We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aorangi Motel

Save Saved
You added Aorangi Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aorangi Motel
26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after we couldn't find any accommodation in lake tekapo. Only half an hours drive, in a lovely town. The staff are lovely and really helpful, the room was lovely and lots of parking in front of the rooms which was handy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Cute motel near lake tekapo- about 30 mins drive
Owner was friendly and welcoming offered lots of information on near by sites.
Clean and nice room, everything needed was there. Good value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hello, we are a family of 5 and arrived very late on New Year's eve and a bit late checking out in the morning.
Host was very accommodating and friendly.
The unit was clean, tidy, and reasonably spacious.
Sleep quality was great because the motel is away from the main room.
A tip for arrival late at night is to turn off the lights inside and only have the light on outside.
Only turn the lights on inside when the doors and windows are closed as there are insects flying about and is attracted to the light.
Excellent value! Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Kathy was so welcoming of our extremely tired family who just wanted to go to bed. It was only 10am & the room was made ready for our early arrival which was a godsend. The apartments are lovely, very spacious and clean and have that home away from home feel in a nice quiet area.  Close to everything this is a perfect place to stay if ever passing through this beautiful town.  10/10 for service & accommodation. 

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

When my wife and I explained that we were spending the night in Fairlie during our tour of the South Island, the reaction was always the same: "Why? Why ever would you want to go to Fairlie?" Poor Fairlie. I confess we didn't see much in Fairlie that would bring us back, though we've seen many less desirable spots.

We chose Fairlie as a convenient stop in the middle of a long drive from Queenstown, and were happy to stay at the Aorangie, which is excellent value. We had a two-bedroom apartment with separate kitchen and living/sitting room, together with a small, uninteresting patio at the front. The rooms were clean and bright, and the beds comfortable. Although the motel is on a main road, it's set well back from it, and we found the location very quiet.

The friendly owners provided a basic, but good, breakfast, left in the fridge while we went for an evening meal. Parking is easy and safe, directly outside the rooms.

The motel is dated, but is nevertheless clean and well maintained. The service from the owners was fast, efficient and helpful. This sort of motel is not what I'd choose for an extended stay - and neither is Fairlie - but we were glad we stayed at the Aorangie and, were we to need an overnight stop in Fairlie in the future, would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a quiet motel complex 100 metres off the main highway and only 200 metres to the town centre, run as a family enterprise by a friendly and helpful couple.
Rooms have comfortable beds, adequate self-catering facilities, heated floors, 32" LCD flat screen TV's with Freeview but only limited Sky and Free Wireless. However, the rooms are very old-fashioned and ‘dated’, roughly in the 1950’s character. I even experienced my first stainless steel shower compartment!
A useful overnight stopover between Christchurch & Mt Cook (only 25 minute drive to Lake Tekapo) but wouldn’t want to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a rainy day and they provided wifi, a DVD player and dvd selection free of charge. Great service, a large lounge room, with comfy couches and a good tv. Fantastic. Great advice too, recommended a great steak place close by

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aorangi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.