We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Dobson Motel

Save Saved
You added Mt Dobson Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Dobson Motel
768 Fairlie-Tekapo Road, Kimbell, R.D.17, Fairlie 7987, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Getting desperate for accommodation and needing to be in Christchurch the next day, we came upon Mount Dobson...one room left, and Brigid and Geoff so friendly.Room was spotless and the towels the thickest in 3 weeks of NZ motels! Brigid provides everything travelers could possibly need. It was a hot day and we sat by the creek cooling our feet in the perfectly clear water, and the pub next door is great too! We are a very impressed English couple in NZ visiting family, thank you very much Brigid and Geoff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We (he,she & 5 pug dogs) arrived in our Toyota coaster sunday & stayed 3 nights. Brigid & Geoff were just so accommodating.They allowed us to use their garage for the dogs & exercise them in the nearby paddock. We did not use the motels but I could see how lovely & clean they were kept. Really big with all facilities. I would recommend them without hesitation.I think Brigid & Geoff are the host & hostess with the mostest Pugcity

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We moved here to Mt. Dobson M., rather desperate, after forfeiting a 3rd free night at Mackenzie Motels (owned by Fairlie Top 10.) after a simply shocking stay there. All we wanted by then was a kitchen, a sofa and a tele that worked and somewhere to hang things. That was our brief to Mt Dobson M. This place exceeded expectations well and truly. Believe me, it was worth the $130.00 for our family. Mt. Dobson Motel even texted me through the night when they had a no-show so we could move in early next morning to their unit and be there for breakfast. - So owners are thoughtful !!. Unit was clean and neat as a pin. Off road parking for boat. Tidy, nice little outlook instead of the warzone outlook at the previous place. Pets are welcome and with sleep in friendly and relaxed attitude of owners we have found out (but not relaxed about service and cleanliness and things that matter) these people will do well. We have further to travel each day to get to Lk Ophua but this is where we will be staying next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as were going to the Mt Dobson Ski Field the next day and it had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable and the motel owners were so accomodating, even going out of their way to ensure we had a great trip. I have to say they are definately the friendliest motel owners I have ever dealt with. I would definately recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a lovely motel in a great location. Yes I had a few teething issues (non-functioning lightbulb, not much hot water for the shower, no TV reception and missing tea-towel) but I don't mind small points like this when I'm only paying $99. The place is comfortable and fine for people passing through - good value.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Fabulous little motel, excellent facilities, complete kitchen. Very helpful owners, nice rose garden at the rear - they have thought of everything - a real home from home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Called in as we were passing looking for a place to stay for the night.
Very helpful staff/owner, the room was clean and tidy, and nice and peaceful - just what we needed, and the pub next door serves excellant food

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Dobson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Dobson Motel

Address: 768 Fairlie-Tekapo Road, Kimbell, R.D.17, Fairlie 7987, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mt Dobson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Dobson Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.