We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good Cuisine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bealey Hotel to your Saves list
Bealey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stopped overnight here on our tour of South Island.

Very friendly - the food in the restaurant was excellent. The scenery is absolutely stunning.

The accommodation is pretty basic but it is clean and affordable. I would definitely recommend a stop here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
26
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nelson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Home away from home. This is what holidaying in NZ is all about. Fabulous views, comfortable clean accomodation and great food. The owners Marshall and Debbie and staff Kim were fantastic, friendly and helpful. Hotel and area history makes this place truly unique and special. Thank you for a truly wonderful and memorable time.

Room Tip: Chalets have a small deck and are fabulous.. Or if a few of you the backpackers accomodation is cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I would recommend highly to anyone. The units are great, cosy and warm, everything you need coupled with a stunning view. The restaurant / bar was really welcoming, a lovely warm fire and brilliant food (amongst the best food I had on my holiday). Also the prices were very reasonable. The manager/owner and his staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 1 - we had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A group of 36 photographers stayed at the Bealey Hotel - all part of our mid winter Christmas trip. Hosts Marshal and Debbie went out of their way to look after us both in terms of accommodation and the hotel/restaurant part of the complex.

We were there two nights and the Saturday night was the mid winter Christmas feast - which was designed to be like a Victorian banquet. The Bealey team really did a fine job and delivered a delicious banquet - including Hansel the wee pig.

We got snowed in on the Sunday and many of us had to stay an extra night.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Bealey - it is a great location - and is now being run by a husband and wife team who really want to make a difference.

Room Tip: There are two types of accommodation - choose the ones with the en suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel was a good place to sleep and put your head down but not much more. The rooms were very basic and in need of modernisation. I also felt the room was not overly clean. The view from the room was very good and look straight out over the Waimakariri River and mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed there for 1 night with my wife and baby.
the room was very basic and tired.
also not very clean.
location was good with a nice view .
all in all a place to put the head and sleep and nothing beyond that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough wa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Bealey Hotel is a great place for an overnight stop - excellent and very clean and roomy accommodation with the hotel's dining room providing really nice meals in a warm and comfortable environment. The staff are friendly and helpful and sitting around the bar for a drink is a very entertaining and fun experience. Added to this, the stunning views of the southern alps are wonderful. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the cabin area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bealey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.