We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House YHA

Save Saved
You added Mountain House YHA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain House YHA
PO Box 12, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Have stayed in quite a few YHA's and this is the best! - Friendly staff, warm rooms, very clean and comfortable, excellent hot/high pressure showers. I plan on another trip to Arthur's Pass and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
24
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We took the Atomic Shuttle Bus from Christchurch to Arthur's Pass. Bus stops right in front of the Mountain House. It is an ideal location for hiking, as there are great trails both within walking distance and driving distance. It is immediately adjacent to the Wobbly Kea Restaurant, which serves a large variety of wonderful NZ fare. You can see plenty of NZ's famous cheeky Keas here, who will nick your food if you aren't vigilant about guarding it. We were initially hesitant about staying in a hostel with shared bathroom facilities, but we had no problems at all. There were probably as many shower stalls as there were rooms, so we never had to wait to shower, and they were all kept very clean throughout the day. Water was piping hot in the shower and the water pressure was very good. We got a private room for 2, which was very roomy with a big comfortable bed and soft cozy linens. It never got too cold at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

There is a main hostel section to this YHA; however if you want a room to yourselves it is worth staying in one of the cottages. If you want three rooms - the whole cottage. The cottages were a little old and tired round the edges, but very warm, clean and cozy. Plenty of wood for the stove. Short walk into the village centre. Plenty of kea.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

I loved cottage 2! It was spotlessly clean and there were two toilets and two showers so we never had to wait. After walking the Route burn track and staying in huts with 40+ others it almost seemed like the Ritz. Seriously, the bedding and towels were fresh and clean, the kitchen was well equipped and the woodburning fireplace was a pleasure on a rainy night. There is a CD player but no TV. I curled up by the fire with a glass of wine and a good book while other guests played cards or scrabble.

There was lots of info on day hikes in the area and there was internet access in the main lodge just down the street.

This is a great place to stay and I highly recommend the cottage rooms. Very glad one of my fellow Route burn trampers told me about the cottages!

  • Liked — The fireplace and no tv
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

64$ for a double room in this wonderful hostel in the mountains. The whole style of the hostel and the staff, especially Bob the owner, was designed to make it work and make you enjoy your stay.

The communal kitchen/dining room was the best equipped and organised I have ever had the pleasure to use. And, if you can't be bothered, there is a good place for food just across the road.

  • Liked — Bob
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Mountain House in January and were booked into House #2. The house had three bedroom and shared kitchen, toilet and living room. The house was spotless and well stocked with a CD player and a wood-burning stove. It was a nice place to cook a nice meal and relax by the fire. The two bathrooms were also spotless. Overall, this place exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

Choice of accommodation in Arthur's Pass is relatively limited, so we booked into the YHA as the easy option. We stayed in a double room that was part of Cottage No.4, located within easy walking distance of the main hostel.

The cottage consisted of 3 double-bedrooms with shared kitchen / bathroom. It was clean, tidy and comfortable - with reasonable facilities. The downside was the 1 bathroom for 6 people - which inevitably lead to queuing at peak periods. The bedroom also contained a number of black flies, however - they didn't add to our existing collection of bites.

A word of caution to those planning to stay in Arthur's Pass on a self-catering basis - it only has one food store, that does not have late opening hours. Arrive during the daytime, or come prepared.

Overall, although I cannot enthuse about the accommodation, I would consider staying here again as the fantastic location is worth a little sacrifice.

  • Liked — Fantastic Location
  • Disliked — Queuing for the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain House YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House YHA

Address: PO Box 12, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Arthur’s Pass Mountain House is situated in the alpine village of Arthur's Pass, right on the Main Divide of the Southern Alps, just two hours from Christchurch and ninety minutes from Greymouth. Accommodation consists of the main backpacker lodge set in the centre of town, a modern, heated, suntrap with great views, but still with a small hostel feel. Just opposite the Lodge is the historic YHA building with multi-share rooms perfect for backpacking groups. We also offer self contained cottages with log fires set in beautiful gardens and Motel units next door to our Lodges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mountain House YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.