We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing & inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge
Save
You added Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge to your Saves list
30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 707580, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing & inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Helen is such a wonderful host -- very warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and caring. My family and I enjoyed every minute of our stay. Helen accommodated us at the last moment and made us feel welcome and comfortable. Her B&B is eco-friendly, well-maintained and well-crafted. The view from the living room is inspiring as one looks across the valley to the mountains beyond and Helen is very knowledgeable about the surrounding mountains and mountain treks. Indeed, a wonderful place with a wonderful host.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms had beautiful views overlooking the valley to the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The added value is Helen, and her personal touch. I stayed here for one night a week ago, had a wonderful nights sleep. I shared a tasty meal with Helen, and two other guests, and even though it was a cool evening outside, inside it was warm, and very quiet.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and they are both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My mother and I stayed with Helen for a weekend that I will always remember. Helen is a wonderful host, with first-hand information about the area from her own tramping and outdoor experience. The views are amazing and the lodge is comfortable and warm. I had the best sleep here that I have had for a very long time. We had dinner with Helen as well and the meal was absolutely delicious! There are beautiful scenic walks close by which my mother and I could both enjoy. It is the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in - friendly host, lovely NZ bush to explore, comfortable and inviting beds to sleep in. A great place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
And thank you for your company and the book of beautiful landscape photography
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the kind of stay you remember and make a post holiday story about. Amazing view. The lodge is very quaint and homely and truly eco! made of wood, with eco loos and rooms. Helen is an amazing host and generous host and we learnt a lot about NZ life during our stay with her.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Helen was the perfect host in this eco-lodge that truly lives up to its name! Nestled on a hill facing snow-capped mountains, Helen has cleverly made sure that you can take in the view no matter which room you're in. Extremely homely place, with great conversations with Helen, this was definitely one of the top accommodation experiences we've had in New Zealand. We really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
The inspirational part of hosting visitors to my home is to be inspired by YOUR stories. Thanks for stopping by
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Eco Lodge with Helen on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and had an excellent time. Helen is warm and friendly and the Eco Lodge is like a home away from home. We took a walk on Christmas day morning to Beasley Spur Hut, which is around 4hrs return and has spectacular views enroute. Helen provided us with lunch to take with us and a warm welcome when we returned. This is a lovely place to stay in Arthurs Pass and provides you with ample places to take scenic walks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
And thank you very much for thinking to have a gift in your luggage for me. That was a very touching gesture and made the occasion even more special
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very comfortable enjoyable stay with beautiful views from the house, lovely meals and generous hospitality. After a great walk up Mt Bruce recommended and provisioned by Helen, returned to a hot shower and appetising meal with good company in a lovely house with inspirational features.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
And the view from Mt Bruce (1630m) was well worth the effort and is another peak "bagged". All the best for future endeavours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge

Address: 30 Cloudesley Rd | Arthur's Pass, Arthur's Pass National Park 707580, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat in the midst of spectacular mountains. Base for outdoor activities. Evening meals and luches provided by arrangement. Sustainable eco-living at its best. Nestled amongst native bush. Free pickup from Arthur's Pass or Christchurch International Airport (min stay 2 nights) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthur's Pass Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.