We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Motel in Fairlie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pinewood Motels to your Saves list
Pinewood Motels
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly Motel in Fairlie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of five overnighted here enroute from Christchurch to the Skifields. The welcome was generous, warm and informative. The room very clean and well equipped. However we feel in need of some updating. The bedding clean, warm and of good quality however the beds a quite tired and in need of replacement. Winter in the South Island of NZ is cold unfortunately so was the room. All instructions re the heating followed by us to the letter however the system could not cope. If you were unfortunate enough for a limb to emerge from the bedding during the night you awoke instantly due to the cold. Otherwise an ok stay in a lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinewoodmotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback. We took ownership of Pinewood Motels, in Fairlie, on 12 July, and have noticed that whilst the Studio units are easy to keep warm, the family units have been coolish. We discovered the heaters reset their thermostat to 21 when the power was turned off.
So we now turn on all the heaters around 4pm (this last week), and we increase the thermostat to a more pleasant warm temperature of 24-25 depending on the room. When the sliding doors are left open the heat gets sucked out of the family units, and we have noticed our customers have been warmer this last week with the higher thermostat setting, and by keeping the sliding door closed. So thank-you for your constructive feedback. It has helped to make things more pleasant for future customers. Kind regards Alvin & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

April-May in Fairlie is just beautiful and a perfect holiday destination for a road trip for my daughter (who uses a wheelchair) and myself. The autumn colours are stunning and a frosty morning brought a glorious day of sunshine with an unbelievable night sky. What more could you want...a great place to stay? Pinewood Motel had it all for us. Charlie was a courteous host who showed us through our room on arrival, old school style. From how to work the heaters and electric blankets to where the light switches and extra blankets were located. Getting my daughter into the room wasn't a problem as there was a reasonable size lip at the double door entrance.The room was spacious, although we did shift the table and chairs back in the lounge to make it easier to manouvre the chair. There was a large double room and a twin. We have to use some medical equipment overnight and there was more then enough room for us to set this up. There were lots of power points for charging equipment and Charlie gave us a handful of chits so we could use the WIFI. The bathroom is accessible to a point. You need to be able to transfer to be able to use the adequate shower chair in the bathroom but it is possible to get the wheelchair in. There were plenty of towels, changed daily if we needed, with lovely smelling toiletries. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare a meal with a microwave and a stove available. Charlie came over every day to ask if we needed anything and were we comfortable. We are definitly going back for another stay at this warm welcoming Motel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

After a glorious few days in central Otago my friend and I were returning to Christchurch via Tekapo. We decided to break our trip in Fairlie. The weather had turned quite cold. We booked into The Pinewood Motels.
The owner was really friendly. The motel was clean cosy, and excellent heating. It was only a few minutes from the town centre. WIFI was excellent compared to some of the more pricey motels we had stayed in.So close to Tekapo and other more touristy places and a lot less pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was such a reasonably priced motel with all you could ask for and only half half an hour away from Lake Tekapo. The studio units were spacious, clean and light. The owner was very helpful. We were very pleased wih our choice and so were our English visitors. If ever in the area again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinewoodmotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Linda and Ala. Thank you very much for your great review of our motels and the high rating, most appreciated. We aim to provide the best service in all these areas and are very pleased to hear you had such a good stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind Regards, Charlie & Bronny Paterson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived very late in the evening and the owner still took time out to show us around the motel room, how to use the heating etc, which I thought was very nice of him. The motel was clean and cosy - plenty of extra bedding and pillows which I always appreciate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We agree with the available reviews. Charlie obviously prides himself with the standard of his accomadation and the quality of his services which are very commendable. Our room was clean, spacious and well maintained. Our host had placed notices in the room and also mentioned on booking in his concern at cooking anything in the room which may leave a bad odour such as fish/curries with the penalty of being charged an extra nights fee. He kindly leant me a large frying pan so that I could cook my steak on the free outside large barbecue. Charlie was able to recommend the Red Stag Restaurant and pointed us in the right direction to a country pub up the road towards Lake Tekapo which we thoroughly enjoyed. Suspect that a nearby Salmon Farm may have caused some concerns before. The kitchen also had a microwave and such fish can be steamed for 3 minutes without any odour problems!!!
Off road parking in front of our room and it was easy to find being on the main road through Fairlie. Can imagine this is a very popular stop off on the way to Lake Tekapo which is only 30 minutes down the road and means you can get to the church before the tourist coaches arrive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here twice - both on a night's break during a long and weary journey to Christchurch on the last leg of my South Island trip.
The motel is located centrally in Fairlie, right beside the highway and features all the spoils of a typical mid range motel. The units are clean, spacious and well maintained. The service extended by the motel host Charlie is commendable and added a personal touch to my stay experience.

This place makes for an economy stay for families and friends alike while visiting the regions around Lake Tekapo or simply on an overnight break while headed northwards to Christchurch.

Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Motels

Address: 25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hosts Alvin and Brenda welcome you to Pinewood Motels in Fairlie. We are an affordable alternative to Lake Tekapo being only 25 minutes away and on the main tourist route between Christchurch and Queenstown. We have a choice of comfortable, clean and modern 2 bedroom family units or studio units. All units have 32" LCD TVs with Sky TV, and access to Free Wi-Fi. We are the only 4 star Qualmark accredited Motel in Fairlie, and we will work hard to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pinewood Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.