the gardens and mountains, the hot tub was great. Take time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelD678, Owner at StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for your review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay. In winter, on a cold and frosty night, you can sit back in the hot spa and enjoy the millions of stars in the night's sky and see the "milky way" so clearly. Magic.

We do have 'the fitness weights' in the outer shed and a running track around the garden tracks plus a fitness centre just down the road (GYM Studio Ltd within walking distance) that opens from 6am to 7.30pm every day except Thursdays and Saturday afternoons from 1pm with a $10 fee to use the facility each time. Will put this in the guests information so they can be aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We decided we needed a weekend away from Christchurch and decided to stay at a B&B rather than a motel. We could not have chosen a better B&B.

We booked at the last minute (the day before) and from the moment we arrived the hosts welcomed us as if we were part of their family. They were very friendly and welcoming.

Stonebridge is a wedding / function venue and the owners have B&B rooms in their house and a separate cottage, which we stayed in.

There were chocolate biscuits waiting for us in the fridge and once settled in they gave us a complementary bottle of wine and beer!

The cottage is fully self contained with a HUGE king size bed (that was super comfortable!) large bathroom and small kitchenette. It also had a TV with all the main Sky TV (cable) channels and 2 heaters to warm the cottage in the winter.

Outside the cottage they have a 6 person spa that is just wonderful to relax in as you look over the grounds – it was pure bliss

They give you a menu for breakfast, where you can actually choose what you want - you get a continental and a full cooked breakfast using free range bacon and eggs from their property.

Unlike a motel we did not have to vacate the room by 10am the day of leaving, they actually told us we could stay all day, but unfortunately we had to get back home.

We can’t believe the previous comments made, because we found the place clean and tidy – we couldn’t have been happier here, just relaxing – away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

We plan to go back to Stonebridge and would recommend it to anyone who wants a break away.

Room Tip: when you book - ask for the self contained cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We chose this B&B from the NZ tourist site. While the gardens were lovely, the bed comfortable, and the hostess friendly, the bathroom/shower was on another floor, shared with the owner, basic and dirty, the breakfast fuel rather than food, and the table cloth/napkins given to us at breakfast crumpled and un-ironed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to StoneBridge Function Venue Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StoneBridge Function Venue Limited

Address: 842 Winchester-Geraldine Road, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Geraldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 Acre rural and woodland garden property, architecturally designed Function/Events Centre built November 2007 with floor to ceiling windows that view boutique lake with water features and woodland gardens. Catering from 10 to 250+ in venue plus will cater for homestay guests. B&B accommodation at the homestead consists of 3 rooms plus one self-contained unit. Outdoor spa and twin herbal heated bush baths plus outside activities offered. StoneBridge was a finalist in the SC Business and Tourism Awards 2011. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StoneBridge Function Venue Limited, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.