We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Dobson Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mt Dobson Motel to your Saves list
Mt Dobson Motel
768 Fairlie-Tekapo Road R.D. 17 | Kimbell, Fairlie 7987, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were looking for a relaxing room with any sort of kitchen after a long day of driving and to end our great trip in NZ. We booked this motel the morning before arriving and it was exactly what we needed. Brigid was such a friendly face after having a long day and settled us into our room with an entire box of movies! We were welcomed by a comfy bed with heated blankets, a warm room, and a complete kitchen. The next day after touring Tekapo we arrived back to mini chocolate bars on our towels, the perfect treat to end our day. The following day, we checked out and arrived in Christchurch before realizing we forgot one of our bags. We had called Brigid immediately and she had tried to text, call, and email us. She arranged Geoff to meet us half way to Christchurch to save us from driving the entire way back (over 4 hours round trip). We were so fortunate and grateful for their amazing act of kindness!! We had to fly out at 6am the following day.
We 100 percent recommend Mt. Dobson Motel; Brigid and Geoff are amazing people who offer excellent hospitality and the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Getting desperate for accommodation and needing to be in Christchurch the next day, we came upon Mount Dobson...one room left, and Brigid and Geoff so friendly.Room was spotless and the towels the thickest in 3 weeks of NZ motels! Brigid provides everything travelers could possibly need. It was a hot day and we sat by the creek cooling our feet in the perfectly clear water, and the pub next door is great too! We are a very impressed English couple in NZ visiting family, thank you very much Brigid and Geoff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We (he,she & 5 pug dogs) arrived in our Toyota coaster sunday & stayed 3 nights. Brigid & Geoff were just so accommodating.They allowed us to use their garage for the dogs & exercise them in the nearby paddock. We did not use the motels but I could see how lovely & clean they were kept. Really big with all facilities. I would recommend them without hesitation.I think Brigid & Geoff are the host & hostess with the mostest Pugcity

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We moved here to Mt. Dobson M., rather desperate, after forfeiting a 3rd free night at Mackenzie Motels (owned by Fairlie Top 10.) after a simply shocking stay there. All we wanted by then was a kitchen, a sofa and a tele that worked and somewhere to hang things. That was our brief to Mt Dobson M. This place exceeded expectations well and truly. Believe me, it was worth the $130.00 for our family. Mt. Dobson Motel even texted me through the night when they had a no-show so we could move in early next morning to their unit and be there for breakfast. - So owners are thoughtful !!. Unit was clean and neat as a pin. Off road parking for boat. Tidy, nice little outlook instead of the warzone outlook at the previous place. Pets are welcome and with sleep in friendly and relaxed attitude of owners we have found out (but not relaxed about service and cleanliness and things that matter) these people will do well. We have further to travel each day to get to Lk Ophua but this is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as were going to the Mt Dobson Ski Field the next day and it had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable and the motel owners were so accomodating, even going out of their way to ensure we had a great trip. I have to say they are definately the friendliest motel owners I have ever dealt with. I would definately recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a lovely motel in a great location. Yes I had a few teething issues (non-functioning lightbulb, not much hot water for the shower, no TV reception and missing tea-towel) but I don't mind small points like this when I'm only paying $99. The place is comfortable and fine for people passing through - good value.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Fabulous little motel, excellent facilities, complete kitchen. Very helpful owners, nice rose garden at the rear - they have thought of everything - a real home from home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Dobson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Dobson Motel

Address: 768 Fairlie-Tekapo Road R.D. 17 | Kimbell, Fairlie 7987, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly, pet friendly motel ideally situated for skiers wanting to ski at Mt Dobson skifield and anyone wanting to explore the Mackenzie District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mt Dobson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Dobson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.