We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aorangi Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aorangi Motel to your Saves list
Aorangi Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Airport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Easy to find, stayed in room 7 which was a 1 bedroom unit. Great kitchen set up, Comfy beds, clean, friendly owner, good wifi coverage, lovely surroundings, short walk to food places, excellent pizza place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Motel is in a quiet position in the small town of Fairlie. The owners were friendly and welcoming. Gave advice on local places to see and places to eat. Room clean and good value for money. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after we couldn't find any accommodation in lake tekapo. Only half an hours drive, in a lovely town. The staff are lovely and really helpful, the room was lovely and lots of parking in front of the rooms which was handy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Cute motel near lake tekapo- about 30 mins drive
Owner was friendly and welcoming offered lots of information on near by sites.
Clean and nice room, everything needed was there. Good value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hello, we are a family of 5 and arrived very late on New Year's eve and a bit late checking out in the morning.
Host was very accommodating and friendly.
The unit was clean, tidy, and reasonably spacious.
Sleep quality was great because the motel is away from the main room.
A tip for arrival late at night is to turn off the lights inside and only have the light on outside.
Only turn the lights on inside when the doors and windows are closed as there are insects flying about and is attracted to the light.
Excellent value! Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Kathy was so welcoming of our extremely tired family who just wanted to go to bed. It was only 10am & the room was made ready for our early arrival which was a godsend. The apartments are lovely, very spacious and clean and have that home away from home feel in a nice quiet area.  Close to everything this is a perfect place to stay if ever passing through this beautiful town.  10/10 for service & accommodation. 

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

When my wife and I explained that we were spending the night in Fairlie during our tour of the South Island, the reaction was always the same: "Why? Why ever would you want to go to Fairlie?" Poor Fairlie. I confess we didn't see much in Fairlie that would bring us back, though we've seen many less desirable spots.

We chose Fairlie as a convenient stop in the middle of a long drive from Queenstown, and were happy to stay at the Aorangie, which is excellent value. We had a two-bedroom apartment with separate kitchen and living/sitting room, together with a small, uninteresting patio at the front. The rooms were clean and bright, and the beds comfortable. Although the motel is on a main road, it's set well back from it, and we found the location very quiet.

The friendly owners provided a basic, but good, breakfast, left in the fridge while we went for an evening meal. Parking is easy and safe, directly outside the rooms.

The motel is dated, but is nevertheless clean and well maintained. The service from the owners was fast, efficient and helpful. This sort of motel is not what I'd choose for an extended stay - and neither is Fairlie - but we were glad we stayed at the Aorangie and, were we to need an overnight stop in Fairlie in the future, would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
18.7 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
17.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aorangi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.