We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COUNTRY PEACE AND QUIET” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheviot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Save
You added Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park to your Saves list
44 Ward Road, Cheviot 7310, New Zealand   |  
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheviot
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“COUNTRY PEACE AND QUIET”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Cheviot is a delightful little country village with highway 1 running though it - New Zealand's main artery. To Europeans and Americans, this suggests a busy six-lane motorway or freeway with 24-hour traffic, but fear not, state highway 1 is a single-carriageway road with little more traffic than a B-road in Britain. Anyway, the Cheviot Motel is set well away from the highway on the edge of the village. It's a lovely little place, with six units, all spick and span and clean, facing a central lawned area. We sat on the front deck watching Bruce the retired collie trying to herd the cat and the peacocks. The new owners - they were farmers before - seem to have taken easily to their new environment and are friendly, helpful and charming.

A "holiday park" (ie campsite) is part of the business, but this does not detract in any way from the motels as it covers only a small area in the field alongside.

Our unit (number 6) had a separate bedroom and a light airy living room with a full kitchen, a front door with a deck and a back door outside which the car was parked. All was spotless and comfortable, with a black leather sofa, a modern armchair, a dining table and chairs.

If you like country peace and quiet, this is the place. It was our second visit, and we'll be back again, next time for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We did not look over the campground but stayed only in one of the motel units.

This motel is off the busy and often noisy main highway south so it is quiet.
Situated about 1 km away from the highway on a country road, well sign posted off the main highway. The entrance is unpretentious with motel units at both sides.

The units are advertised as being totally refurbished and we stayed in one and I imagine that statement means all are refurbished to the same standard as our unit.
All units open to a small verandah and in the quiet of the country an evening drink or breakfast could be enjoyed.
The unit is very clean indeed, fresh and with a modern bathroom, lovely crisp bedroom linen,
and fully equipped kitchen cooking area with modern facilities. The TV has limited reception which can be expected in the location of this small town of just 380 people but, our host checked all was correct for the main channel and all worked no problem.
There was a heater and a fan for extra comfort if the climate was cold or hot
The small notebook for suggestions and comments stated only positive and very pleasant remarks of others who had stayed and many for a longer time or who had visited again.

We will stay at these units again They are so very good and the very small town has a couple of good cafes and an art gallery to break the journey from the north or south.
As stated we did not look over the campground or facilities but, our welcome at the office suggested guests would be enjoy their stay in these facilities too.

Lets support the small rural towns when one finds a gem of a place to get "off the highway"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This camping ground was like a camping hotel. Park like grounds. Lovely white towels in the bathrooms. A cute fully equipped kitchen with everything from pots and dinner ware to cooking oil and tea towels. Outside the kitchen was a great selection of fresh herbs growing for everyone to use. One thing missing....... No sign of those nasty notices on the walls telling us all to 'clean up' after cooking. In a place like this everyone treats it like home. Thanks for having us. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Paid $40 for a cabin through I-site while on cycling tour. Combined motel and holiday park is 500m-1k from Cheviot centre.

Lovely environment and proprietors. Rural feel with lots of personal touches and swimming pool.

Was more than perfect for my stay. I'll be back when I can.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stopped here while on a solo cycle tour of NZ...Super friendly staff and patrons..Other cycle tourists also there, which always is a bonus for me..I love the 50's feel over the larger camps I stayed in..One other camp like this one is in Lumsden...Great spot to pitch a tent,..always a plus with me....I would return to NZ in a heartbeat and this camp would be on my return list..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had been doubtful about a motel in a caravan park. But the park was adjacent, and it really was a motel in a garden. A friendly welcome always helps, and this, with the peace and quiet, made me relax immediately. Units probably vary, but ours had a sepate bedroom and living room with a full kitchen, the living room with a black leather sofa. It was spotlessly clean, absolutely quiet, and perfect for our one-nighter. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The semi-rural setting well away from the main highway makes this a quiet and pleasant place to stay. The proprietor is friendly and service is good. The facilities are well kept but are old and quite basic. For campers there is a small kitchen with just one dining table and only two toilets and one shower per gender, which would become crowded when the occupancy rate is high. The camping facilities need a revamp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park

Address: 44 Ward Road, Cheviot 7310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cheviot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheviot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.