We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Save
You added Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge to your Saves list
30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 707580, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Wonderful stay with Helen. We were travelling through the South Island of NZ by car, and this was definitely one of our nicer locations and accomodations. Helen was incredibly accomodating, and the lodge is stunning. Perfectly placing to explore the area, and with a local guide too!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stories with me and I'm glad that your short break was so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle. Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We loved staying here and visiting with Helen. The view from our bedroom was jaw-dropping. Helen made us a great breakfast and thorough advice on finding hiking trails. We learned a lot about New Zealand from Helen and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

While its a bit grandiose to call a 2 bedroom bach a lodge, it is a stunning place to stay - fabulous views from rooms, very comfy bed and Helen is a great host. For trampers (trekkers) this would be a great break and having a knowledgable tramper like Helen looking after you is an added bonus. For non trampers, its still a great place to stay. It is quite close to the road, so not too isolated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for staying en route to the southern tramping territory and for swapping sustainable housing architecture stories. The impromptu birthday celebration added to the enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

After staying at eight different accommodations in our three weeks in NZ this February, we want to add a reality check to the reviews on this lodge.

NZ offers a wealth of lodging that is environmentally-friendly with ecologically-sound architecture. Recycling and composting are common as well. Helen's B&B is not as unique in this regard as her write-ups suggest.

If a traveler has to stay over in Arthur's Pass, there are not many options, eco-friendly or not. Our experience was that Helen exploits that situation with the rate she charges for small rooms, close quarters in the shared space (one bathroom for 5 people), and virtually no free access to kitchen facilities - somewhat forcing guests to rely on Helen's dinners. The food offered was wholesome; however, for the four dinner guests (plus Helen) there the night we stayed, we shared lentil stew, broccoli, one bottle of wine, and chocolate cake for $35 each! This was on top of the B&B rate of $165/night. We stayed in self-contained apartments all over the South Island of extremely high quality as well as B&B's, and none were charging higher rates in February 2014.

In addition, we were surprised that, with no mention on the website, Helen would place such emphasis on Christian practices at table. Certainly a grace before meal is lovely, but the Bible reading and personal "faith testimonials" imposed on strangers after dinner need to be previewed on the lodge's online description.

We wrote in Helen's visitor's book, "Thank you for sharing your views and your home-cooking," but we also told Helen straight out that we felt her lodge description / rates were not in sync with what we have seen throughout this trip to NZ as well as on a previous trip in 2011.

Be forewarned, plan your trip to drive through Arthur's Pass. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with me and for giving specific examples of your disappointment.

I am very sorry that you had such a negative experience- quite the opposite to all other guest reviews. In reading of your concerns, I will make some changes so that people coming to stay with me have an even better understanding of the experiences I am offering. My website clearly describes the shared bathroom as follows: “There are two guest rooms, each with a comfortable queen bed for a great night's sleep. Access to the home is by stairs. There is a shared bathroom with a waterless eco-toilet.”



One of the benefits of staying in B&Bs is the possibility of sharing life’s experiences and calling on the knowledge of your host. Travel of itself is about opening our eyes to others’ views and taking time to reflect. I feel this is an important part of what I am offering guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Helen is such a wonderful host -- very warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and caring. My family and I enjoyed every minute of our stay. Helen accommodated us at the last moment and made us feel welcome and comfortable. Her B&B is eco-friendly, well-maintained and well-crafted. The view from the living room is inspiring as one looks across the valley to the mountains beyond and Helen is very knowledgeable about the surrounding mountains and mountain treks. Indeed, a wonderful place with a wonderful host.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms had beautiful views overlooking the valley to the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The added value is Helen, and her personal touch. I stayed here for one night a week ago, had a wonderful nights sleep. I shared a tasty meal with Helen, and two other guests, and even though it was a cool evening outside, inside it was warm, and very quiet.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My mother and I stayed with Helen for a weekend that I will always remember. Helen is a wonderful host, with first-hand information about the area from her own tramping and outdoor experience. The views are amazing and the lodge is comfortable and warm. I had the best sleep here that I have had for a very long time. We had dinner with Helen as well and the meal was absolutely delicious! There are beautiful scenic walks close by which my mother and I could both enjoy. It is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in - friendly host, lovely NZ bush to explore, comfortable and inviting beds to sleep in. A great place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
And thank you for your company and the book of beautiful landscape photography
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Address: 30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 707580, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and luches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Free pickup from Arthur's Pass or Christchurch International Airport (min stay 2 nights) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.